We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Babbacombe Model Village - by Torquay - Well worth a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Babbacombe Model Village

Babbacombe Model Village
Hampton Ave | Babbacombe, Torquay TQ1 3LA, England
07734721063
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 35 attractions in Torquay
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Babbacombe Model Village is Torquay's most popular and visited attraction. Representing British life and culture over the last five decades all in miniature. Animated scenes, along with touches of very English humour bring it all to life. Taking you on a fun, informative and nostalgic trip through the 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s to present day, it has appeal for all ages. Famous for its lovely setting in 4 acres of award-winning gardens that are a delight to experience all year round.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Babbacombe Model Village - by Torquay - Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Went here over the summer and had an excellent time.
We went twice, once during the day, then again to see it in twilight and darkness. This is included in the ticket at no extra cost and it was excellent seeing it light up in the dark.
Well worth a visit as models are fantastic.


2013 ADMISSION PRICES


(From 16th March to 13th December)

On the

Gate Prices


ADVANCE Online ticket prices

(Must be purchased at least 48 hours in advance)

2013 prices
ADULT £9.75 £8.95 - (Online advance booking)
SENIOR (Over 65s) £8.75 £7.95 - (Online advance booking)
CHILD (3 to 14 yrs) £7.75 £6.95 - (Online advance booking)
FAMILY (2 Adults & 2 Children) £32.75 £29.75 - (Online advance booking)
4D CINEMA TICKETS £1.00 £0.75p - (Online advance booking)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    501
    234
    59
    25
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Epping, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Ok But Pricey and No Good If Disabled”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Me and my family while on holiday went to the model village on a Sunday morning. I feel that it is over priced for what you get. The woman issuing the tickets probably would have charged even more if you asked her to smile, seemed more interested in taking the money than welcoming us as valued customers. The village was very well done but a little boring, once you've seen a small person and house you seen it all. But the overall feeling was one of a pleasing visit. We got round in an hour and felt that was enough. But if you are disabled beware. In their brochure they do mention the steepness of the site but it is very steep. If you have walking difficulties it is challenging but if you are in a wheelchair it's almost impossible. On our visit a woman was pushing her husband in a wheelchair, got to the first step and struggled back to the top. The only option available was a viewing platform at the top of the village. As far as I could see there were no concessions for disabled visitors that couldn't actually visit the site as other customers can.
A further issue is that they boast 'Free return within 7 days' to get this you have to have a photo taken and EVERYONE has to return at the same time. So if 2 out of 5 really enjoyed it they can't return if the others don't. Why? They could take individual photos.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themodelvillage, Manager at Babbacombe Model Village, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
May we apologise that your customer service experience at admissions did not meet your expectations, I must admit that 'below standard' customer service is very unusual for the person on duty that day. We will investigate. We also regret that you found it all a little boring. It's not for everyone, but as readers can see from nearly every other review here, families love it and many enjoy the various character hunts - especially the miniature 'Great Gorillas' trail. I am not aware of anyone managing to find them all within an hour.

The Model Village is built in a steep valley and has very difficult wheelchair user access. We do make this clear in our publicity and offer that people are welcome to come and have a look first. Many people do manage it, but it is difficult. We do not charge admission for wheelchair users, and a variety of discounts are offered to people with other disabilities and obviously this is mentioned to relevant persons, on our website and to anyone making enquiries.

The free return - everyone in the family/group has to come back at the same time as everyone is on the same ticket/photo-pass. If only part of the group/family want to come back this is fine of course, but the photo ticket is only valid for a single use so they can't return at different times/days. This is a free return and each ticket costs money and takes time to produce so, to keep it free and keep down the queues during summer, the whole family is put on the same photo. It is extremely rare that a family wants to come back at different times/days, but on the 2 or 3 occasions this has been requested, we have made alternative arrangements for them. As far as I am aware every other visitor we have had this summer has been extremely appreciative of the arrangement and thoroughly enjoyed coming back one evening to see the illuminations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Small buildings, huge enjoyment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We spent half a day in the model village but could easily have spent all day.
The models are superb, detailed with lots of tongue in cheek humour. The back drops of plants and various sized conifers are immaculately tended.
There are several different themes in the village ranging from a football stadium (Chelsea losing to Torquay 1-0)
to a medieval castle and village.
Excellent value and hugely enjoyable !!!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Last visited 20+ years ago with our children, revisited this summer with the grandson. An excellent day out, my grandson (6 years old) especially enjoyed hunting for the differently painted gorillas.
His comment when asked if he enjoyed it , was "awesome" which I believe is a term of approval used by the younger generation today. I would recommend the 4D cinema, a good laugh. We will visit again.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Enjoyed my day here lots staff helpful and kind it was a great day out very updated it is great for young kids to teenagers

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Babbacombe Model Village also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Babbacombe Model Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Babbacombe Model Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Babbacombe Model Village to your Saves list