We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The lovely grovesnoir x” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grosvenor Hotel Torquay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grosvenor Hotel Torquay to your Saves list
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Keighley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The lovely grovesnoir x”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

To be honest the hotel is not that bad, its spotless. And that's the main thing for me. It does need a revamp, which will take Time, I did love the layout of the hotel , it would be nice to keep its oldie feeling, it gives it more character, I do understand that it does take time and money to bring it up to standard to suit everyone- but Rome wasn't built in a day, did have a few issues, but it was sorted out very fast, lovely staff, I travelled 350miles to vist the grovesnoir, would I go again YES X thumbs up for the grovesnoir, xxx:-P

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    209
    74
    45
    47
See reviews for
109
273
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
maidenhead
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed at The Grosvenor for two nights b and b break. Good location, friendly welcome , nice big warm room - super! Breakfast was very nice,freshly cooked to order and served with a smile.Seems to be entertainment in the bar every evening and what we saw was good. Torquay is a great town, even out of season, and the hotel is just a 5-10 minute walk along the sea front from the harbour. Staying near the hotel, there are a couple of nice pubs in the same road, and 'The Singing Kettle' tea room opposite the hotel is cosy and friendly with a lovely cup of tea. All in all a nice mini break and we look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: We had room 14 - nice and warm with opening window and radiator can be turned down at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Saw the TV show thought it would be cheap and cheerful. First arrived and was allocated Room 14 - as you will notice nearly every guest on the TV show is allocated room 14. Room was fine so we decide to stay an extra night however we could not have this room for both nights.
My girlfriend went to have her hair done in the hotel salon and from here it went rapidly downhill. The hairdresser (a decent guy who returned my phone I left in his salon) informed my girlfriend there was no hot water as the boilers were playing up.
The next room we are given is 'a family suite' - as soon as I opened the door to the suite I felt the coldness - not quite stepping into a fridge but a serious drop in temperature. By now its dark - cursory glance with bags placed in room - we are going out for a meal with friends - reception assure us they will put a heater in room for our return.
Needless to say we get back 11pm or so there is no heater in room - it is freezing. We sleep until about 4am wake up because of loud water dripping on flat roof and so cold can't get back to sleep. Nightporter sorts out some heaters.
At this point I start looking round - notice carpet ripped - shower and bath no hot water still - ivy growing in through the window - cigarette burns on bedroom floor carpet. Bathroom is like a fridge tiles missing off the sink.
In the reception staff - not a lot to say there....
Fortunately the manageress overheard our displeasure and relocated us for our second night to the Grand Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My husband booked this hotel for my birthday for one night at The Grosvenor Hotel. The hotel is a great location as it is only 5 mins walk to town centre. There was extra car park behind the hotel.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and was able to answer any queries we had.

We were staying in room 12 - family room for two people! Although it was very spacious and comfortable, there were several minor issues that could be looked as such as- the hand towel holder needs fixing as - it was held onto the wall with toilet roll so fell down every time we used it, the smell in the room was not pleasant, and the chairs and table near bunk beds needs replacing as dirty and old fashioned (which we did not use).The little annoying thing we noticed that could be changed was that the kettle and cups were on the table - but the tea bags/coffees etc were on the other side of the room on a random shelf! However, the bath-room and bedding etc was clean and comfortable.

We had dinner at the Grosvenor Inn in the evening, and was very impressed with the food. We ordered the Salmon and Steak and we could not fault it. the service and timing was great.

We had breakfast in the restaurant next morning, we had a quick and pleasant service. The only snag was that breakfast could have been bigger and the dining room was v. cold.

From watching the TV programme on The Grosvenor on channel 4, I am a huge fan, but I was disappointed that Mark was no longer working at The Hotel when we visited. I really wanted to go to one of Mark's entertainment nights!! Think it is a huge shame!

However, overall we were happy with our stay at The Grosvenor Hotel.

Thank you :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed 2 nights from Friday 22nd Feb,let me first say the staff were amazing, very friendly, really helpful We stayed in room 31 which was huge, with high ceilings, although the decor could do with updating, the room itself was very clean and very comfortable, our room also had a safe and fridge at no extra cost. The hotel is in a very good location close to all the amenities and town centre. Saturday night entertainment was a young lad who sang live, and who i really enjoyed, the bar was well stocked with a good selection of drinks. All in all we had a brilliant weekend and will be definitely returning in the near future!!! So a big thank you to the hardworking staff and management at the Grosvenor.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Booked cheap hotel on line only to find it was featured in TV programme so a little worried about what we would find. It was excellent value for money, helpful staff, good breakfast and a sea view. Not bad for £70 a room with two sharing. We even had a dip in the pool. As other reviewers state, the decor is a bit outdated but can understand how much a revamp would cost.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tain, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My wife booked a week in the hotel from the 17 of feb 2013 and was to come home on the 24 of feb with our daughter and her friend . But after five nights she came home had to get flights changed and had to pay extra to get flights changed due to the poor condition of the room number 28 andrun down condition of the hotel.They where told the hotel had wifi freeview tv but had neither. The toilet had a broken sink a dated shower that toke forever to get hot . The bed it was noisey the springs nackerd .The toilet seat was broken. The carpet had join in the middle with an inch gap down the centre . The ceiling was bowed in the middle as if it where going to fall in . All for the grand price of £500 when she left this morning the 21 of fed 2013 the receptionist told her to write it all down to get a refund even the locals said good luck when they ask where she was staying not happy.

Room Tip: Do, nt get 28
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grosvenor Hotel Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Hotel Torquay

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#37 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grosvenor Hotel Torquay 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grosvenor Hotel, One of Torquays best located Hotels situated on the level and only 2 minutes from the sea front and the opposite award winning Torre Abbey Sands and adjoining Torre Abbey Gardens, Live entertainment & Dancing 6 nights a week, Children welcome, play area installed. Brasserie , lounge bar, garden restaurant and separate diner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grosvenor Hotel Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torquay Grosvenor Hotel
Torquay Hotel Grosvenor
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.