We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 day stay at the Cimon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cimon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Cimon to your Saves list
The Cimon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   82 Abbey Rd, Torquay TQ2 5NP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Torquay, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“4 day stay at the Cimon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We arrived at the Cimon on 29th December and were greeted by Adam who was very friendly and welcoming. We were shown the facilities which looked great and our room - a superior double - was very nice, particularly for the reasonable price we paid. All in all the stay was extremely pleasant, hotel very clean, the breakfast was great and the hosts were friendly and helpful, advising us that breakfast could be later on New Year's day to account for sore heads!!

We decided to go back to the hotel on New Year's eve after eating out. We had a really good night in the bar with the other guests and it was much better than the usual scurry round crowded and overpriced pubs. I would definitely recommend a stay here if you are looking for a reasonably priced medium sized hotel, it was extremely good value for money. The pool was obviously closed but a summer stay would be lovely as it looked very nice with a patio off the conservatory. The location is fantastic, five minutes from the town centre and the beach. We will definitely stay at the Cimon again and I would highly recommend it to my friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thanks Alyson - sorry about getting your boyfriend so drunk on new year's eve though!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    48
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
63
118
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We decided on the spur of the moment to get away for a couple of days between Christmas and New Year. How lucky we were to find the Cimon had a room available.

It's a homely, friendly, welcoming place. Adam and Anita are lovely people and they more than made up for the atrocious weather (it never really stopped raining at all while were there!) Our room (superior twin) was really comfortable: soft but firm beds, warm duvets, big soft pillows. The TV is big and there is a DVD player: we were happy to lie in bed and watch a movie, it was so comfy.

The only (and very minor) criticism is this: the shower room floor (in room 19) doesn't drain water very well, so the floor stays wet for a while after a shower.

Breakfast was excellent. Lots of hot coffee, fresh fruit, a well-made full English. And the lounge and bar are warm and intimate, more like being in a friend's house than a hotel.

Plenty of parking for cars, and it's easy to walk to the high street or down to the beach in a few minutes. There are a few really excellent restaurants too, ask Adam or Anita for recommendations!

All in all, this hotel is a little gem. The pool looks lovely and must be fantastic in summer. I'd love to go back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thanks Charl - I hope to see you again when the pool is open!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend have just arrived home after a 3 night break at this hotel, and it was amazing.
The room - we stayed in the superior double (4 poster bed) the room was alot bigger then we expected the photo's actually made it look smaller, it was a lovely room though, it had a tv and dvd player with a sofa, a dressing table with draws and a mirror, 2 bed side cabnets with draws both sides had lampshades and an alarm clock, and to finish off a wardrobe. The room was very well decorated lovely colours and good photo's the finishing touch is the huge mirror on the wall! The shower/toilet is just what you need not the biggest but not the smallest ive seen, i loved the lightbrown glittery paint! showergel is on the wall in a pump, and shampoo, condioner & hand lotion is included. I would defiently choose this room to return too!!

Breakfast is lovely, just walk down to the restuarant, help yourself to soft drinks, you get asked for tea or coffee and what you would like to eat, whilst waiting for your cooked breakfast you have a large variety of other things to choose from, cereals, fruit yoghurts etc.. The restaurant also have a lovely view!

The bar is perfect, a nice small bar, with enough seating for the guests, a pool table board games & chess! This is open all day, and the drinks are very cheap!

We spent new years eve here, and decided to go out for a meal before returning to the hotel as we were informed there would be a small party to celebrate the new years, we got champagne at mid-night went out to the terrace and watched the fireworks that were set of the harbour whilst we set chinese lanterns off. The company also made our night, such lovely people.

I would reccomend this hotel to anyone, its in a perfect location, 2 minutes into the town centre with hundreds of shops, and 5 minutes from the harbour which was beautiful, the harbour is also surounded by loads of restuarants and bars. You'll never get bored trust me :)

Last of all the staff....
we would both like to say a MASSIVE thank-you to the owners, Adam & Anita, what a lovely couple theses guys are in this hotel day in day out, the give you a warm welcoming, a tour, are there when you come down for breakfast and are still up when you go off up to your room. They both run the bar all day long whilst checking people in, doing rooms and so on.. Obviously the do have help from others, but I can honesslt say these people put their heart and soul into The Cimon. The girl who looks after their children Tina is also lovely!

Keep going guy's, you'll be number 1 in no time!!

Thanks for making our get away so fantastic, we will be returning!!!

Lauren & Billy, Portsmouth! xxx

Room Tip: superior double four poster bed, amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Hi Lauren,
Thanks for your wonderful review, we're pleased you enjoyed your stay here, you certainly contributed to the fun on New Year's Eve! I hope to see you back here again with your daughter.
Adam & Anita.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Just got back from Cimon Hotel, everything excellent, nothing to much trouble, all staff very helpful and friendly, rooms very clean and comfortable. We had double room with lovely view overlooking Torbay. Bar nice, well stocked and.not overpriced. Would recommend it to anyone. Breakfast very tasty and well cooked. All in all excellent value for money, we will definitely be returning next year. Many Thanks. Jeff and Nokki from Blackpool.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view if available, well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Cheers Jeff - thanks for your company, I really enjoyed our chats in the bar, lots of good stories! See you again I hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Hotel Cimon with my mum last month and it was ideal. We have stayed in many different hotels in Torquay as i have family there but will definitely return to this one. The owners were friendly, the hotel was clean and the family facilities were great especially the play room. The car park was also very spacious compared to other hotel that we have stayed in. We were shown the family room as I have 2 young children and it was very clean and spacious so I will be booking the Cimon when I next visit Torquay!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thanks Sarah - I look forward to meeting the rest of the family next time! Remember to book direct for the best deals!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We needed to find last minute accommodation in Torquay for a trip south. At this time of year there are so many 'deals' available that it truly was hard to choose. I picked the Cimon, based on TA reviews but with a good dose of random, and I was delighted with the outcome. Adam emailed me within minutes of my request for a booking and when we arrived quite late we were expected and quickly settled in to our room. The room was comfortable and had everything we needed - tea, coffee, hot chocolate plus biscuits and chocolates. Comfy bed, nice towels, great breakfast too. We only stayed one night but wished it was more.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Very friendly, yet professional, genuine people.
Family friendly.
Amazing breakfast, I am gluten free and they provided Gluten free options in all the breakfasts.
Modern and pleasent feel inside.
Ample car parking spaces.
Close to town centre which avoids car parking prices and close to sea too.
Thank you for a lovely experience at your great hotel, we hope to see you again when we next venture to Torquay.
All the very best,
Pauline Tame. 23rd,24th November 2012( mother of Sarah Pilcher)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cimon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cimon

Address: 82 Abbey Rd, Torquay TQ2 5NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Torquay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#17 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cimon 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 5 minute walk from the beach and town centre, this beautiful Victorian guest house has an outdoor heated swimming pool, free car park (space guaranteed!), free WiFi throughout, and a licensed bar with free pool table. We have a reputation for our fantastic breakfasts! Family rooms, sea views and superior rooms available. Children of all ages are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Cimon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cimon Hotel Torquay
The Cimon Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cimon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.