We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bentley Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bentley Lodge to your Saves list
Bentley Lodge
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Tor Park Rd, Torquay TQ2 5BQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 154 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Seriously could not fault our stay in any detail. Starting from the helpfulness on information before booking through to the stay, the departure and even the follow up.
The property is immaculately clean and tasteful in decor. My room #5 was a nice size on the gound floor and again immaculate and our hosts Kim & David were wonderful.
In summary i travel a lot around the world and my stay here represents probably the best value for money in lodging that I have ever seen.
First class.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    24
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
67
309
3
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
surrey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

My wife & I stayed only one night in the Bentley Lodge. We have stayed at, or visited over 15 guest houses in Torquay in the last four years and the Bentley Lodge ranks as one of the cleanest and most well maintained that we have come across. David & Kim were very amiable hosts whilst still managing to maintain a professional look and approach - a balance that is not easy to achieve.
We highly recommend this guest house to anyone looking for a quality stay in a very well run, friendly establisment.

Room Tip: Room 1 overlooks the beautiful garden. A good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
265 helpful votes 265 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Our daughter gave us a 2-night hotel break and we 'stumbled' across this on a web site (luckily).
Lovely couple (Kim & David), great rapport during phone booking, friendly welcome with coffee and biscuits. Lovely room (#5) on ground floor, beautiful decorations throughout .
My wife rated her poached eggs at breakfast as Número UNo! (iPad struck again!). The only niggle is a lack of storage space in the bathroom for toilet bags, etc. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

we only spent one night at Bentley Lodge,but would certainly stay again if in the area.lovely hosts. we had two rooms and they were spotless.breakfast was not rushed and dining room overlooking the beautiful garden made us want to return in the summer.the fact we could open the bedroom window was a big plus.only a small detail but it makes a big difference to how we sleep.we highly recommend this lovely house

Room Tip: we had room 2 for a single occupant and room 5 which was downstairs and was at that front, however...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albufeira, Portugal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have just spent New Year's eve at this fabulous B & B and what a brilliant choice we made! Kim and David are lovely and friendly, excellent hosts and provide useful information on the local area, even down to a restaurant recommend that would have a table without a New Year booking.
The house and grounds are beautiful, well maintained and obviously looked after with loving care, the rooms are extremely comfortable and everywhere is very clean. Breakfast was very good with an excellent choice.
If you are thinking of a visit to Torquay, this is the place to stay, don't even consider anywhere else. Andy & Linda

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Bentley Lodge is without doubt the best of the five B&B's that we stayed in and I doubt that there would be one better in all of UK. Hosts Kim and David are charming and make you feel at home, right down to the welcoming cup of tea in the gardens. The room, though a tad small for a twin share, was beautifully furnished, as was the whole guesthouse. Breakfast was delish.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Bentley Lodge, and were very happy with the choice. Our room was clean, comfortable, and adequately sized. The lodge is in a quiet residential area, has convenient off-street parking, and is walking distance to the main shopping district. It’s a bit of a walk to the harbor, about 25 minutes, but there is a pleasant promenade along the water which we walked daily leading to the harbor restaurants and shops. The owners are very personable and accommodating, and served excellent breakfasts each day. We also visited Plymouth and Exeter, within an hours drive away. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bentley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentley Lodge

Address: Tor Park Rd, Torquay TQ2 5BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bentley Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bentley Lodge... ...Award Winning 4 Star Silver Guest House...Open All Year A Lovely house that was built around 1900 and has been lovingly cared for. Your hosts Kim & David offer a genuine, warm and friendly welcome along with stylish, comfortable en-suite bedrooms and a freshly cooked breakfast (choice of menus) using local produce wherever possible. All contribute to give Bentley Lodge the feel of a boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bentley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentley Hotel Torquay
Bentley Lodge Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bentley Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.