We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Norwood Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Norwood Guest House to your Saves list
The Norwood Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   60 Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 154 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wiltshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We have just come back from a long weekend celebrating our 27th wedding anniversary we were made very welcomed by Mary and veronica.The rooms were very clean and comfortable and cleaned everyday, towels changed too.The breakfast was excellent,nothing was too much trouble with what ever you wanted and plenty of it too.
Location to town was not too far and as we came by train very near the train station.
We will return when we go to Torquay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    14
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
25
37
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Stonehouse, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

we have just got back from a weekend break here and couldn't fault a thing. the welcome was brill, so helpful, nothing too much trouble. the rooms were great, light & airy and the breakfast was fabulous !!! so much choice couldn't fault anything. location was just right, just out of town but not too far, looking forward to going again in the future
excellent value for money

Room Tip: the superior double gives a little extra room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We stayed at this hotel with a couple of friends. We were warmly welcomed when we arrived. The rooms were very adequate and the beds comfortable. Our shower room was fairly small but was did the job. Mary and Veronica were so helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
Breakfast was excellent and very plentiful. In fact even as we we trying to leave they were offering more toast and coffee. Ian cooked a lovely English breakfast.
If we are in Torquay again we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

My Partner and I stayed at this Bed and Breakfast last weekend. On arrival we were welcomed by Mary, Veronica and Ian. We were shown to our room which was lovely and very peaceful. The bed was very comfortable and made for us everyday. There was a wide range of Breakfast to choice from, from Fruit to a fully cooked breakfast, which was fantastic.
The hotel is situated about 5 mins walk from the sea front.
The only thing i would say which i would not consider a negative is that there was not allot of parking, only 3 spaces. We did notice that not to far away from the Bed and Breakfast there was a reasonably priced public car park.
We will defiantly stay there again if travelling to Torquay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Sorry for the late review, but my computer has been down. We would just like to say, what a wonderful place this is to stay, nothing was too much trouble, parking should be reserved when booking, but tou can also use a large carpark at a nearby hotel, which is ideal. Breakfast where great and plentiful, thanks for a lovely stay, and for making us feel welcome.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

The Norwood's greatest asset is the warmth of welcome and service provided by the proprietors. They could not have been more helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are perfectly adequate and the breakfast offering was much better than usually found at a hotel of this size. The only aspect to bear in mind is that Belgrave Road can be quite noisy, particularly on a Friday or Saturday night but this really didn't detract from the overall experience.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the back of the hotel to minimise noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

The Norwood Guest House is a delightful place to stay, the hospitality and comfort given to guests is wonderful! This was our first visit to Torquay, and it has been made memorable by the kindness, support and advice of the staff at Norwood to make us feel just at home. We will definitely be making more trips there and certainly staying at Norwood! Thank you Tom, Veronica and Mary for making our holiday a pleasure!

Room Tip: We were on the top floor so a lot of stairs but definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Norwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norwood Guest House

Address: 60 Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Norwood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Norwood is a family run 4 Star rated guest house located in the popular Belgravia area of Torquay Devon close to the town centre, seafront, Torre Abbey, Princess Theatre, Torquay Marina and all local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Norwood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Norwood Guest House Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Norwood Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.