We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grosvenor Hotel Torquay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grosvenor Hotel Torquay to your Saves list
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed with hubby for 1 night in room 15 on 01/04/2013 to 02/04/2013. He is a big fan of the hotel on tv so made a surprise booking for him. Pleasantly surprised with room size with 3 big windows with the see view. Staff is nice and friendly. Also, very nicely surprised that breakfast was included in total price so very good value for money. Free parking! Great location, so close to the see for a walk and many restaurants.Overall really enjoyed stay there and bought a suvenir mug on the way out in reception with hotels name to remember our lovely experience. Definately would come back. Ana&Krystian.

Room Tip: Room 15 with 3 big windows with a see view. Spacious and very quiet, private. 1 kingsize and 1 singl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca S, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. Room 15 is a lovely room. As you have said fantastic views of the seafront. All the rooms at The Grosvenor are very spacious with great potential. We are currently decorating and renovating the hotel to bring it back to its natural beauty. We do have free parking at the hotel. We are in a great location, walking distance to the seafront and town centre. I am glad to see you had a good holiday and we hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    240
    88
    50
    48
See reviews for
125
317
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay over but just called in for some lunch and a few drinks after being massive fans of the channel 4 show. Very disappointed to find out that the main staff no longer worked there but the staff were very pleasant and the food and drink were fine. The hotel is quite tired but not in a irredeemable way. A bit of effort at not much cost around the place would make so much difference and could transform it, particularly given it's excellent location. Sleeping giant but bring back Mark!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca S, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. Unfortunately Mark no longer works for the hotel, but we do still have some stars of the show here. (Elaine, Karen, Tom). The staff here are very pleasant and work very hard to give great customer service. We are currently renovating, and decorating the hotel as it is in need of some TLC. If you are ever local again, please pop in for some lunch again and see the improvements that we are making within the hotel. Or look on our website for some amazing last minute deals. Again thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We have just returned from a four night stay at the grosvenor!! It is our 2nd easter break there. We have 4 children in our family party,ages from 2yrs up to 6yrs. We were made very welcome on arrival. Kids loved our two bedroom family room, room 16. Room spacious clean but very tired, smelt damp and dated decor . Bathroom appeared old and worn had a crack in the bath. But ideal size with young children. Reception and restaurant waiting staff were good. We had breakfast and evening meals. Food was very good and menu was flexible for the children. Only down fall some menu choices had price supplements added eg steak.

The year before Mark and Christian etc were there the nightly entertainment was buzzing with bingo and play you cards right (with Christian in drag!!). There is no doubt we missed Mark and the bingo!! This year didnt appear as busy,nightly entertainment still provided and kids loved egg hunt and arts & crafts on the sunday. We ended up in the hotel more this time due to the freezing cold weather!! Swimming pool and bar area are fine. Overall we had a good stay again, hotel in great location staff nice and welcoming we feel relaxed there with the children. .

I look forward to seeing the exciting future renovation plans for the Grosvenor, would definetly return ( we have got to as kids love the hotel!!). I just hope the half board package deals remain at the reasonable prices they are now. Thank you to the Grosvenor Team for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca S, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are currently renovating and decorating the hotel, so it would be great for you to bring your family back to see the improvements we are making. We aim to be a 3* rated hotel by the end of the year, but with reasonable prices. We will still be a fun, relaxed hotel just with beautiful rooms, lots of activities and a 4* service. Live entertainment is played in our main bar area each night with reasonable priced drinks. Again thank you for your kind review and I look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Booked here for my other halls birthday as we had both enjoyed watching the programme "the hotel". Everything was exactly as you would expect. Hotel was quite worn but it only added to the fun and the character. Staff were really pleasant and helpful. Had dinner in the inn and it was beautiful. Did feel sorry for the waiter who seemed to be serving the whole restaurant himself!! Despite this he was extremely pleasant and attentive and was surprisingly quick considering his work load!. Would definitely recommend. Fantastic location close to the sea front and a small walk to the main shops. Only thing I could fault would be the bed which was very uncomfortable and bumpy but I'm sure that will improve as the refurbishments continue.

Room Tip: We had room 14 which is sea facing with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My wife and I have just spent the 3 nights over Easter at the Hotel and found the whole experience fabulous. The staff are so helpful, special mention must go to Karen (Duty Manager) who is sensational and apart from a gigantic pay rise should be promoted to Head of the Richardson Group. (Probably won't happen)
We had room 14 which is tired but spotlessy clean. Unable to use the balcony as there is a falling masonry issue. Breakfast was very good, with live entertainment each evening and reasonable bar prices.
The hotel could not be in a better location, 10 minutes walk from the town centre.
I will definately be returning, hopefully when the weather is slightly warmer.
Congratulations to Mr Richardson and all of your staff

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minchinhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

When we arrived we were directed to room 19 that was awful. It stunk and was very worn and old fashioned, so rang reception and explained that there was an awful smell, she apologised and asked us to come back down to reception. She gave us a key to room 2 , which is there only refurbished room so far. It was amazing, it had took them 5 weeks to do. High cielings, luxurious curtains, huge bed, settee, sea view, well worth £100 of anybodys money. We have booked for xmas !!!! The night before , we stayed at Rookery Manor , near Weston Super Mare , where Katie Price got married the day after, and this room at The Grosevenor was far superior. Well done Mr Richardson, keep up the good work!!.
Entertainment every night, and a different act each evening. We saw 3 different acts and were all top class, worth a visit even if you dont stay there.
Breakfast was good, no complaints, even the sausage was edible, thanks mark for your premium sausage input!!! Staff great, dont expect The Ritz, but they are working on it. Mark and team have all gone, so just memories of a television programme !!! Thankyou team see you at christmas, dont forget my selection box haha XX

Room Tip: Room 2 is amazing , will cost a lot more though, but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

After watching the telly series and reading some of the reviews I wasn't expecting much. We stayed from the 30-31 of March. When we checked in we went into our room and it hadn't been cleaned from the visitors before, but went back to the reception and the lady was very quick to correct the problem and put us in what I thought was a nicer room. The hotel was a little tired looking but nothing horrible. The location of the hotel is brilliant only about a 10 mintue walk to the town centre and the breakfast wasn't bad either. Would love to visit again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grosvenor Hotel Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Hotel Torquay

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#18 Business Hotel in Torquay
#37 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grosvenor Hotel Torquay 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grosvenor Hotel, One of Torquays best located Hotels situated just 2 minutes from the sea front and the opposite award winning Torre Abbey Sands and adjoining Torre Abbey Gardens, Live entertainment & Dancing throughout week, Children welcome, play area installed. A seclection of dining options including the Garden Brasserie, lounge bar, Garden restaurant and Keith's Diner a 50's inspired outlet offering home cooked, homemade food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Grosvenor Hotel Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torquay Grosvenor Hotel
Torquay Hotel Grosvenor
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.