We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent short break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Richwood

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Richwood to your Saves list
The Richwood
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20, Newton Road, Torquay TQ2 5BZ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Cobham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent short break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Had a lovely (and very reasonable) two night stay with delightful owners who prepared us the most amazing Lebanese meal. Cooked breakfast was great too. Our rooms were small but had perfectly adequate en-suites with exceptionally clean sheets and comfy bed, which suited us fine - didn't go away to stay in a hotel room! Thank you ladies and lovely waitresses for a most enjoyable weekend break. Swimming pool and jacuzzi weren't open but looked like they would be a welcome addition in season, pool table was good fun though!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    40
    16
    19
    11
See reviews for
25
101
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This was a get-away for a few days during the week as our planned trip abroad had to be curtailed due to health reasons.
This is a family run hotel with lots going for it our greeting on arrival was very friendly and our room was very comfortable and warm as we did not pick very good weather, all our bedding and towels were beautiful and fresh.
Please try the evening menu if you like food with different flavours this is the place for you the Lebanese cuisine that we tried on two evenings was superb so different from anything we had tasted before, they do other food as well so please try you will not be disappointed.
This was for us a great few days were we could chill out and do what we wanted.
Jean & Colin

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Thank you for your review, we loved having you here and we look forward to being able to greet you at the Richwood again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed here for a 2 night break on a voucher deal. Was described as a small double with basic breakfast and that is exactly what we got. Room okay, just needs updating, bed linen and towels were clean and fresh. Breakfast is basic, but adequate, although a choice of fruit juice would be nice, only orange juice was put out. On the whole okay, but honestly I don't think I would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richwoodtorquay, General Manager at The Richwood, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Sorry you were not happy, we do aim to please.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Right, where to begin? Ok on entering the hotel lobby it was small and quite quaint. We were greeted by a lady who we found out later was one of the owners. We were given our room key then asked to pay a supplement of £40. We booked through KGB and was told, by the other owner via email that it was £20 to pay. She argued with us but I only paid £20 in cash. She took our debit card number in case we had drinks in the bar etc.

We were shown to our room via some narrow stairs. Our room was rather small for a double. Shower extremely small. There was tea and coffee making facilities in the room and the coffee sachets, sugar, milk and tea bags were replenished daily.

Our evening meal was lovely and very tasty. We had a selection of Lebanese dishes. The meal came with the KGB deal. There was a menu on our table with prices ranging from £9 to £20 which we thought was rather expensive.

Breakfast was either cooked at extra £5 per person per day. The other option was continental which was a joke; cereal or toast. Tea and fresh coffee was good and a choice of orange juice too.

There was WiFi but was useless. It kept dropping after 5 minutes and mobile signal was weak too.

Other things like bath towels were not changed daily although a charge of 50p per towel would have rectified this.

The following day after we arrived home we noticed that they HAD taken the £20 of which they said we owed. My wife rang and complained and was told the issue was closed and slammed the phone down. My wife then emailed them the email they had sent stating the price we were told. They refunding the money back.

If you are booking through KGB then check all details.

A bus runs just a few mins up the road which takes you to Town centre, Paignton, Brixham etc. A day rider cost £4.90 and very good value.

Overall the food was good but we felt like we were in a basic guest house rather than a four star hotel. The fact that they had Trip advisor certificate on their wall for excellence in 2013 AND a photo of when they were on Channel 4's Four in a Room made us think they had slipped in standards somewhat.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are rather small
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Where to begin…!
1. We are a licensed THREE star B&B with 12 rooms, not officially a hotel.
2. Card details are taken routinely by most places today to facilitate bar tabs and also to offset damages, as stated in T&Cs.
3. We serve, as advertised, a BASIC, as much as you want, breakfast of 4 different cereals, granary brown and white toast, coffee or tea and fruit juice . We have a large selection of items for a cooked breakfast at very reasonable, competitive prices ranging from £0.50 to £5 for the full English.
4. WiFi is complementary i.e. FREE, this is an old Victorian house and in some rooms reception is difficult… but good in the public areas and most of the rooms. I have stayed in places where you pay a lot and you receive no WiFi at all!
5. We do not change the towels every day, and the hotel inspector would tell us that a charge of 50p per towel to change daily is too cheap! If you want five star service then you have to pay 5 star prices; this deal, for bed and basic breakfast, a very good evening meal with a bottle of wine is worth £192; the cost for these guests was only £89 of which we receive £65.60 i.e. £16.40 per person per night for EVERYTHING!
6. I refunded the £20 and apologised as soon as I realised I had made a mistake. Mea Culpa, … Everyone is human…
7. On the first floor are also our beautiful, larger premiere rooms which cost a little more…. we tell all our guests that the standard rooms are small and give them the choice to upgrade... Which Marq did not want to do...
Finally I am glad that they at least enjoyed the home-cooked, totally fresh Lebanese Mezza.

