We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Barton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Barton to your Saves list
Hotel Barton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   543 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Top Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Andrews pleasant and mild manner is a bonus at Barton. Our late arrival was met with a friendly welcome and fast booking in. Barton is Close to the picturesque harbour, which made for a relaxing evening stroll.
Comfortable room with en-suite topped shower facility all finished off with a full English breakfast. Top value and great host; thanks Andrew...

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    22
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
47
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Returned yesterday from a superb break at the Barton Andrew could not be faulted we requested Black Pudding and for the first time Helen and Andrew had it on the menu
Our room was clean bright and airy however our bed was very squeaky the Hotel is superbly situated for Town and it's facilities I'd definitely return

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Barton during Easter and I must say this B&B offers excellent value for money. The owners, Helen & Andrew, are very friendly and helpful. The location is fantastic; just a short walk away from the harbour. The room was good size, clean and we loved the high ceilings. The breakfast was nice too and I was particularly impressed by the coffee. Just be aware; there are lots of stairs...

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed at this B&B in March on a business trip to Torquay. It's a five minute walk from the harbour so close to the centre of town. My room was a little small but then there was just me. There was everything you would expect. There was no bath, just a shower and my pet hate, a tiny wash basin !! The hosts are excellent, the breakfast likewise with good coffee aplenty. Good value for money and worth a visit.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We spent 3 nights at the Barton. We knew we would not be disappointed as this establishment gets continual good to excellent feedback.

Our accommodation was spotlessly clean, spacious and pleasingly decorated. Two most comfortable upholstered high backed chairs.

Mouthwatering breakfast. The lady of the house knows how to poach eggs. Food was appetizing and plentiful. Requested an alternative to orange juice and for the remainder of our stay it was available. Helen could not be faulted on her cooking skills.

We challenged our hosts by not being able to conform to their breakfast timetable on one morning and of course our personable host Andrew obliged.

A most pleasant stay, thank you Helen & Andrew.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

Although this hotel is typical of the fine standard in the area, for me it's very well located, and the business is run very well. The owner is pleasant and the rooms are clean. I went to the upper floor which is naturally a little quieter but it is a bit of a climb.

The en-suite facilities are mainly functional and non-exceptional, and the bed was comfy enough for a good rest. I say mainly functional because although the main room radiator worked, the bathroom heater didn't.

I missed breakfast on day one because I chose to oversleep, and I missed breakfast on day two through a misunderstanding. So I can't comment on the breakfast provided, but if you're the type that really needs breakfast, you'd probably be up early enough to catch it. I wasn't. By the way its breakfast only - there are no evening meals on offer as far as I'm aware.

Having said that, one of the main reasons I like this hotel is because of its location - its so close to the town / marina and all its restaurants and amenities, I can forgive the fact that its on a steep hill and that parking is a bit of a shame. Its not a noisy hotel, but it is such a short walk to the town that on occasions you will hear the late crowd making their way home.

On parking, typical of hotels in the area, parking is limited (first come first served), and a larger car park is on offer somewhere else than directly next to the hotel. This is more of a shame than a criticism. Be aware if you have a larger vehicle - it won't fit.

Room Tip: No lift, can be many stairs, parking may be an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

Well appointed, this is a lovely clean hotel. Hotel owners could not have been nicer, nothng was too much trouble and the hey even recommended a place for us to eat and it was great! Lovely comfy bed good night sleep with great breakfast next day!

Room Tip: We had room 4 standard double and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Barton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barton

Address: 543 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#28 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Barton 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Barton is a bright modern family run hotel, 300 yards from Torquay harbour. The hotel is light and airy, decorated in neutral colors in a fresh modern style. Andrew & Helen will make every effort to make your stay a pleasurable one. Hotel Barton also caters for business visitors, with free Wifi internet access, photocopying and fax service also available.Located on a road leading from the harbour, with steps up to the front reception and bedrooms arranged over 3 floors. All rooms have en-suite shower rooms, Digital TVs and hospitality trays. They are recently decorated and are fresh, bright and modern. Ideal for a holiday or short break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Barton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barton Hotel Torquay
Hotel Barton Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Barton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.