We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Annual Family Torquay Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms Hotel

The Palms Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Palms Hotel to your Saves list
The Palms Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   537 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Annual Family Torquay Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Just returned from our 2nd Visit to The Palms hotel and we were all, once again perfectly happy with our stay. We booked 2xDouble rooms 1x Single and a Triple room for our party all of which were perfect for our groups needs.

Judith and Graham are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble.

The beds were all very comfortable with good quality linen and the towels especially good quality.

The breakfast that is included in the price is really good quality and portioned just right with eggs cooked to your liking.

The location of the hotel is a perfect distance from the noises of the town centre, just 5 minutes walk away which means you can't hear too much when you return at night, the new windows have been fitted with a respect for the age of the building and very tastefully done.

There are tea and coffee making facilities in each room, good wardrobe space with enough hangers for a three night stay, a hair dryer and small amount of toiletries are also provided. There is even a little fridge for your use.

We really enjoyed our previous visit, we enjoyed this visit even more and we will certainly be booking for 2015 to enjoy the hotel once again.

Thank you both for another fabulous 3 night break

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    24
    7
    0
    5
See reviews for
19
55
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Darwen, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We had an excellent stay at the Palms Hotel in June. The room was comfortable and clean, the staff were very helpful and friendly to talk to. We were close to the harbour just a short walk away and having the private parking was great. The breakfast was very good, had an excellent choice which kept us going for the day. Overall a very enjoyable and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Just come back from a short break from Torquay. We stayed at the palms hotel and found it very good. Staff there were very good and help. And the hotel is not far from the shops and bars which was good for us. Would recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

we stayed at Palms Hotel for my sister and brother in law pearl wedding .A clean and friendly hotel we had 2 small double rooms which suited us they had every thing we needed .The hotel is only a short walk to the pubs and shops the off road parking was a bonus .The breakfast was lovely plenty to choose from .So if you are looking for a lovely clean friendly quite hotel I would recommend the Palms .We would stay again and hope to return later in the year .

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the palms hotel, we stayed in room 5, at the back of the hotel, it was comfortable, quiet and perfect for getting your head down, the facilities included wifi, tv, kettle, plenty of tea and coffee, a modern shower room and even a fridge! The view was the fire escape but I wasn't there to appreciate the view!. It's a short walk into town.

Judith, the owner greeted us at the car (I was having difficulty parking, I reversed in rather than drove in - that was my mistake!) her husband graham moved the car off me later lol!

Breakfast was lovely, it consisted of a full English, as much toast as you want, cereal, cheese, yoghurt and fruit.

All in all a pleasant stay, we would stay there again and certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We had a short break, 25th and 26th April, 2014 and stayed at the Palms Hotel to escape the hustle and bustle of home life.
We stayed in the family room which accommodated all our needs. It was clean, tidy and had plenty of selection for breakfast for young and old. Nothing was too much to ask for and the owners had a vast knowledge of the surrounding area and what we could do as a family, giving advice on where we could save money on multi payment days out.
There was free parking and close to the beach and shops. We spent sometime in the baron Saturday which was lovely to spend time with the owners. They were extremely accommodating to children with DVD's and games to play, which was lovely and we felt very welcome for the two nights we spent.
Their prices are reasonable for the area they are in.
We all had a lovely time and would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Having arrived in Torquay on Bank Holiday Friday with no room booked my partner and i were very pleased to find this little gem.
Driving up the main road a number of hotels were visable but this was the only one who had 'vacancies'.
We popped in to check price and were pleasently suprised as had been told £25 more earlier for another hotel located miles away from the main town.
The host was very welcomming and told us of parking facilities which are located at the back of the b&b.
We were told of breakfast times, shown to our room and told that the door is unmanned from 11pm so to use the main key if we went out.
The room was quite small but had enough room for bags and us. There was a TV (my partner had to reset the channels!) kettle, hairdryer so the room was fine. Bathroom door was not very good and for some reason had locks on both sides but the bathroom itself was clean with a great power shower. The view of the room was straight into a wall and another persons bedroom but not the fault of the owners.
Slept very well in the comfy bed.
Breakfast was very oldy worldy but fine. Small servcings so dont keep yourself for the cooked as its not big. I think possibly there could have been a better presentation of the breakfast bar as it felt a bit like i was taking food from someone elses table.

Overall very nice people. Adequate room and bargain price - your on holiday..not as though you will spend much time there!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Hotel

Address: 537 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Torquay
#20 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Palms Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Palms Hotel Torquay in South Devon - truly a "once discovered, never forgotten" place to stay. A delightful retreat where the warmth and friendliness of hosts Graham and Judith is always apparent.Here the guest really does come first and there is no time you will not be made to feel welcome. The Palms Hotel is one of Torquay's top Guest Houses in the heart of Torquay we give the Service of a Small Hotel and the intimacy of a Bed & Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palms Hotel Torquay
The Palms Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.