We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No refund whatsoever if you leave early!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ashwood Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ashwood Grange Hotel to your Saves list
Ashwood Grange Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Newton Road, Torquay TQ2 5BZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“No refund whatsoever if you leave early!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Booked here for 9 days for a business trip. They put me in room 1 right next to the busy road. Traffic was very noisy I couldn't sleep at all. The next day I asked to switch room but they said none available, so I had no choice but to find another hotel. They said NO REFUND for ALL 9 DAYS, I was very surprised but talked with them nicely about other options. Finally they said one family room was available (I knew it because on their website it showed vacancy) they showed me the room but said it was only available for a few days, "AFTER THAT YOU ARE ON YOUR OWN" were their exact words. Horrible customer service. Laughable anywhere in the world. I ended up getting half of my money back and moved to another hotel. My colleague booked the same hotel and had to leave one day early. This couple wouldn't give her the money back either. GREEDY and UNPROFESSIONAL when it comes to financial transactions.

Room Tip: Room #1 was very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
8
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thames Valley
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

You could not have asked for a warmer welcome and this friendliness and courtesy carried on throughout my three night stay. Room was very clean and tidy and comfortable. I would wholeheartedly agree with other travellers that the breakfast is superb.

Stuart and Clare were really attentive hosts and nothing was too much trouble for them.

I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for a weekend break for the last seven years and its always bang on . It's clean very well equipped and the owners are really friendly and helpfully .i highly recommend this place the owners deserve all credit they are highly professional and bloody hard workers .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We checked out today after 2 nights in this lovely B&B. the owners really cannot do enough for you. We were in room 2, the shower was very hot! Probably my lack of experience with using strange showers though.

Bed very comfortable, tea/coffee & cookies in our room. Breakfast was a strightforward affair, your room number is your table number (excellent idea) Staff super friendly, at times too friendly "is everything ok" was said over and over again, it seemed no amount of positive reactions was good enough lol but that's better than owners who don't take the time to ask, right?

Breakfast was great, so much cereals and juices, proper mushrooms, eggs perfect, toast in triangles (my favourite) Bacon and sausage were good quality and you were very well looked after.

We had to wait in the guest room for a while after we checked out, we were given the wi-fi code so we could get online.

There are no negatives with this B&B and I would recommend to anyone, families and couples. Thank you for an excellent stay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

hi, i stayed here in the summer hoidays with my dad and had a really great time. We got a really nice warm welcoming and the beakfast on the morning was spot on!The room was so ncie and comfy as well. Overall i had a fantastic stay at the ashwood grange and hope to see you again sometime.
alisar and steve :)

Room Tip: not sure :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This is a lovely B&B situated near Torre Train Station just outside of Torquay, the First impressions of the B&B were that it was pretty and of a good standard. We were greeted by Stuart and Clare showed us to our room, we were a couple travelling with 8 month old son and 2 year old nephew they allocated us a fantastic family room which was a double room with en suite and a single room with wash basin with an internal door – excellent value for money!
Clare gave us plenty of local information and advised us how to get to Torquay on the bus which proved so valuable to us! Much better than parking in Torquay and far cheaper!
The breakfast was another value for money point; there was a choice of cereals and yoghurts fresh juices and then a full English cooked breakfast plus toast – nothing was too much trouble for them
The beds were comfortable the shower was fantastic the travel cot they provided was immaculate and the tv worked brilliantly
the rooms were serviced which we did not realise and having rushed to get kids ready before breakfast so we could head straight out for the boat trip we had booked we did not get chance to tidy up after the morning showers and finding things to wear so we were embarressed when we returned to find our room immaculate and tidy (thank you Clare and Stuart sorry about the mess :-) )
Overall a fantastic B&B I will definitely be back and we shall be recommending to everyone – Thank you for a fab stay Lucie, James plus Joshua and Cameron

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This is a great value guest house, in a good location. The rooms are spotless and a really good size compared to a boring premier inn type franchise. We were made to feel really comfortable, even though our three year old caused mayhem most of the time we were there. Breakfast was excellent with a good selection of options, again even for our young child. I'd recommend staying here without hesitation, truely great value for money, I wonder if a star has fallen off the sign? It should be five!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashwood Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashwood Grange Hotel

Address: 18 Newton Road, Torquay TQ2 5BZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
#18 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashwood Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ashwood Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashwood Grange Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashwood Grange Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.