We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Edgcombe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mount Edgcombe to your Saves list
Mount Edgcombe
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   23 Avenue Rd, Torquay TQ2 5LB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 154 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Southampton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed as a couple at Mount Edgcombe for the May bank holiday weekend, Claire and Dave were great hosts, open to questions and interesting to chat to in the bar of an evening, the whole place was spotless with the shinyest mirrors I've ever seen and the breakfast was fresh and filling. If I had to give any constructive criticism it would be that the water pressure in RM 8 needs some attention but after chatting with Dave and Claire we know they are planning to work through the rooms to bring all of them up to their high standards so we have no doubt this minor criticism will be dealt with shortly. We had a lovely stay and wish u well in your new venture, we would certainly be booking again if we come to Torquay.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    22
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
136
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

hosts were fabulous and very attentive. we were pleased with the room and the whole place. clean and hygienic. always asked us if we needed anything and would do anything for us. such a great couple and buisness

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed for two nights and had a brilliant time. Great food, great accommodation and great hosts, making us feel welcome and comfortable. Mount Edgcombe is a great base to get out and about to see the local area. Thank you to Claire and Dave, we will be back for the excellent poached eggs soon!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Dave & Claire are great hosts, bedroom spotless, Breakfast was fantastic,never been to a B&B where we were served hot!!! Breakfast everyday. Even though they have only been there a few months you'd never know it, it's like they've been in the business for years. Thank you for making our stay great, we will be back, Stephanie & John

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaton Carew, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent Guest house, well run very friendly. Very good home cooked evening meals and good cooked breakfast.
Room was clean and well presented with attention to detail.
I was made to feel very welcome by Dave and Claire.
Thank you for an excellent stay

Shaun

Room Tip: room 10 nice size room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The owners of the hotel are very welcoming, offering tea and coffee on arrival. Room 5 is very well presented with fresh, clean bedding and a lovely arrangement of decorative cushions. TV and DVD player in room with selection of DVD provided. Free wifi in room. Modern bathroom with excellent whirlpool bath! Food is fantastic! Especially recommend BBQ chicken. Made to feel extremely welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Lovely stay and will visit again.

Room Tip: Room 5 whirlpool bath and a large suite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

From the minute we walked in to the warmest of welcomes to the minute we left,we were treated as friends which made our few days stay very special.Our room was immaculate , bed extremely comfortable, the breakfasts great ,freshly cooked and hot,with a variety of choice if full english was not what you wanted. We opted for evening meals as well and were very pleased we did,every thing was just as we like it. Dave and Claire were so helpful, nothing was too much trouble, and in a way we were sorry to leave.But we hope to be back very soon,and I'm sure this venture will be a great success.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Edgcombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Edgcombe

Address: 23 Avenue Rd, Torquay TQ2 5LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Edgcombe 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Edgcombe, an attractive detached Victorian Villa built in 1880. Situated in a conservation area on a tree lined road, within easy walking distance of the sea front, town and conference centre, local attractions as well as the train and coach station (free courtesy transport available to and from the stations). All rooms are en suite on the ground or first floor, having TV / DVD players and a mini fridge. The Guest House has a large car park, a residents lounge, licensed bar and free Wi-Fi throughout and totally NON SMOKING. The light and airy dining room is located on the ground floor serving breakfast and an optional fabulous 4 course dinner menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mount Edgcombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Edgcombe Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Edgcombe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.