We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect and cosy hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hillcroft

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Hillcroft to your Saves list
The Hillcroft
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   9 St Lukes Rd, Torquay TQ2 5NY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Suffolk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A perfect and cosy hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We had just stayed in an expensive large chain hotel in Bristol, small, dark impersonal rooms and soul-less decor. We decided to add a few days extra to our holiday by returning to The Hillcroft and we were not disappointed! What a contrast. We stayed in Amsterdam - recently refurbished with really good lighting (important to me) and a lovely spacious room, comfy bed with nice bedding, fluffy white towels and with lovely chairs and a coffee table to sit at for a relaxing cuppa from a good selection of teas and coffees etc. The whole place is spotlessly clean - hard to maintain with an older property. The hosts, Karen and Stuart are so friendly and welcoming and the breakfasts are great - all good quality and very well cooked. No one could ever rate this any other than 5*. We really enjoyed our stay and will return.

Room Tip: Good lighting in Amsterdam and spacious room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    9
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
63
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I couldnt work out whether to review the Hilcroft as a one off visit or tell the truth. Well heres the truth. I like to travel and have a weekend away at least every other month. Twice a year we go to Torquay and we got for three reasons and the first reason is The HIllcroft.

Where to start. The welcome. Karen and Stuart have the best welcome going after travelling. A smile, a cup of tea/coffee and a piece of cake. They are very professional and make sure that you have everything you need (within reason).

All the rooms have been individually been put together and again have some lovely touches in there. With me its the little things that count like proper bed linen, lots of tea and coffee making facilities, a bottle of water, and nice toiletries. The rooms are the cleaniest Ive known.

Then we come to the morning, all I can say is that Karen is the perfect host happy to give you advice on where to go and visit and keeping you filled up on coffee and Stuart makes a mean full English.

I always am very suspect of reviews on Tripadvisor as people are more intended to write about a bad experience than a good one. All I can say is that I can be a nightmare and there are lots of hotels I wouldnt go back to that my friends happily would but I have now stayed at the Hillcroft 18 times yes 18 times.

I cannot rate this place highly enough and look forward to many more stays in the future. I could write about this place and thats the truth.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Everything was totally groovy. We have no hesitation in recommending these super hosts and their very unique offer. If you like different this will be for you. The booked treatment massage that was arranged for me was awesome. Nothing was too much trouble. We loved it and will defo return when next in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had an excellent weekend at The Hillcroft; the building is full of character, the room was fantastic, all the comforts for a weekend getaway. Hospitality was fantastic, nothing is too much trouble, and the proprietors have excellent knowledge of the area (where to eat/drink). Already booked to go back for New Year, excellent getaway, thank you

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Everything to do with our stay was really positive. Stuart was incredibly friendly and hospitable and gave us good advice on how to spend our short stay in Torquay. The hotel is lovely and we were very impressed and pleased with our room. The breakfast was great too. I'm recommend The Hillcroft to anyone. Many thanks,Tim & Mary

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Badly executed design,very clever photography is misleading to the true picture,damp room ,poor quality bathrooms ,dangerous steps in floor levels,no filing in places ,smelly toilet,no pipe boxings.no hand basin in bathroom a real mismatch of style .bland decor and few Indian.wall hangings does not.create e retreat

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart M, Owner at The Hillcroft, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thank you for your positive ratings for our location, cleanliness and service, and our apologies that other aspects of your stay at The Hillcroft didn’t meet your expectations. We do ask all of our guests to find us if they need anything at all during their stay, and could easily have agreed a solution that you would have been happy with. You mentioned nothing to us about these issues so we are disappointed that we could not address them with you.

With regard to some of the comments that you made about the room, we would like to personally address these. All the furniture and wall hangings in the room are authentic Indian pieces. The photography has not been touched up in any way and all the pictures were taken this year without any additional lighting or the use of photo shop. We were aware that there was some general maintenance required which has since been done, but the room was warm, spacious and habitable and received a five star rating in the previous month from Rene K.

We can only apologise that you did not enjoy your stay and that we did not have the opportunity to rectify this for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

warm friendley reseption, fantastic room and bathroom all mod cons , very clean room ,and fantastic home cooked breakfast , close to the town center but not to close 5 min walk and your in the town maps given and addvise to local restaurants .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hillcroft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hillcroft

Address: 9 St Lukes Rd, Torquay TQ2 5NY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hillcroft 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Hillcroft reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillcroft Hotel Torquay
The Hillcroft Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hillcroft, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.