We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection - exceeded our expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lanscombe House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lanscombe House
Save
You added Lanscombe House to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Cockington Village, Torquay TQ2 6XA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 154 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Perfection - exceeded our expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Have just arrived home after four days spent at Lanscombe House. After a five hour journey we were received with a very friendly welcome and a tour of the hotel together with a welcome cup of tea from Paula. We loved Cockington when we visited for a day earlier in the year and promised ourselves we would stay in the village one day, which came earlier than we anticipated. Why has it taken so long for us to discover this tranquil paradise, the hotel was perfect, from the room (2) to the hosts and the beautiful magnolia tree at the front - amazing. We really couldn't ask for more. The only downside was it all went far too quickly, but we have our memories and photo's which will last us until we stay again. Paula and Leon, thank you so much, we really appreciate the fantastic stay we had with you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    4
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
80
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We were greeted with a very warm welcome and a much needed pot of coffee.
Room was spotless, very comfortable & beautifully furnished. Would certainly stay again and recommend to others.
Breakfast was a delight as were our hosts. Nothing was too much trouble.
Location was idyllic & tranquil without being too far away from the beach & Torquay itself.
This is certainly no Fawlty Towers!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We have recently returned from a lovely 7 night stay at Lanscombe House and were met by Leon who checked us in very quickly and made tea for us to have in the garden. This was the start of a relaxing and brilliant stay. The daily breakfast could not be faulted with fresh local produce including beautiful bread and jams. Our room (7) was very comfortable and immaculate and the complimentary fudge & biscuits were brilliant. The little touches made all the difference including a canvas bag in the wardrobe containing towels for use at the beach. Paula & Leon were lovely hosts with a wealth of local knowledge that they were happy to share and advise re places to visit. We will certainly return and we have already given out hotel leaflets as recommendations to friends. Thank you for a great stay

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We've just arrived home from a most wonderful few days at Lanscombe House , we were greeted by Paula who made us very welcome and at home , our room (5) was immaculate lovely bath and shower dressing gowns. Tea and coffee facilities there was a fridge on landing with fresh milk extra tea and coffee if needed also bottles of water which we found convenient .
Leon recommended two lovely restaurants The Church House at Marldon and No 7 at the harbour which was a fish restaurant .
Breakfast was perfect ,a wide selection I had something different every morning .

Lanscombe House is situated in the most pretty chocolate box setting I've ever seen .

If your wanting to get away from the stresses of life this is the place to come so peaceful .

Thank You so much Paula and Leon it was just what we needed .

Mark , Michele Huxford

Room Tip: Room 5 was perfect looking out over garden didn't hear a sound day or night .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonButler, Owner at Lanscombe House, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. It was lovely to meet you both and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Would just like to thank Leon & Paula for a truly beautiful stay.
Our arrival was efficient and made so easy. Our room was tasteful,clean very comfortable and you want for nothing at all. (Fudge was amazing. )
Breakfast was a true delight.
The only down side .... We also own a bed and breakfast and so wanted to find fault..... And being 100% honest , we could find no faults at all.
Will be recommending lanscombe to all friends and family.

Room Tip: Room2 & 5
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonButler, Owner at Lanscombe House, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Nicola, your review truly brought a tear to my eye! To have such a lovely review from someone else in the trade is very special. Thank you. We loved having you all here. We will certainly try to find your restaurant next time we're heading east. Paula x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liphook, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were fortunate enough to stay for 7 nights at this amazing guest house. After a very long and tiring journey, we were welcomed by Leon who gave us a quick guided tour and offered us tea or coffee. The breakfasts were delicious - all made from local produce to order - they even had gluten free bread so I didnt miss out on anything ! Paula was very helpful with her knowledge of local places to visit and we had the most amazing week. We very much hope to be able to return to Lanscombe House next year. Thank you Leon and Paula for your very welcoming and warm hospitality.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7 which had a king size sleigh bed and a couple of tub chairs which was very comfo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonButler, Owner at Lanscombe House, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Kate,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We always keep gluten free bread in stock and are happy to cater for any other dietary requirements if given notice. So glad you enjoyed your holiday. Hope to see you both again. Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We booked this B&B at the last minute for a short stay in Devon and were really happy to have found such a lovely place to stay. This place is right in the centre of an amazingly pretty village and about a 15 minute stroll through the woods to the coast and a further 15/20 minutes into the centre of Torquay. The house is spotlessly clean and very quiet and peaceful. It has lovely gardens to relax in. There isn't much else to add to the content of the other reviews. The only minor gripes are that as stated elsewhere the water pressure in the shower isn't great and the bed in room 3 is very creaky. Every time you turn over you feel like you will wake your partner up which might be an issue for any honeymooners staying;)

That said it in no way spoilt our stay and would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lanscombe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanscombe House

Address: Cockington Village, Torquay TQ2 6XA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Hotel Class:5 star — Lanscombe House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five star Lanscombe House is in a stunning location within Cockington Village and Country Park yet just a few minutes walk from the sea and Torquay beyond. The listed property has just 7 refurbished individually furnished rooms with quality en-suites and the personal attention to detail from the owners Leon & Paula Butler you would expect from a five star country house. Lanscombe House has their own car park, a cosy bar, elegant guest lounge and spacious sunny breakfast room leading out to the walled Victorian gardens. The world famous preserved thatched village boasts a number of tearooms,a pub/restaurant as well as the extensive crafts studios at Cockington Court and 450 acres of park with rural walks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lanscombe Hotel Torquay
Lanscombe House Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lanscombe House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.