We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lavani

Lavani
35 Ilsham Road, | Wellswood Village,Near Kent's Cavern,TQ1 2JG., Torquay TQ1 2JG, England
+44 1803 203040
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 264 Restaurants in Torquay
Price range: $8 - $39
Cuisines: Indian, Seafood, Vegetarian, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Experience the uncomprehendingly mysterious power of culinary India at Lavani.With two prestigious awards in its first year of trading (AAA Award Of Excellence & Taste of the West-Gold Award), Lavani is a speciality Indian restaurant with an accent of regional Indian and Anglo-Indian cuisine for the global palate.Light,modern and sophisticated dishes that pay homage to the power of culinary India,defines Lavani. Situated only a short walk away from Kents Cavern, English Riviera's most beautiful coves (Meadfoot and Ansteys) and the famous South West Coastal Path we pride ourselves on the quality of service and quality of our ingredients.• Mild, subtle and delicate Flavours of India• Cookery Demo and Dinner Evenings• Imaginative Indian cocktail and Indian wines• 20% Discount Senior citizens card• 15% Discount Hospitality Card• Complimentary Birthday Package• Winter Warmer Menu• Live Music Evenings•LAVANI DIY Spice Packs & Marinades. Party Menu. We are delightful in many ways. While for some it is one of the finest speciality Indian restaurants, to others it is an amazing English Riviera retreat. And there are those that love it for its rose water and saffron marinated walls studded with themed art, red chilli flavoured chairs, buttermilk swish linen and its friendly family feel. Imaginative cuisine, undeniably happening ambience, the flavours, the aroma, the live cooking sounds and the artistic display, presented with the Lavani signature of hospitality. All come together in perfect harmony in an exciting new avatar! Our Cuisine: Careful blending of genuine Indian cooking traditions with high quality, high-end British high in protein, low in fat ingredients not often found in Indian cuisine such as scallops,wild boar,goat,lobster,mutton,wood pigeon,venison,caviar,quail, calf's liver,ostrich and more creates unique and distinct dishes.We take away the heaviness usually akin to Indian dishes and we're focusing on minimising the usage of oil and fat.The extremely comprehensive menu of dishes demonstrates how ancient wisdom and regional traditional cooking styles have been blended with British traditions evolving to become what we get on our plates today.Dig in! Be thrilled! Let the spirit of Lavani enliven you!
Pafos
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Highly recommend this restaurant for something different. Very friendly and helpful service. The Pakora is out of this world!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    34
    24
    8
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Friendly and informed welcome to this creative restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is a one off! Indian cooking merges with of-the-moment awareness of quality local produce. Simply delicious and so unexpected. The photos on the walls and conversation with Mary and Collin convinced us that we must visit Kerala. And revisit this restaurant too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Different from your normal curry house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We have visited Lavani several times now and are always made welcome.
The menu is not like your normal curry house selection and as such a surprise initially but stay with it as the food is wonderful and plentiful. You get nan bread and rice with each meal so there is no need to order extra.
On a recent visit I had squid curry which was amazing and the owner goes out of his way to explain where the food is sourced from and how it has been prepared - you don't get that in other curry houses.
This is by far our favourite restaurant in Torquay and I would recommend it to all.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendliest, Tastiest and Most Creative Restaurant in the Bay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I have visited Lavani several times now, and I am sure I will keep going back for more. My fiance and I being British Asians, know a thing or two about Indian cooking, but Mary's creative recipes and clever blend of complementary flavours, aromas, and textures never fails to interest and satisfy me, like no other Indian restaurant I have visited before.
A lot has already been said about the unique, daring and delicious success of how Lavani uses local ingredients to create a rich, authentic, yet refreshingly new Indian menu. Having tried a lot of the dishes now, I can honestly say all the dishes will leave you full and your taste-buds sated. But perhaps not enough has been said about the warm, friendly attitude of the staff who will always do their best to make sure your visit feel like a truly special culinary treat. Their passion for what they do is obvious from how they talk with you, how they serve you and most importantly how their food looks, smells and tastes. They are also always experimenting and letting their customers sample some tasters as they wait for their courses. These small touches make Lavani a cut above the rest.
Also, the atmosphere buzzes with satisfaction and a lightheartedness; Lavani is a happy restaurant, and although it isn't informal in any way, you could not describe it as stiff collar formal at all. You would certainly feel like you had your money's worth if you spent a special occasion here. (Which I have, numerous times.)
I recommend any Indian restaurant that serves authentic Indian sweets, and an Indian restaurant such as Lavani that serves sweets that use the traditional recipes as a starting point to discover new ways of imagining those same ingredients, is really quite remarkable. Besides recommending the desserts, I would also recommend its seafood dishes, and certainly its Purple Lamb. Or its Kairaikuddi Chicken. Make sure to ask what the specials are that day too.
Overall, I couldn't rate the restaurant higher and consider it the friendliest, tastiest and most creative restaurant in the bay. You haven't eaten South Asian food at its finest in Devon, until you have visited Lavani.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious and different!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Was expecting another typical Indian meal but to my surprise I was ordering a venison, but cooked with traditional Indian methods! My family and I loved it, mum especially loved her seabass and my boyfriend enjoyed his lamb shank! Service and ambience was second to none. Returning again tonight for father in laws 60th!!! :-)

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lavani also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Lavani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lavani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.