We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Edgcombe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mount Edgcombe to your Saves list
Mount Edgcombe
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   23 Avenue Rd, Torquay TQ2 5LB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Derby, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Excellent from start to finish, Pam & Dave made us feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble them. The room was spotless and everything we needed was there.
Breakfast was excellent with a wide variety. Location was good .
I am sure when we return to Torquay we will look no further than Mount Edgcombe.

Room Tip: We had the Edgecombe Suite with double bath & double walk in shower, well worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    21
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
129
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We have written two previous detailed and glowing reviews following our other stays at Mount Edgcombe with Pam and Dave. We will not even consider other accommodation in Torquay. This time we had parents come with us, they also loved this gem of a place. In fact, we love it so much that we have booked all of the rooms for guests coming to our wedding in Torquay next year! If you are thinking about booking, please do so, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We recently stayed at Mount Edgcombe. What an excellent homley welcome we had. Pam and David were wonderful hosts and the room was so clean and comfortable. The choice of breakfast menu suited all our needs and nothing was too much trouble. The location of this lovely Guest House was only a 10 minute walk from the sea front. It was great to be able to leave the car and enjoy the walk which I may say was all on the flat. Lynda and I can highly recommend this accommodation. For sure we will be returning in the future.

Room Tip: Give The guest house a call direct - You won't be dissapointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Looe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The whole place was spotless, the room were beautiful and plenty big enough, plenty of good quality food and choice at breakfast, we had a perfect couple of nights, nothing was too much for the hosts, we will be returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

A very clean room , very comfortable bed , and very welcoming hosts . With a good quality breakfast , what more do you want ! High quality B & B with the option of evening meal . Otherwise the nearest restaurant is 300 yards away and Sea front is a 10 minute walk . - Best Nights sleep we've had for a long time . The dining area maybe a little too cosy for some.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Spent three fantastic nights over the May Day bank holiday at Mount Edgcombe with the wonderful hosts, Pam and Dave. From the friendly welcome from Pam to the chats with David whilst serving our excellent breakfasts, nothing could be too much trouble. Easy to find with a short and pleasant walk into Torquay centre, the accommodation was faultless!!
We will definitely be returning and highly recommend Mount Edgcombe to all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

PERFECTION........this establishment is highly recommended, everything about it was just perfect.
Pam and David are superb hosts and nothing is too much trouble!
The location is perfect and everything is situated within walking distance.
They offer a vast selection for breakfast and I have to say Pam makes the best poached eggs I have ever had!!
Evening meals are also available, along with packed lunches for the day!
The room was lovely, nice and big, fantastic shower!! (room 2).
Lots of little touches here and there that just made our stay perfect....Thank You!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Edgcombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Edgcombe

Address: 23 Avenue Rd, Torquay TQ2 5LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Edgcombe 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Edgcombe, originally a smart Victorian 'gentleman's residence', now provides quality, licensed, accommodation and high standards of food and service. Once again, in 2011, we have been awarded 4* Guest Accommodation status, with the added accolade of a Silver rating by Visit England. We are situated in an excellent location - on a pleasant, tree lined avenue within easy walking distance of the seafront, the town centre, bus / rail connections and most major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mount Edgcombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Edgcombe Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Edgcombe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.