We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfectly Lovely Stay !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Southbourne Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Southbourne Villa to your Saves list
The Southbourne Villa
9 Cleveland Road, Torquay TQ2 5BD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
NorthWest England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Perfectly Lovely Stay !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

David & Edna couldn't have done more for us, very friendly and helpful. From our room, to the breakfast area to the exterior of the building, it couldn't have been cleaner. The room and bathroom was modern with everything we could have needed. Breakfast was lovely with a vast array of everything from jams, to yoghurt, to cereal and of course the full English!

It's in a fab location, we didn't touch the car for the whole 3 nights we was there, as everything was in walking distance, the little shops you could buy drinks from, the beach, the lovely pier to walk along and of course the shops and eating areas.

If your heading to Torquay I couldn't recommend this place any more, were already planning a return visit next year; and we'd go back more often if it wasn't for the 260 mile car journey.

Room Tip: I forgot the Number, but it was at the top of the stairs, with the window overlooking the hot tub an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
122
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

I was here on business and to be greeted and offered tea and biscuits on my arrival was a very welcome gesture. The room was very clean and spacious with gorgeous toiletries!:)
Fresh milk in the mini fridge was a great relief as I hate UHT!
The breakfast was delicious and a fantastic selection of fruit and cereal!
Will definitely be staying here again if its not fully booked!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donaghadee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Just had a fabulous weekend in the Southbourne. Everything about the place is perfect - from location to service you could not fault it. Its décor and cleanliness is 5* and the detail that goes into every aspect of the hotel is spot on!
Would definitely return!!

Room Tip: Rooms 2 & 3 are at the front of the property looking out on the terrace with its hot tub!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I had a three night stay at this guest house ...excellent service and very clean ...lovely touches..lovely comfy bed..very tasty breakfast with plenty of choice....well situated...nothing to much trouble....suffice to say I have rebooked !! :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
candy19
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stay 2 nights here and would highly recommend this b&b. The hosts were very nice and very helpful. The rooms were spotless and the bed was the best I have slept in. The breakfast was delicious and the hot tube was a lovely touch to relax in after a busy day. would defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We had a four night stay at this guest house and would highly recommend it. Immaculately kept and very clean. Rooms modern with exceptional comfy beds. David and Edna do a great job. Do try if you want to stay in Torquay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

A lovely hotel at a fantastically low price. We went over the Bank Holiday weekend and booked last minute. Initially we went not expecting a great hotel but we were pleasantly surprised and really changed our minds. The hosts are lovely, the breakfast is delicious and the beds are so comfortable. Plus the hot tub is a great addition, it really makes the hotel stand out! If you want a B&B, do not look any further than this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Southbourne Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Southbourne Villa

Address: 9 Cleveland Road, Torquay TQ2 5BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southbourne Villa, hot tub and garden decking area with sunbeds and bistro tables and chairs. A south-facing sun trap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Southbourne Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Southbourne Villa Hotel Torquay
The Southbourne Villa Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Southbourne Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.