We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More sunbathing than swimming, too shingly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Meadfoot Beach

Meadfoot Beach
Meadfoot Road, Torquay, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 31 Attractions in Torquay
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Small stretch of shingle beach overlooking Torbay. Great for rock pooling. Good public toilets (open in Summer). Great friendly cafe. Access to cliff top walks. Back drop of the Osborne , a crescent georgian hotel. Parking available for beach on road and in small carpark.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“More sunbathing than swimming, too shingly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The beach is more shingle than sand but there are beach huts and a Café, which took time to get served, waiting for a gap in the conversation with a local. We thought it was expensive for soft drinks so I recommend you take some with you instead; I guess the Cafe can get away with those prices, having a captured market. There are lots of tables outside, so you can get the sea views, however, the public toilets are right next to the café, so not great if you're eating. We didn't venture down the rickety stairs with the bendy handrail down to the beach. After the super expensive coke at the Cafe, we moved on. Not a romantic venue, probably great for kids to look at the rockpools, but no sandcastles. Wouldn't rush back here. Newquay better.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    63
    29
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
south-east
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Peacehaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This beach was delightful. We visited late afternoon/early evening whilst the tide was turning. The views were stunning and the beach/rocks were safe. Great for fishing, swimming and canoeing. Highly recommended.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We loved the cafe on the terrace where you can see the beach and sea below you. The water is shallow and perfect for swimming.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“A beautiful beach, away from the main drag”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We came here because our hotel was on the cliffs just a few yards away. This part-sand-part-pebbly beach has very attractive surroundings, and is away from the town centre but well used by local residents and those staying in nearby hotels. Facilities include a beachside café, nice clean public toilets, beach huts and even a shower. The water is lovely and clear, and good for swimming, although watch out for submerged rocks at low tide. The beach itself is spotlessly clean.

It's never going to win the prize for greatest beach in the world, but if this was at the end of my road I would be down here all the time!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Kids love exploring the rockpools.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

It's really nice to be able to park, free and unlimited, at the roadside, either directly opposite the beach or alongside the park at the East end of the beach. There is also a small pay & display with a resident ice-cream van.
The East end of the beach is rocky & our Grandchildren (4 & 7) love exploring the small pools here when the tide is out. At the West end there is a sand / shingle beach below the beach huts and a lovely café with superb views across the beach and to Thatcher's Point beyond. Public toilets are right next to the café.
Not a sandcastle making beach and probably more suitable for sunbathing.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meadfoot Beach also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Meadfoot Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meadfoot Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.