We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Richmond

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Richmond to your Saves list
Hotel Richmond
27 Croft Road, Torquay TQ2 5UD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Noisy!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

We used the Hotel Richmond as a base to attend a christening in torquay.Staying on Saturday 17th may '14. We booked 2 family rooms (#19 & #25) for our family of 6. Room 25 was above 19 and both were looking onto front entrance. As it is an old building the windows are single glazed and from midnight to 4:30 am there was a constant stream of taxis pulling up, doors slamming and then the obviously intoxicated guests standing out the front of the reception smoking and talking. We could literally hear whole conversations (f@#$ this and lots of c words in one groups case) as though they were in the room!! Then the teeth clenching door slamming and inconsiderate yelling as they walked through the hotel. At 4:30 am my husband went to reception as we hadn't slept one wink. We finally fell asleep sometime around 5! We had a very long day at my nephews christening then my poor husband drove us 4 hours home. At breakfast it seemed like we were the only family there! The rooms were also very dated and drab but were clean. The girls in restaurant at breakfast were very friendly. Worst hotel stay for us ever!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    52
    37
    20
    17
See reviews for
27
61
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bourneend highwycombe
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a family room on the 3rd of may as wycombe were playing torquay the room was lovly the view amazing allready booked to go back in about six weeks cant wait if u want a cheap good hotel go here .

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEICESTER
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Arrived early so we were not expecting to be able to check in however the lady at reception confirmed that our room was available and we were in our room before we new it. What a room! It was large with wonderful sea views plus the added bonus of a balcony with table and chairs. It was great to be able to sit out with such a wonderful view. We paid just £135 for 3 nights which is exceptional value for money. The bar area is comfortable to relax in with no piped music! I believe there is often entertainment provided in the evening. Just a 15 minute stroll and your at the harbour front and town centre. This is a great hotel to stay at if your looking for great value in a comfortable, albeit slightly dated hotel that's close to the town centre. The General Manager on duty when we arrived couldn't have been more helpful and she offered a very warm welcome. All the staff we had contact with were friendly and professional. A great stay.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Excellent value for money, Had a room with a see view and balconey. Hotel and room very clean and the staff were very friendly. Had a pool room with two tables (50p a game) Ten minute walk to the Harbour.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Richmond as part of a large group (48) on a short coach holiday. On arrival, the hotel looks rather dated, but we had a comfortable and relaxed 3-night stay. The bedroom was perfectly adequate with comfortable beds and everything worked as it should. The TV was small, but that wasn't a high priority. The outstanding positive feature about the hotel was the staff. From management to waiters, all were pleasant and helpful; how lovely to see young people still smiling and polite as they serve breakfast, apparently 'under pressure' when there appears to be some 'hiccup' in the kitchen. We were particularly impressed with waiters Bryony and James who appeared to be genuinely interested in their visitors. Breakfasts were good ('though I did miss the muesli); I would rate evening meals as 'average' (the same mashed potato for all 3 meals), though still good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms at 'the back' have small balconies and a sea view (if a little distant). Lower rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed in room 25 (booked as a family room) with my wife and our 2 boys; 14 and 4 on 19/04/2014 for a night whilst in Torquay over the Easter Bank holiday weekend. Hope this review will be seen as constructive criticism; I've read through previous reviews and get the impression that the current management are trying to improve things so it's not my intention to undermine their effort and investment. However in my view they've a way to go yet. I'll explain.
On arrival, as you pull up in the street outside you notice the d is missing off of the Richmond sign; a detail perhaps but detracts from the first impression and surely a quick and cheap fix. Suggests poor maintenance at first glance.
The room itself looked dingey and drab although not dirty as such. Looked like it hadn't seen a coat of paint in many years and there was a poorly-filled vertical crack down one wall near to the door. Old and mis-matched furniture. This is a second floor room and we found that the sash windows had no locks on them, allowing them to open several inches; wide enough for a child to get through and fall onto the car park below. The TV was ancient and had 3 channels with very poor reception. So no cable TV here, nor wifi for that matter unless you wanted to sit in the reception area. Maybe not a bad thing really but it would be nice to have a choice in this day and age. The one picture in the room was coming apart and hanging at an angle away from the wall. Someone had helpfully stuck the back board on to the wall with tape so the picture was coming loose from the frame. Overnight we removed this as one of the boys was sleeping in the bed below it. Hmmm..
The bathroom was exactly the same one that my parents had in their house in the 1970's; I remember the suite taps and tiles well. The shower head had some elastoplast wound round the screw in bit, presumably to fix a leak or make it sit more snuggly in it's holder. The mounting bracket for a long-gone shower curtain rail was still screwed into the wall after how many years? No lock on the bathroom door.
Breakfast the following morning was a little chaotic but the staff were helpful and good with my 4 year old son which is always a plus point for me. I was told there were veggie sausages for a cooked breakfast then told that there weren't 15 mins later by a very apologetic waiter. Mind you, the breakfast we eventually got was lush so no complaints there.
Overall I can't say I was impressed. I wouldn't stay there again or recommend anyone else to do so as things stand. Maybe i'm being unrealistic and this is what you get if you opt to stay in a traditional seaside hotel. I can't help but think though that this retro-charm from the 70's has a very limited appeal these days and is turning away good business especially as it's got plenty of competition locally. So many of the details could have been attended to quickly and cheaply and would improve the guest's experience no end.

Room Tip: Don't expect wifi or cable. Ask for a modern, refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed at the Richmond for 3 nights on a coach tour. The food was good, the rooms reasonably clean and the communal areas comfy and welcoming. The best thing about the place was the staff - they were all friendly polite and helpful - you only had to ask for something and they would do their best to do it. Thanks to them all.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Richmond

Address: 27 Croft Road, Torquay TQ2 5UD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Richmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Torquay
Hotel Richmond Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Richmond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.