We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of heaven!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Charterhouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Charterhouse to your Saves list
The Charterhouse
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Cockington Lane, Torquay TQ2 6QT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 154 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A piece of heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

In need of a break, we had no hesitation where to phone in order to re-charge our very flat batteries! This is our third visit to the Charterhouse and we both absolutely love it! Its home from home for us now. Marion and Les are the most amazing hosts and greeted us like old friends.We decided to stay in the Riviera room (14) for 3 nights and it was pure luxury. Attention to detail did not go un-noticed by us, from the white fluffy robes in the fabulous bathroom to the chocolate bars placed on the bed to the hospitality tray that had everything. The bay windows overlooked the stunning gardens ahead and the large side window had a lovely view of the sea. ( which Marion pointed out- if you slept on the left hand side of the super king size it was definately a view to wake up to!). The room is superb and has everything you need, even down to mood lighting in the bathroom. Breakfast has a menu that no-one would find fault with, especially the home-made bread and jams and marmalade! We are going back again in July for a week and cannot praise both Marion & Les enough for making us feel so welcome. Amazing hotel amazing hosts in stunning location The town centre is a lovely 20min stroll away and Cockington village about a mile a way -well worth a visit! Batteries fully re-charged..Thanks again and see you both in July. xx

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent, very clean and comfortable, the Riviera room though is the cherry on top of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    30
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
155
338
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

This is our 3rd or 4th viisit to the Charterhouse and just wouldn't go anywhere else.We love Marion and Les's garden room which is for people with their dogs.It is a super room just been re-decorated with new bed, and pretty furnishings and a really big T.V.The breakfast as ever perfection. Marion and Les make you so welcome you feel more like a friend than a guest.The Hotel is in a great area too, within walking distance to Torquay[ there are plenty of buses too] but far enough away to be nice and quiet Thank you Marion and Les for another lovely stay

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Have to say that our stay in the Charterhouse was superb. We love the area and had seen the hotel on a previous break, so booked up this time around and werent disappointed. During our 2 night stay, we felt very welcome. Marion and Les have a lovely hotel in surroundings to match. The garden/sea view from an immaculate room was great and if we needed anything during our stay, we only needed to ask. Breakfast was very good too, big range of breads/jams/fruits etc - homemade bread was very good and homemade chutney very nice too. Will be looking forward to returning for another stay in the future. Marion was also able to recommend good seafood restaurant that didnt disappoint. Heidi & Steve

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We have just returned from a very enjoyable stay with Marion and Les at The Charterhouse, our room was lovely with first class facilities and a WOW bathroom, fluffy towels and bath robes. My husband had a birthday while we were there and Marion put roses and birthday cake in our room, thank you Marion for making it so special. Breakfast was excellent - Home made bread, marmalade and chutney not to mention the full english. Marion and Les are perfect hosts and clearly love welcoming guests and making them feel at home, we certainly did and hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Just had a superb 3 night stay at The Charterhouse. We were escaping the dismal weather in Scotland with our dog for a few days and followed the sun to Torquay. We hit upon The Charterhouse because they allow dogs in their garden rooms and we're very glad we did. Lovely room, lovely facilities and a superb welcome. Marion was an absolute pleasure and looked after us brilliantly including our dog Cooper. She even brought him a sausage after breakfast one morning as we sat outside our room in the garden in the sun under the palm trees. Sounds idyllic? It was.
Great location for Cockington and dog walking in the water gardens or Livermead beach if the tide is out. Loved it. Thanks Marion.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We have just spent 3 nights at The Charterhouse May 12th -15th 2012. we had a wonderful stay, our hosts were very welcoming and tended to our every need. we originally saw this guest house when visiting Cockington the previous year and liked the look of it so thought we would book a room to celebrate my husbands birthday! we were not disappointed!! we had a lovely stay in a delightful room with views of the sea. Bathroom was beautiful and spotless. we had amazing breakfasts every morning cooked to perfection (and so much of it!) i have never stayed anywhere that has served such fantastic breakfasts! Marion was such a lovely bubbly person and made every guest she served in the dining room feel special. we will be recommending this guest house to friends and family and will certainly visit again in the future. Many thanks to Les and Marion :)xx (Linda and Roger)

Room Tip: Lovely view of the sea from Room 15 bathroom lovely and spotless (did miss having a bath in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Awesome from the start! Arrived after driving non stop 200 miles from Dartford, Kent, we were welcomed by an enthusiastic-friendly-bubbly Marion - the life and soul of The Charterhouse at Torquay. Refreshing pot of Assam tea, Marion quickly planned our itinerary for the next few days. Our family room was fabulous and nice clean rooms and well lit bathrooms greeted us. I felt so relaxed. Marion makes a difference. So considerate, friendly and even at 9pm when our near four year old demanded porridge, Marion not only warmed milk but sat over and watched and played and chatted and made our day and evening refreshing and welcoming. Don't know where you get so much energy Marion, but thank you so much. Congratulations in running The Charterhouse the way you do, it does make a huge difference. Will come back again.

Subhash Goswami
Dartford, Kent

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Charterhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charterhouse

Address: Cockington Lane, Torquay TQ2 6QT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Charterhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run B&B with a warm welcome and delicious breakfasts. Just a short stroll from Country Park, Thatched Village and Beach. Available for short breaks or longer stays. Please ring for further information or visit our website. Within walking distance of Torquay. Large car park, beautiful gardens and in quiet location. Free wifi throughout and small heated outdoor swimming pool open in the summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Charterhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charterhouse Hotel Torquay
The Charterhouse Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Charterhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.