I wish to UNDERLINE that our standards are praised by many guests who also, actually, happily pay full price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

My partner and I stayed two nights at this hotel, and found it to be clean and very welcoming. The hosts were welcoming, helpful and very friendly. I would definitely recommend this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to being able to greet you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

this has got to be by far the worst place I've ever visited. I couldn't even bear the smell of the place and I didn't even make it past reception before I decided I couldn't stay there. the owner is just a rip off merchant. trying to charge you by the hour for arriving after 6pm. the only advise I would give anybody wanting to stay here is do so BUT only if the bus stop across the road has no vacancies first.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
This "gentleman" booked via LateRooms for two people in two single rooms. Three men arrived late at night and expected to be able to stay without paying for the third person. This man was extremely abusive: he spent five minutes shouting at us and, whilst I was calling LateRooms for help, he left and never returned. HE DID NOT stay here - for which I am very grateful!
This review is not fair to our business AND MUST BE TAKEN DOWN.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

we love the stay here. everything was just perfect, the rooms and all the facilities were so comfortable. my friends even said that they wish they could spend few more days here, as just staying in the rooms is pleasant enough for a holiday. We traveled there as a group of 10 students, which might have caused a bit problems but the Veronika was very flexible for us, not so strict as I thought. I will definetely go for The Richwood if I come back here the next time. Highly recommend.
the guesthouse is about 2 miles from the city centre and 1 miles from the train station, so it is a bit far for walking. (but with a taxi, that is not a big problem actually).
the value is even better when you come here at the beginning of the holiday, as the guesthouse might have several offers such as stay 1 night, the other night is free. it was so gooddddd in deed.
some shops and restaurants were closed quite soon or even not open at all during holiday (easter).
Kim Saigon was very valued for money and quality. love all the dishes there.
you'd better have cash with you, or else it will be very irritating, as nearly all the services and shops here were cash only.

Room Tip: it is hard to choose, as all the rooms are just perfect and suitable for any single purpose of your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for you review. As I said when you left, you were the perfect guests and you all will be very welcome back anytime.All the best to all of you and stay as sweet as you are!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Richwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richwood

Address: 20, Newton Road, Torquay TQ2 5BZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Richwood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the award-winning Richwood and Beirut-Bistro-Bar. When it comes to guest accommodation on the English Riviera, the Richwood is the only one which offers a combination of great facilities, excellent hospitality and a bistro bar which serves delicious Lebanese, Mediterranean, European and English cuisine. And everything is very reasonably priced! Winner of the English Riviera and South Devon Bronze Award for Excellence in Service 2013, the Richwood is comfortably furnished and centrally heated throughout. All 12 bedrooms are En-suite, have colour TV with DVD players and tea and coffee making facilities. Ideal for families, there are reduced terms for children when sharing with parents. The Richwood is situated 10 to 15 foot minutes from the seafront and town center. You want to enjoy the nightlife and attractions that Devon has to offer? Or just want a quiet break? ...Then the Richwood is the place to be. Around Torquay: The English Riviera: Torquay is the jewel of the English Riviera and Britain's premier holiday and leisure resort, offering a wide variety of holiday entertainment for all the family, including many theatres featuring International stars throughout the season. There is fun for all the family. There are beaches for safe swimming, water-skiing, sea and river cruises, boating and wind surfing, tennis, fishing, golf, putting, riding and pony trekking. For those who like to explore there are miles of coastal walks at hand, many historical towns to visit and the rugged beauty of Dartmoor is only half an hour's drive away. Gay friendly. Pet friendly. There is free parking at the hotel on a first come, first served basis. There is also free parking on the road outside the Richwood in the unlikely event our car park is full. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Richwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richwood Hotel Torquay
The Richwood Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Richwood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.