We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an absolute gem of a find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Charterhouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Charterhouse to your Saves list
The Charterhouse
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Cockington Lane, Torquay TQ2 6QT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“an absolute gem of a find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

marion & les made us feel like we'd known them for years. They were so friendly and welcoming. The hotel is situated on a quiet secluded lane only 2 mins away from the sea front.The rooms were excellent and decorated to a high standard paying great attention to detail and comfort.The breakfast was plentiful in both choice and volume and always served with a smile and friendly word. Having not stayed in Torquay before we ventured out in the evening to the town centre which was a very pleasant 20 min stroll away along the sea front to the harbour. Will definately visit again next year for a longer stay as was so impressed with marion,les,and their gorgeous hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    30
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
143
321
15
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

My husband and I stayed four nights at the Charterhouse in July. It was the first B&B of many on our UK tour. Over the years we have learnt to book accommodation only recommended by tripadvisor, so the quality of all our B&Bs during our 6 week holiday was excellent. However The Charterhouse in Torquay was the best B&B stay of the tour.

Why? In one word - Marion. Marion's friendliness and local knowledge turned staying in an accommodation into staying into a home away from home. Marion always ensured we were happy and comfortable, always helped with our enquiries, and every recommendation she made for restaurants etc was spot on.

Breakfast at The Charterhouse was a joy and a great way to start each day. The dinning room atmosphere was relaxed and Marion had everyone chatting and having fun. We find hotel or B&B accommodation can be stuffy at meal times - but not at the Charterhouse.

Our room was comfortable and we slept very well. We didn't use the pool area, but the grounds around the B&B were nice to walk around.

It is a15 minute walk into Torquay centre from The Charterhouse. We love to walk so enjoyed the scenary (and opportunity to work off dinner) most nights.

Unfortunately the time came for us to move on in our itinerary, and seeing us off was Marion with a heart felt good-bye.

I have already recommended The Charterhouse to friends travelling to the UK next year. When we return, we will definitely stay again.

Thank you Marion, our stay was exceptional.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

We stumbled on this B&B when looking for an over night stay last minute and took the last available room for one night. We were delighted by the warm reception we received and by our room which was spotlessly clean and had lots of special touches e.g.bar of chocolate and lovely biscuits on the tea tray. We were very impressed by their attention to detail. The breakfast was brilliant, full English, cereals, fruit, yogurt, different breads and jams and a delicious home made marmalade. We were attending Lemonfest music festival in Newton Abbot and had some spare time so we visited the village of Cockington just down the lane from the hotel and recommend by Marion. It is a beautiful little village with thatched cottages. a Hall, tea rooms and a forge, very pretty and hard to believe it is so near to a more modern area. In the other direction are local beaches and amenities and Paington and Torquay which seem to all merge along the seafront. We have stayed in lots of different hotels and this really does meet top standards of cleanliness, tasty food and good personal service. Thank you to Marion and Les.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

Very friendly welcome,room we booked was the superior room and it met all are expectations.
The breakfast that was served up every morning was second to none,it was that good we didn't need to bother with any thing in the afternoon,In fact we struggled to eat a main meal in the evening.I would also like to point out that the room was kept spotlessly clean throughout our stay .(Highly recomended.)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

We booked this as a result of seeing the good reviews on TripAdvisor and we were not disappointed. The hotel is very comfortable and Marion is a warm, hospitable hostess who immediately makes guests feel at home. Breakfasts were generous and plentiful (Les's home-made marmalade is fabulous!) and we were given plenty of tips on places to see and good local restaurants, which Marion booked for us once we had made our selection. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

Very nice hotel, comfortable room, nothing was too much trouble. The breakfasts were very good. We enjoyed our stay and would go to this hotel again. The owner, Marion, was very helpful and friendly. About 30 minutes from the town centre, which wasn't a problem for us but may be too far for some. Very convenient for the train station.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010 via mobile

We stayed here as a family while I was doing a 10k swim in the river Dart. It was a last minute booking as our B&B had fallen through. The owners Les and Marion were incredibly helpful and attentive in all the right ways. We'd come back like a shot.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Charterhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charterhouse

Address: Cockington Lane, Torquay TQ2 6QT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Charterhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run B&B with a warm welcome and delicious breakfasts. Just a short stroll from Country Park, Thatched Village and Beach. Available for short breaks or longer stays. Please ring for further information or visit our website. Within walking distance of Torquay. Large car park, beautiful gardens and in quiet location. Free wifi throughout and small heated outdoor swimming pool open in the summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Charterhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charterhouse Hotel Torquay
The Charterhouse Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Charterhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.