We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taj India - CLOSED

Taj India
47 Abbey Road, Torquay TQ2 5NQ, England
01803213011
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $11 - $19
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, Nepali, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: After the successful trading of Himal Tandoori Nepalese & Indian Restaurant in Paignton; we're opening the doors for new customers in Torquay.
Devon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A nice surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We dropped in to this restaurant after a visit to the cinema on a wet Wednesday. We were very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food. Both our dishes were delicious and certainly seemed to be authentic and freshly prepared. The food was not cheap, but we felt the great quality and friendly service, meant the price was not excessive. We will certainly visit again. We are looking forward to their banquet nights with our friends.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Animesh S, Manager at Taj India, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you so much for leaving a positive feedback. Firstly I'd like to thank you for giving us a chance to serve you with a quality food and secondly I'd like to apologise about the prices. We here at Taj India use the finest quality and fresh ingredients everyday from our local framers/producers like Total Produce Devon or Torbay Grocery Service for our restaurant therefore giving you the quality taste in your taste buds. Since they are not cheap and we'd like to give you the authentic taste and to cover our cost hence the prices. Unlike other restaurant who buys their product in bulk or jar sauces, we don't. We make our own sauces in the restaurant every morning giving you the taste which curries should have tasted like.
Regarding the banquet night, it's every Tuesday and Thursday night. I promise you'll get the same amount of portions and same quality meal you had before. Also not forgetting we have Nepalese Curry night every Sunday which you might want to try too.
We look forward to see you and your friends soon.

Animesh Swar
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    18
    8
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Torquay
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
281 helpful votes 281 helpful votes
“Best of the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I have eaten in most of the Indian Restaurants in Torquay either dining in or take a way.The Taj India without doubt is the best one I have ever tried.The food, service,decor were first class and the portions were huge.
I can definately say I will be returning to the Taj either to eat in or order a take a way. I would strongly recommend this restaurant to anyone who is a lover of Nepalese or Indian food.
Congratulations to the chef and all the staff for a wonderful meal.

John & Sue in Torquay
Visited Sat 20th Oct

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Animesh S, Manager at Taj India, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you very much for taking out your valuable time to write a review about us. We here at Taj India really appreciate the feedback and we take it seriously to improve our service constantly.
We normally give out large portions so that when you finish your meal in the restaurant and when you return home you don't get hungry and we want to make sure full until the next morning. We guarantee that the takeaway or the dine in quality will always remain the same because we believe in consistency.
Once again i'd like to thank your for leaving the feedback and i'll be sharing them with the staff so that they know how wonderful job they are doing.

Animesh Swar
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A little expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The service was fantastic and they were really helpful in describing the menu to us.The food was fairly average and a little expensive for what tasted like sauce from a jar...also, the soft drinks that we paid £1.50 for came from a can that said 49p...and we didnt even get the whole can.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Animesh S, Manager at Taj India, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you for taking out your valuable time to leave a feedback. The reason we charge £1.50 for the drinks is to cover our transportation and delivery cost as well as the cleaning. As far as I know we normally leave the can with the customer and I'm sorry if we mistakenly took the can away or didn't leave the can with you. Keeping this into account I'll be changing the priced can drinks to .75p until the stock lasts and will get the unpriced cans from now on and we will review the cost and see if we could drop it down to £1 or £1.25. As I am aware all the restaurants in this area charges the same for the drinks.

Regarding the quality issues, all our curries are made freshly and fresh ingredients are used every day. I'm not too sure what you ordered and why it tasted like that but I'll be checking the quality of the meals from now to make sure it doesn't taste like the one from the jar.

Hope you return to the restaurant someday and see the changes taken place.

Animesh Swar
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We went Taj India because we did not fancy cooking at home. As an Indian family we rarely go to Indian restaurants because my wife cooks up a lovely Indian fayre. However we thought we would try this new Indian restaurant and were really surprised at the quality of food served. It was very yummy to say the least and will certainley go again when we dont feel like cooking. The staff are genuinely sincere and friendly. Service with a smile.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Animesh S, Manager at Taj India, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you so much for your time and effort to leave the feedback. All your feedback is taken seriously and i cant tell how i happy i am with the feedback left. i will share the feedback with the entire Taj India team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“yet to be found”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We dined on a quiet Wednesday evening and found the food to be excellent and the service sincere and friendly. It came as a nice suprise that the last Indian restaurant I have visited was their sister restaurant in Paignton, also excellent, but much smaller.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Animesh S, Manager at Taj India, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Dear Mark,
Thank you for your time and effort to leave a feedback on here. I'm glad that you enjoyed the food and the service you got from our staff and i couldn't be more happier to know that the last restaurant you been to was our sister restaurant. I'll consider you as our regular customer and thank you for supporting us all the way.
I'll pass the comment to our entire Taj India team and tell them of how happy and delighted you were.

Animesh Swar
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taj India also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.