We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maintaining high standards” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Church House Inn, Marldon, Devon, TQ3 1SL

The Church House Inn, Marldon, Devon, TQ3 1SL
Village Road, Torquay TQ3 1SL, England
1803 558279
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 255 Restaurants in Torquay
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Walsall, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Maintaining high standards”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

It has been some time since our last visit but we continue to be impressed with the quality of the meals, albeit that the choices may be slightly limited. We ordered the hake on med vegetables with spicy chorizo and the slow cooked lamb shoulder. Both cooked to perfection; we had a table in the bar which is quite acceptable and bar staff and owner very accommodating. With a couple of beers and one desert between us the tab was a little over £50 - probably on the high side for the mains but worth the restaurant price for the quality. Place well patronised and deserving of the custom it achieves.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    42
    21
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paignton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food lovely atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

When a small village pub is buzy on a Wednesday in February you have an idea that the food will be good. The Church House has that old world village pub charm. You can eat in a variety of areas including the bar. We had a table in the restaurant in front of the welcoming living flame fire. The quality of the food was excellent, presented well and full of flavours. The staff were all very friendly and accommodating. It made for a very pleasant delayed valentine's Day celebration. A very minor criticism is that the menu didn't seem as varied as it has been on previous visits but highly recommended for a good night out.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
“Not so much a pub, more a place to eat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We have visited The Church House Inn on a number of occasions and have never been disappointed with the food or the service. On the last occasion we visited for lunch. Our choices, beef medallion, cod, fillet steak and the omelette, were really good, well-presented and reasonably priced. There was also a good selection of beers and wines. It's a good place to dine with friends. This is a place where you go to drink and enjoy good food - a dining pub. If you just want have a drink then there are more traditional pubs in the area. The Church House Inn is very good at what it offers!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Gone off the boil”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I visit my parents a few times a year in an area of Paignton called Marldon where this pub is located. It has always been reasonable and Mum and Dad like it. The last couple of times I have noticed it has gone off the boil.
The veg is bland and cold, the mains are uninteresting and the owner/ manager called Julian is so arrogant he is driving the locals away. I went early in the new year and two of our mains were not upto standard. When I mentioned it to Julian He totally dismissed me.
I will not take my parents there again, but I expect they will return because they don't like the fuss.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We visited this pub on weekday evening and found it excellent in every respect, my only criticism is th at the bread could have been warmer. An example of the service is that my wife, who has allergy problems , was unable to find a dessert to suit her, but when she asked for elements from several , this was 'not a problem' and arrived beautifully presented. The beer know is from local breweries [if you include Cornwall], a throwback to the days when it was owned by Starkey, Knight & Ford-a local brewery. A three course meal for two plus coffee, a pint of beer and a bottle of one of the best house roses you will find anywhere cost about £80, even this skinflint found it good value for money . Thank you.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Church House Inn, Marldon, Devon, TQ3 1SL also viewed

Paignton, English Riviera
Newton Abbot, Devon
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to The Church House Inn, Marldon, Devon, TQ3 1SL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Church House Inn, Marldon, Devon, TQ3 1SL, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.