We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended, would stay here again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Barton

Save Saved
You added Hotel Barton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Barton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   543 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 97 hotels in Torquay
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Recommended, would stay here again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

The Hotel Barton is at a good location in Torquay, at walking distance from the harbour and its many restaurants, the beach as well as some nice walking trails. There is a big parking space nearby that the hotel arranges at no cost.

Our room was fairly big, with a decent size bathroom (shower/ toilet) and was exceptionally clean. The bed and mattress are very good quality, and it all looked very well kept. There is a small but nice front garden where one can sit on sunny days, and the wifi (which has good speed) reaches there as well. We didn't have the wifi in the room but could use the dining room during the day if needed.

Breakfast is very good, with fresh fruit, cereals, bread etc as well as scrambled eggs, full english breakfast etc available.

The owners are very friendly and helpful and create a very nice atmosphere.

There is a small supermarket nearby, just down the street, and a lot of pubs and restaurants further down to the harbour. We tried quite a few and have only good experiences but would certainly recommend the Indian restaurant nearby (on the same side of the street, there is another one opposite the street which we didn't try so cannot comment on)

I would certainly stay again at this hotel if in the region.

Room Tip: Seemed to me most rooms are more or less similar size
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    13
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
40
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
stoke on trent
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Thanks Helen and Andrew, could not fault the excellent atmostphere . and the rooms were so clean They make a good team and would definately go again. Excellent in every way.. Thanks again

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

best breakfast iv had,thy lovely and friendly.got car parking near.nothing was to much trouble for them.short walk down to the harbour and the great shops.its my forth stay in torquey.and my ist to stay here.will stay here again.lovely

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
07071964
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Great hosts. Food was fantastic and fresh. very helpful. room was lovely. parking was safe. will definatley stay again.

Room Tip: close to harbour and food places without being right in the middle of it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

myself and my hubby have just arrived home today from our stay at the hotel barton.......had a nice friendly welcome upon arrival from andy......and helen makes a mean full english breakfast kept us going for most of the day,the hotel is nice and clean and room was nicely decorated and well equiped. hotel barton is very well situated close to all ammenities wether it be girly shopping or a nice meal and only a 2 minute walk to the beach.we are looking forward to going back in september for our wedding anniversary.......
lisa and ian
hull

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

After struggling to find somewhere at quite short notice myself and the group of friends I was travelling with were worried that this last minute booking would backfire and be a real dump. But we were pleasantly surprised. In fact we couldn't have asked for better. It started with a really warm and friendly welcome and we were upgraded to an amazing room for no extra cost as it hadn't been booked that weekend. The bed was massive and very comfortable. The room was spacious and clean with brillliant attention to detail. The location could not have been better with only a few minutes walk to shops, pubs, the harbour etc. Overall we had an amazing stay due to the brilliant bed and breakfast and its location. We would all stay again and recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

I have had mixed experiences with B&Bs over the years but Hotel Barton has to be the best I've come across. Andy couldn't have made my family & I more welcome and it was great to find somewhere so close to the harbour that also had parking for all guests. The rooms were lovely & clean and comfortable and the breakfast was brilliant.
Couldn't recommend this place more highly. If I'm ever back in Torquay I'd definitely be going back to Hotel Barton.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Barton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barton

Address: 543 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#29 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Barton 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Barton is a bright modern family run hotel, 300 yards from Torquay harbour. The hotel is light and airy, decorated in neutral colors in a fresh modern style. Andrew & Helen will make every effort to make your stay a pleasurable one. Hotel Barton also caters for business visitors, with free Wifi internet access, photocopying and fax service also available.Located on a road leading from the harbour, with steps up to the front reception and bedrooms arranged over 3 floors. All rooms have en-suite shower rooms, Digital TVs and hospitality trays. They are recently decorated and are fresh, bright and modern. Ideal for a holiday or short break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Barton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barton Hotel Torquay
Hotel Barton Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Barton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.