We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable 'Diamond' Turkey & Tinsel Weekend with Diamond Holidays” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Richmond

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Richmond to your Saves list
Hotel Richmond
27 Croft Road, Torquay TQ2 5UD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Essex
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable 'Diamond' Turkey & Tinsel Weekend with Diamond Holidays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Spent a very pleasant 'Turkey & Tinsel' weekend with two friends at the Hotel Richmond. The holiday was booked by Diamond Holidays.
The Hotel is conviently situated a short distance from the main town and harbour, although might be a difficult walk for elderly or disabled people because it is situated in a very high area of the town.
The hotel is very clean and comfortable with all the rooms being well equipped.The dining and bar areas are also very comfortable and tidy.
Our food was served by very pleasant staff and was hot tasty and enjoyable.
For the price we paid we have no complaints.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and your kind words regarding the staff at the hotel. I am really pleased that your enjoyed your holiday and we will look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    52
    37
    20
    17
See reviews for
27
61
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My partner and myself booked the hotel at the last minute. The staff were more then helpful and when we arrived took us to our room. The bedding was clean and view across the bay amazing. I believe our room had been refurbished recently. We stayed in room 37. The only problem was at breakfast. We we asked our breakfast order and chose the full english and it came out in no less then 5 mins. The next day we timed it for amusement and it took 4m and 14secs to arrive although this would have been quicker had the waitress not stopped to tell the couple next to us her life story!
Hotel has great potential with plenty of TLC

Room Tip: Pick room 37 for the view alone and far enough away from the noise of the lift door !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding the hotel. The view is excellent. I take on board your comments regarding the speediness of the breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redruth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Resturant not open for evening dining, lift smelt damp, not hot water for bath it was tepid, breakfast cold even tho they brought it within minutes of ordering must of been plated up waiting to go out

Room Tip: room 33 you can hear the lift door bang loudly each use so dont have that room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Soory to read that the hotel did not meet your expectations on this occassion. The hotel was quiet during your stay. We do have a bar menu that is always available between 6 and 8 pm. I take on board your feedback and look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slough
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Our room looked out over the bay we had a fantastic room with a large decked area where we could sit and have coffee and just take in
The view we could walk to town via the promade which was lit up with coloured lights very pretty. Take the old 1947 bus to go to agtha cristies summer house greenways the bus shakes rattles but that is half the fun of it the driver tells you things of interest on the way. The hotel was clean tidy and the staff very helpfull the barman in the evening was very nice and funny. We had a very enjoyable weekend and we would go back in a flash..

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and kind words regarding staff and cleanlines of the hotel. I very pleased you enjoyed your stay and we will look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penryn, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

As title says not bad, but not excellent. Very friendly staff, spacious room with lovely view over the bay. Very clean and tidy and plenty of tea and coffee provided. Needs updating but we only used it as a pit stop to sleep and get clean so not really an issue for us. Breakfast provided was a bit of a disappitment but filled a hole! Bar meant to be 24/7 but when we got back from our night out, came back early to relax in said bar, and was shut! Never attempted the pool so can't comment on that. Wet room large enough but water crept onto the carpet if you had it on for too long! Overall good. Would stay again at a cheaper price, we paid £60 for the night.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding the staff and cleanliness of the hotel. I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we will look forward to welcoming you again in teh future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

"The Richm" or "The Richmo", as it proudly displays its title on the facade, is a fairly friendly but tired 3 star (almost) hotel conveniently situated in an area richly sprinkled with hotel accommodation a short walk from the harbour at Torquay and its seaside tourist delights. The booking website showed a tariff of £150 reduced to £37.50. At the reduced price it was very good value. The double room was warm, clean and, apart from a couple of niggles (The bed could have been more comfortable and the shower would have been better if the shower head hadn't drooped everytime I tried to step under the spray).
The dinner offered was reasonably priced for four courses but no alternative was available, which meant that a visit to local restaurants was in order. Breakfast was included and a full English with a choice of fruit and/or cereal in addition with as much tea and coffee as you want. The bar was not horrendously expensive but the quality of wine (by the glass) was disappointing and the "draught" Guiness was canned. Evening entertainment amused the largely oap residents. Wifi was not available in the room and neither was the indoor swimming pool open at the advertised times.
Would I go there again? Well, actually I would....but not at £150!

Room Tip: There is a lift so ask for a room near the top as this is further away from sounds from the car park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your stay at the hotel. I have taken on board your comments regarding the tariff and this is being investigated. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay and we will look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Austell Cornwall
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Hotel family room - had 4 beds one double & 3 singles - so plenty of space. As previous reviews state rooms are in need of modernising eg fake flower displays & avocado suite in bathroom! Clean enough though and plenty tea & coffee. Could of done with a larger tv especially for the size of the room. Haven't seen a 14" portable tv for a while.
Breakfast was good and nice and friendly staff.
Ideal for what we wanted - a base near the town. Good location - no problem to walk anwhere. As other reviews stated parking is a bit of an issue - top tip take the very first space as you arrive.
Enjoyed our stay - I have given an 'average' rating rather than 'very good' but I would give the hotel a 'good' rating overall - if this option was available.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the hotel. Due to the character of the building the rooms do vary in size and style, but I am pleased you found the hotel clean as per our standard. The parking is limited directly ourside the hotel but there is also parking available on the side street in walking distance. We will look forward to welcoming you at the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Richmond

Address: 27 Croft Road, Torquay TQ2 5UD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Richmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Torquay
Hotel Richmond Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Richmond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.