We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In one word Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Charterhouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Charterhouse to your Saves list
The Charterhouse
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Cockington Lane, Torquay TQ2 6QT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
South Wales
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“In one word Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My partner and I stayed at The Charter House Hotel and we really loved it. It is located close to a beautiful bay, and close to Cockingington a lovely thatched village, and is only a short walk or drive into the centre of Torquay harbour.
It was a fantastic experience from arrival to departure. The hotel itself is tastefully decorated in a modern but grand style and was very welcoming after our drive. We were offered hot drinks before checking in, just to find our feet and stretch our legs after the drive. Our room was really spacious (Superior double) Sea View and bright with a large bathroom with BATH and a shower.
Everything was superbly clean and tidy, with a great range of drawers and cupboards and sockets for all of our kit. Marion and Les were really friendly and helpful.
The breakfast..... well, I had read the reviews before we came to stay and I can honestly say it's all true. Every taste was catered for, from continental style breakfast, simple fruit and yoghurt and a range of breads special home made by Les. The cooked breakfasts were just superb, and the whole service was run like clockwork. All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel to anybody wishing to stay in the Torquay area.
We can’t thank Marion and Les enough for a wonderful stay.
This hotel deserves more than 3 stars.

Room Tip: Room 14 Sea view with extra large bed shower and BATH.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    30
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
143
321
15
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My Husband, young daughter and I stayed at the Charterhouse last month. We had previously visited a couple of years ago. It was lovely to receive such a warm welcome when we returned in March. Marion and Les made us tea and biscuits on arrival - perfect after a long trip. They honestly treat people like friends.

Our room was lovely, spacious and clean. It wasn't nice weather but Marion had a long list of suggestions of things we could do. It is literally minutes walk from the beach and is such a great place to stay.

The service at Breakfast was fantastic. Les's homemade Bread and Jam in the Morning was to die for!!

Thank you so much Les and Marion, hope to stay again soon! x

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

we have stayed at many b+bs in the torbay area before but the charterhouse is the best b+b so far Marion looked after us superbly from the warm welcome to the excellent breakfast with home made bread and marmalade.The weather was very cold for the time of year 24th March so Marion gave us the warmest room available which we really were grateful for.she also gave us some good ideas and information about where to visit and eat out.The charterhouse is situated in a quiet location but close to the beach ,Cockington village and Torquay town centre but best of all was the parking plenty of room to park unlike many other b+bs in Torquay.We will definately come back again and will recommend the charterhouse to all our friends and family.Thanks Marion for a great holiday from Steve and Alison

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We have spent the Autumn holidays at Charterhouse and enjoyed our stay very much. Marion gave as a warm welcome and a lot of information on the evening of our arrival. We are from Amsterdam and currently live in Berlin, and wanted to spend a few days at the English riviera to get away from the continental October-weather, to enjoy the fresh air and to have our children practise their English... They had a lot of opportunities to do so, especially during breakfast time.
We have never experienced such a great hospitality before! And the splendid breakfasts with home made breads and marmelades (made by Les) are still fresh in our memory. We had an ‘interconnecting’ family room (double room connected to the children’s room), that gave us privacy as soon as the children were asleep... to read, talk and look tv. So the kids as well as mum & dad had a relaxing time. During daytime, we were able to visit the locations which Marion had advised us. Our daughters were really happy, and are still talking about it 5 months later. We will be back one day again, and can recommend the hotel to all our friends in Holland and Germany.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The Charterhouse is the most lovely place to stay. From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave, nothing is too much trouble for Marion and Les. We stayed in the very spacious and tranquil Riviera room which has wonderful views from both bedroom windows and the bathroom. Everything spotlessly clean and comfortable. Breakfast was a leisurely treat - fruit, cereals, juices, fantastic cooked English breakfast together with delicious home made breads and of course Les's conserves! Marion provided an entertaining and convivial atmosphere in which all the guests participated and ideas of things to do in Torquay were exchanged. We can highly recommend this accommodation.

Room Tip: We stopped in the Riviera room which was superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have stayed at many B&Bs,Hotels over many years and to have found "The Charterhouse" is simply our No1,From the moment you arrive you feel welcome,relaxed and just no your stay is going to be one to be remember.Just cant fault anything.Marion and Les are people you dont believe excist.They do and they are at "The Charterhouse".Hospitality,cleanliness,comfort,food are 5star plus.If we return to Torquay we will be stay there again.Marion and Les are wonderful people and really do hope we see you again.David and maria,15/16 march 2013.Thank you both very much.Sometimes you feel you could not recommend a place to stay,but this one,we wouldnt hesitate.One last comment,Charterhouse is so easy to find, Quiet location and YOU CAN PARK.

Room Tip: Every room is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tregaron, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The combination of Marion’s infectious enthusiasm and Les’ quiet efficiency ensured that our stay at the Charterhouse was everything that we could have wished for. From check in until the time that we finally said goodbye they were the epitome of perfect hosts.
The hotel was easy to find – not always easy to say in a busy seaside town – but this was thanks to the comprehensive directions we received after booking. (Point to note: SatNav instructs you to turn right at Shiphay Lane – most definitely ignore this instruction unless you really, and I mean really, want to negotiate the narrow lanes around Cockington!).
Our room was absolutely lovely with a beautiful view across to Torquay from the bay window - a view that became even more spectacular at night when the promenade’s decorative lights were switched on.
Breakfast was served in the lovely vaulted dining room: a comprehensive menu of fresh, local food that included a la maison speciality breads freshly baked by Les each morning and homemade preserves – again courtesy of Les – all mouth-wateringly gorgeous!
Marion’s suggestions and recommendations for places to eat during the day and in the evening were spot-on – it was just a pity that we did not have the time to try them all out – I’m sorry Marion – but, I think, that definitely provides us with a good reason to book that return visit!

Room Tip: Room 15 has a huge bed, a good sized ensuite and a great view over the water to Torquay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Charterhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charterhouse

Address: Cockington Lane, Torquay TQ2 6QT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Charterhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run B&B with a warm welcome and delicious breakfasts. Just a short stroll from Country Park, Thatched Village and Beach. Available for short breaks or longer stays. Please ring for further information or visit our website. Within walking distance of Torquay. Large car park, beautiful gardens and in quiet location. Free wifi throughout and small heated outdoor swimming pool open in the summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Charterhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charterhouse Hotel Torquay
The Charterhouse Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Charterhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.