We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time in Torquay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Charterhouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Charterhouse to your Saves list
The Charterhouse
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Cockington Lane, Torquay TQ2 6QT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Saltaire
1 review
“Great time in Torquay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Excellent experience. Marion was the perfect hostess. The room was luxurious with a great bathroom. Really appreciated the provided Badedas! Wifi was also very good. Watched a live Sky football stream with no problems.

Good food, homemade whiskey marmalade - Yum.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    30
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
143
321
15
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liskeard, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed 2 nights the beginning of April. Lovely warm welcome from the host, Marion. She made us feel very welcome. We were able to book in early which was great. Room was lovely, clean and had a nice size en- suite. The Charterhouse is beautifully situated in a lovely country lane but only 3 minutes walk from the sea front. There is a lovely walk to Cockington Village from the B & B which we found really enjoyable. The breakfast was good and plentiful. We would certainly recommend The Charterhouse to family and friends.
Gary & Janet

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in March, 2013 on recommendations from Tripadvisor feedback. Would rate this very highly with lots of good points. The list is long, but firstly we were made to feel "at home" by our hosts Marion and Les. They could not have done more to make our stay any more enjoyable. The room was clean and comfortable as was the en-suite facilities. The food at breakfast was sensational with fresh fruit and local produce, We will recommend to all our family and friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Just returned from a short 3 day break at The Charterhouse and can't recommend it enough. The enthusiastic and friendly welcome from Marion, the spotless and well appointed rooms and the excellent breakfasts with home-made breads, marmalades and chutneys together with local produce was delicious, all helping to make our stay thoroughly enjoyable. Look forward to returning for a further break.
The location is very convenient for the centre of Torquay within flat easy walking distance but situated in a quiet area outside the bustle of the town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burntwood, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed at the Charterhouse for 3 days after Easter and despite the very cold weather outside received a very warm welcome from Marion and Les. The room was clean and warm and the bed was similar to our own at home - Very Comfortable! The house is in an excellent quiet location but very close to the sea front, Torquay and Cockington Village with a 10 minute walk to the excellent Drum pub. Breakfast was excellent with all you could possibly require available.
Loved it - will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed at the Charterhouse for 4 days over the Easter weekend and were not disappointed. The weather was SO cold, but the welcome was warm, and so was the accommodation. We stayed in the beautifully appointed Riveria room with its sea views, super-king sized  bed, big ensuite bathroom and fluffy bathrobes. Breakfasts were lovely, with a variety of freshly baked breads, and homemade preserves, plus well cooked locally sourced full English. Tables were decorated with fresh flowers and home crafted  gifts of chocolate eggs on Easter morning. Our energetic and efficient hosts, Marion and Les, were friendly and kind, and we were looked after with careful attention to detail, touches of luxury, and infectious enthusiasm.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I was travelling on business with my wife and arrived fairly late. The welcome was friendly and the room was good. It's about a 20 minute walk to the centre of Torquay. The walk is almost flat and quite easy. Breakfast was good and included home-made bread and preserves.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Charterhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charterhouse

Address: Cockington Lane, Torquay TQ2 6QT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Charterhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run B&B with a warm welcome and delicious breakfasts. Just a short stroll from Country Park, Thatched Village and Beach. Available for short breaks or longer stays. Please ring for further information or visit our website. Within walking distance of Torquay. Large car park, beautiful gardens and in quiet location. Free wifi throughout and small heated outdoor swimming pool open in the summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Charterhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charterhouse Hotel Torquay
The Charterhouse Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Charterhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.