We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy hotel in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Livermead House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Livermead House to your Saves list
The Livermead House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Seafront, Torquay TQ2 6QJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
“Classy hotel in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The Livermead House Hotel is very charming as the staff are so polite and helpful and the dining is silver service and four courses. The rooms may be dated but we had a wonderful sea view room with pretty decor. Would highly recommend this hotel as it is very classy for not a very high price tag and it is within walking distance of Torquay along the sea front.

Room Tip: Sea view room or a garden view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    65
    23
    21
    31
See reviews for
53
98
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I loved this place it is quite charming and I would recommend you book a sea view room as it's well worth it, our room was large and although it was a little dated I rather liked it as it would of been my dream room in the 1980's. We visited in March and it was a little chilly in the room so we asked for an extra heater and one was brought up immediately.
Service was excellent and check in easy with a friendly receptionist.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

It's easy to see both side of the arguments put here on Trip Advisor... so here's me trying to be balanced. First of all be aware that "Club" rooms appear to be small rooms at the back of the hotel. I booked a Club room for 2 nights at a very reasonable price. Based on comments here left my partner in the car whilst I did a recce on the room. Receptionist and Concierge were pleasant and helpful. I viewed the room I had booked and concluded it would be just too small for our needs, which included being allowed to bring our Dalamation with us. I paid the £10 pppn upgrade for a double room at the front of the hotel. The room (14) was more than adequate and is probably best described as a sitting room with a double bed in it. Bathroom was the only room off the main room and was tastefully decorated and totally functional. The decor had age to it and was of a certain Laura Ashley style but there was absolutely nothing to complain about. The room was warm and the bed very comfortable. We didn't eat in the hotel as we wanted to try some of the top Torquay restaurants and having had a substantial meal out in the evening means that breakfast is not a top priority so cannot comment on the food. What I can say the the staff were totally attentive...e.g. an iron and ironing board brought to the room within minutes of request. The hotel is frequented by some of our older generation...you know the type people...those that say please and thank you, don't make an unnecessary fuss over trivia and fought for our country in the 2nd WW....some of whom may be a little unsteady on their feet might hold you up for 30 seconds getting down to the bar. If these type of people offend you stay away. So how to get the best out of a stay at the Livermead House...I would say room selection is critical....we would have had a completely different feeling about the place had we stayed in the room we originally booked, and that could be helped by some honest dimensions and comments on the various websites through which rooms can be booked. The final thing to be mindful of is character and style. If you need a Lenny Henry Hotel don't stay here its simply not that kind of sole-less and efficient hotel...yes one of the lifts is ancient and would be ideal in a Sherlock Holmes movie it does however transport you between floors with ease which is its primary purpose. As for the TV's yes they are old...but I never travel 500 miles to watch TV...I have a 40' plasma at home with surround sound...if that's what you need again this place isn't for you. If however you want to stay in a characterful hotel with charm and history including some idiosyncrasies and served by people who care, then provided you select the correct room then this hotel is an excellent base from which to explore Devon. Here's the acid test....we will go back...including Polka who enjoyed being with us and not excluded from our holiday as she would have been by so many hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Room 14 has a sea partial sea view and overlooks the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stumbled upon this hotel by chance as we were going to have afternoon tea further along Torquay sea-front but there were no parking spaces on Saturday 9th of March only over-priced car-parks.
I have been to this hotel on various occasions from weddings to dinner events and it has remained pretty much the same.
We parked our cars for free in the car-park and entered the bar-lounge area to find it was empty. The waiter took our orders which were very reasonably priced and brought the silver service teas, coffee and home-made snacks to our table, the waiter was pleasant, helpful and polite.
We had a grand sea view of Torbay and instantly felt relaxed; I was impressed as this felt far superior to any of the squeezed in coffee houses in town and better value.
I shall return for the same treatment and location, a must for a stop off coffee with a grand view!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Went to a morning presentation at this hotel. Supposed to be a real posh one, I thought it was old fashioned, and VERY pretentious. Trying to pretend it had something special, and in my opinion it does not. Top prices....tired decor, I suppose some will like it, as it is stepping back in time....not for me, couldn't wait to get out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful Valentine weekend at the Livermead House Hotel, and once again Tim and his team of excellent staff have pulled out all the stops!
This was the fourth time we have resided at a Rew hotel, (twice at the Livermead Cliff), this was our second visit to the "House".
Fantastic value for money, superb gourmet food in the sumptuous restaurant , great atmosphere in the lounges, topped off with fantastic weather!
If you visit a hotel just to spend time in your room to watch telly and worry about the colour of the bathroom then OK, they are a tad "dated", But if like us, your room is used for a good nights kip and a decent shower the rooms deliver on all fronts. One reviewer called the old lift the "Lift from the Tower of Terror", I think the lift in question was fantastic, Oak paneling, good ol' fashion manual gates, brilliant.
The Livermead House is a great hotel, already looking forward to returning.
Already looking forward to returning.
Already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We cannot praise the Livermead hotel and the staff enough. They were so helpful and polite, but not in an overbearing way.They helped me get some flowers in the room before our arrival as a surprise, and then gave us a beautiful cake for our wedding anniversary. Very thoughtful.
Will definitely be going there again. The food was excellent, the evening meal was a real treat.

Room Tip: Have one with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Livermead House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Livermead House

Address: Seafront, Torquay TQ2 6QJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Livermead House 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Livermead House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Livermead House Hotel Torquay
The Livermead Hotel
Livermead Hotel Torquay
The Livermead House Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Livermead House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.