We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a nice place to stay” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Richwood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Richwood to your Saves list
The Richwood
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20, Newton Road, Torquay TQ2 5BZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“not a nice place to stay”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I was bitterly disappionted with the decor of the rooms which did not seem to of been decorated in at least 30 years. The breakfast was do it yourself, and so not at all relaxing.

And I found the hosts, standoffish, and not interested in constructive critisim.

Thank goodness we had reservations from the of and only stayed one night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
This is ANOTHER fake review, written by someone who maliciously wishes us ill... and as such should be ignored. TripAdvisor should be ashamed to put reviews out ther, online, when they cannot prove that the critics has been to the venue they are critiquing. Shame.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    39
    16
    18
    11
See reviews for
24
94
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

I wanted to say what a wonderful time my partner and I had at this Hotel, it was pouring with rain and Saida was so kind and welcoming, letting us check in early, chatted with us and showed us to our lovely cosy room, we met Veronica later and she was just as lovely, the breakfast was tasty and the dining room clean spacious and inviting. They upgraded us to the family room as it was my Birthday and gave us a small bottle of wine which we found very kind.
We would have stayed longer than the two nights and will definetly go back for a return visit. We would recommend this Hotel as a warm clean fun place to stay, not posh or uninviting but place like home !! Tracey and pete

Room Tip: all the rooms seemed as nice as ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
...and what wonderful guests! We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed only one night. Though we were the only guests in the hotel, the hotel was very welcoming and friendly, the room was very clean. we really enjoyed a lovely breakfast next morning. We will definitely visit again.









  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for your great review... from great guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We visited a few months ago and I have since been gathering courage to write this. We stay away approx. 4 times a year and this was definitely the worst place that we have stayed. The room was clean but as mentioned by other people the lists of 'what you can/can't do' are endless. The breakfast was barely adequate- small glass of orange juice; toast your own bread and no choice of jam/marmalade other than the 2 each provided on the table. Unless you paid for a 'cooked breakfast' that was it. I am sorry but we will definitely not be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
As I am not convinced you stayed here I have no problem with your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Needing a long earned break i decided to book a weekend away for my partner, myself and our small spaniel, Maisie. Within minutes of arriving and meeting Veronica and Saida, we felt so welcome and relaxed. We were shown to our room and were pleased to find that it was warm, cosy, spacious, immaculately clean, quiet and inviting. The en-suite shower room was fab, lovely decor and again immaculately clean with free flowing hot water. Dinner was included in the first night of our stay and wow........ it was amazing, so good that we booked in again for the second night too. Veronica and Saida sure know how to cook mouth watering Lebanese cuisine, it was the first time we had tried it and definitely not the last! As for the hosts we couldn't have asked for any better, how refreshing to meet such wonderful, inspiring women. We only wish that we had more time to listen to their stories and get to know them better. We are so pleased to have found a gem on the English Riviera that is not too far away from home and we are looking forward to our return visit in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
You have given us air under our wings. It was a pleasure meeting you both and we hope it won't be long before we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We were blown into Torquay on a rough night, and received a warm welcome. This hotel is really a bed-and-breakfast. It was all perfectly adequate, and the Lebanese meal a revelation as the buffet-style was tasty, very interesting and as if for a dinner party at home!
I would have to say that our room was cramped - getting to the en-suite in the night especially a palaver - though the bed was comfortable. Only fair to say that we had been offered an upgrade which we did not take.
If you are at all allergic to smoke, the public areas are smoky, though the rooms were free of smoky smell. (Sometimes asthma can be exacerbated by a smoky ambience however secondhand)
It's a pity that fire regulations are so draconian now, as it means getting air through an old building is quite difficult.
Two interesting ladies run the Richwood and are working hard to keep things going. Our deal was a very good one indeed and remarkable value. A bottle of wine came with the meal! Hard to better the price. Our two children had a twin room which could not be locked, so we hope the locksmith fixed it soon.

Room Tip: Best to accept an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed the food, sorry you felt cramped and I am not sure where the smoke in the public areas was from as no one smokes inside the building..!
We hope you enjoyed the bottle of wine we gave you to take home with you, since you were not aware it was part of the deal...
...and by the way, the broken door lock was mended on the morning you left!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Booked a weekend deal with KGB which was exceptional value as it included a Lebanese Mezza, cooked by Saida ( the Lebanese half of the hosts ) which was superb. We were expecting a small room due to the cheap deal but it turned out to be perfectly adequate and had been recently refurbished. The bed was good for us, the shower ran as hot as we wanted and would go more, The heating was good and the Wi-Fi worked in the room, even during the storm, TV worked fine although a little small to see details from the bed. The complimentary buffet breakfast was plenty good enough with a choice of 4 cereals, white and nice wholemeal bread, tea and coffee + juice - set us up for the day.
Yes we picked the week end of the storm but Torquay has its own micro climate so we managed to spend a lot of time sightseeing, only having to dodge into a restaurant once to avoid a shower. Got caught going out 1 night but it had dried up as we came back so we walked along the sea front.
All in all we had a lovely time due in no small part to our hosts and their friendly welcoming attitude.
We would recommend the Richwood to anyone that is used to staying in older hotels with character, but if you want impersonal, modern, boxy, bland, rooms best go to somewhere new.
All in all had a great break

Room Tip: Don't miss the mezza if you havn't tried Lebonese food or if you have you will know how good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay and our delicious food!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Richwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richwood

Address: 20, Newton Road, Torquay TQ2 5BZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Richwood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the award-winning Richwood and Beirut-Bistro-Bar. When it comes to guest accommodation on the English Riviera, the Richwood is the only one which offers a combination of great facilities, excellent hospitality and a bistro bar which serves delicious Lebanese, Mediterranean, European and English cuisine. And everything is very reasonably priced! Winner of the English Riviera and South Devon Bronze Award for Excellence in Service 2013, the Richwood is comfortably furnished and centrally heated throughout. All 12 bedrooms are En-suite, have colour TV with DVD players and tea and coffee making facilities. Ideal for families, there are reduced terms for children when sharing with parents. The Richwood is situated 10 to 15 foot minutes from the seafront and town center. You want to enjoy the nightlife and attractions that Devon has to offer? Or just want a quiet break? ...Then the Richwood is the place to be. Around Torquay: The English Riviera: Torquay is the jewel of the English Riviera and Britain's premier holiday and leisure resort, offering a wide variety of holiday entertainment for all the family, including many theatres featuring International stars throughout the season. There is fun for all the family. There are beaches for safe swimming, water-skiing, sea and river cruises, boating and wind surfing, tennis, fishing, golf, putting, riding and pony trekking. For those who like to explore there are miles of coastal walks at hand, many historical towns to visit and the rugged beauty of Dartmoor is only half an hour's drive away. Gay friendly. Pet friendly. There is free parking at the hotel on a first come, first served basis. There is also free parking on the road outside the Richwood in the unlikely event our car park is full. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Richwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richwood Hotel Torquay
The Richwood Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Richwood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.