We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monday night open mic night!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Devon Arms

The Devon Arms
8-10 Park Lane, Torquay TQ1 2AU, England
+44 1803 292360
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 255 Restaurants in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Aberdeen
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Monday night open mic night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Had a recent 3 night stay in Torquay and went for meal here early on the Monday evening. The food, steak and kidney pie and chicken pie, was basic (not home made) but was well presented. The reception from the landlord was excellent and he recommended coming back later in the evening for the open mic night. We returned later and were treated to a wonderful evenings entertainment, with some fantastic music and a brilliant atmoshpere. If only we had a place like this at home, what a great pub!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    32
    5
    0
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Torquay night life”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

A must visit Pub, recommend the Thursday Jazz night. Great Atmosphere and welcoming by the owners.

.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A true "local" away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Visited the Devon Arms 3 nights on our 3 night stay in Torquay.You just can't help be drawn in by the friendly family run local.Karen ( mum) daughter Nikki and son-in-law Spence welcome you as if they have known you for years The entertainment caters for all tastes from jazz to disco.Unfortunatly,we didn't get to eat there as we were too late and they actually phoned and checked out availability in other local restaurants for us.The food we did see people have looked amazing and plentiful.
For a truly genuine family run pub you will not find better in Torquay

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ignore the rest...try the Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We were advised to try this place by another publican(who didn't serve food).The food is certainly as good or better than any Pub Grub we've had in the past.Try the home-made lasagne.It is so good,I chose it again the following night.If we visit Torquay again in the future,this is where we will eat.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Warm Welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We walked in here after leaving a close by establishment due to in different service and hard staring locals. What a difference we were welcomed with smiles and treated like regulars. The dog was served water and biscuits before our pints had settled, and the bowl refilled without request. They do not take cards,but were happy to wait whilst a quick dash was made to the ATM.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Devon Arms also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to The Devon Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Devon Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.