We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mulberry House

Mulberry House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mulberry House to your Saves list
Mulberry House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   1 Scarborough Road, Torquay TQ2 5UJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very welcoming stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

We stayed at the Mulberry House for 2 nights whilst visiting Torquay. Brian the owner was very friendly and welcoming and kept the B&B to a high standard of cleanliness. The room was modern and obviously newly fitted out. Brian was at hand to find us when we got lost on arrival and was always at hand whenever we needed something. The B&B was very reasonably priced for the standard and location

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Romford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

We (me, my wife and our 13 year old) stayed at the Mulberry Guest house for 2 days as we were visiting relatives in the area. On arriving the Guest House looks very smart on the outside and continues on the inside. A very welcoming owner Brian helped us with our bags and immediately offered tea or coffee in the comfortable lounge. The rooms are very well decorated and laid out with excellent smart en-suites with hot water all day. The bed we had was a king size and our daughter had a double (she was most impressed). Modern bed linen, big fluffy towels and the usual soap, shower gel etc as well as tea and coffee making facilities. A digital freeview flatscreen TV ideally situated in front of the bed and a table and chairs to sit by and look out of the large Victorian windows. All was spotlessly clean and tidied every day of our stay. Brian was always on hand to help if we had any questions and would make tea and coffee whenever we asked (at no extra cost). The breakfast was also excellent - premium sausage, bacon, egg (cooked as you liked), beans, mushrooms, fried bread and grilled tomatoes. An array of other items (as well as endless toast) - cerial, fruit, yoghurt and juice were available. Brian also offered to purchase any other breakfast items if required. The size of the full English was enormouse and kept us going well into the afternoon.

Overall a very pleasant stay and well worth the asking price for the personal attention from the owner and the top notch accomodation and breakfast. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

Having been bumped from our booking at our usual hotel four days before we were due to arrive we managed to get two rooms at this very small B&B (three guest rooms only) I believe it has not long been opened by the current owner, Brian.

Brian is very helpful and cooks a mean full english breakfast, along with offering toast, cereals and yoghurts. The coffee, tea and orange juice is not too bad either. He also very kindly arranged off street parking for us at a nearby hotel.

Mulberry House is a gentle 10 minute stroll to the sea front (if you don't take the hilly Croft Road route), and is located in a very peaceful area.

If you want clean, value for money accommodation for a couple of nights, I can recommend Mulberry House.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2008

Having been recommended this quaint place to eat, we arrived and found that although it was quite late we were made most welcome. We were shown to a leather settee which was placed in front of an open log fire while we pondered our wine and food choices. We opted for the mushroom tart starter followed by the duck fillet with a selection of vegetables. Both of these certainly were beautifully cooked. The service we received was accommodating and friendly and we would certainly venture here again when in the area.

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2008

We have just come back from 2 weeks driving holiday in Spain and we decided to stay 2 nights in torquay, we pre booked mulberry house. What can I say we loved it so much we did not want to go home Jenni & Mike the owners made us feel like part of the family they are very friendly genuine people, the room was very clean and comfortable, well equipt. The food was excellent and good value for money. We would recommed it to anyone and would like to go back in the near future.

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harryduck, owner at Mulberry House, responded to this review, October 17, 2008
yhankyou for your lovely review we both hope to see you again in the new year merry christmas and a happy new year love jeni and mike x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2008

We have just had a great break in Torquay staying at the Mulberry House. Lovely Victorian Property with many original features. The most comfortable king size bed i've ever slept in. Jeni and Mike made us feel extremely welcome and the little details like fresh milk for tea and coffee in the room, fresh flowers and biscuits on arrival made us feel really at home. Breakfast was fantastic with freshly made fruit salad and a really great freshly cooked english breakfast. Would recommend to anyone!

  • Liked — The homely feel and warm welcome
  • Disliked — No private parking - free parking available on road outside when available
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mulberry House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mulberry House

Address: 1 Scarborough Road, Torquay TQ2 5UJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mulberry House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant grade II listed Victorian corner property is ideally situated in the heart of Torquay, just a short level stroll to the sea front and town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mulberry House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mulberry House Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mulberry House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.