We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, homely, bit noisey, good value hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms Hotel

The Palms Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Palms Hotel to your Saves list
The Palms Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   537 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
GLOUCESTER
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly, homely, bit noisey, good value hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was up a bit of a hill from Torquay front so handy to get to venue (princess theatre). Good service nice hotel for money. Only negative was the road was heavily used by rowdy nightlife and noise kept me awake as they went passed the hotel in the early hours. Shame as all else good.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    23
    7
    0
    5
See reviews for
18
50
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

we were in Torquay for 3 days ,, and stayed at this hotel, couldnot fault it from reception through to rooms and breakfast, everything was excellent, the landlady and her husband are so friendly made us feel at home I will be returning to this one whenever I visit Torbay again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Very very friendly. Rooms a good size. Perfectly clean. Nothing is too much for them. Breakfast is served on warm plates. Free parking. Free wifi. Decent amount of tv channels. Lovely bathroom. Plenty of tea and coffee. On site bar-brilliant and not expensive. We have already booked to come back in December.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Situated just 5 mins from the Harbour the Palms Hotel is a lovely place to stay, The Owners Judith and Graham Ward were very welcoming and helpful in every way possible even arranging for wine,chocolates and balloons to be in our room (10th Wedding Anniversary),Even leaving us a card from them, The rooms have all the luxuries you would expect like T.V.,Tea and Coffee making facilities,Shower and free WiFi. If one night you don't fancy going out they have a collection of dvd's you can lend for free(£5 deposit Refundable).
At Breakfast there is a wide selection to choose from,Cereal,Toast,Prunes and full English Breakfast which you can choose what you like and leave off what you don't.We plan on going back next year and taking our Dogs because the hotel is dog friendly too,All in all, A very pleasantly run hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands uk
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The hotel has a lot of very nice character features as it is over 100 years old. (which a lot of homes would die for, including my own)
The hotel is in walking distance of the town and also the beach. Approx 10 minutes but may take longer on the way back as the hotel is located on a hill. Look at it as part of your exercise for the day.
If you find it a little hard walking up and down the hill you could always get a taxi, back to the hotel.

The only draw back was you have to vacate the room by ten, eleven would have been better; however you could always talk to the hotel manager to see if you could have a later check out.

There is a car park at the back of the hotel but very small, this was not a problem as the hotel also has entry to a very large car park around 150 meters away which is much better than the hotel car parking.

Would I go again? A big yes we both enjoyed our stay at The Palms and wich them well for the future.

Room Tip: Ask for room four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Had a wonderful weekend Breakfast lovely Nothing too much trouble Judith and Husband very nice Always happy to stop and chat Weather was beautiful And only a short walk into town Hope to come back next year

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I stayed in this lovely hotel for 6 days,My son and i were staying in torquay for the football and i chose to stay on to see some sites.I can honestly say that graham and judith are brilliant,they tell you where to go for beaches and loads of attractions and will do anything to help.The room was on the top floor which was fine for us and had a mini fridge,loads of tea,coffee,sugar etc. The beds were extremely comfortable.The shower was amazing and there are games,books and dvds around to borrow which was a lovely touch. The breakfast choice is VAST!! So much choice u could be sat there for an hour! Im hoping to go back to Torquay and when i do i will definatley choosing palms hotel as its a real home from home..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Hotel

Address: 537 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Torquay
#21 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Palms Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Palms Hotel Torquay in South Devon - truly a "once discovered, never forgotten" place to stay. A delightful retreat where the warmth and friendliness of hosts Graham and Judith is always apparent.Here the guest really does come first and there is no time you will not be made to feel welcome. The Palms Hotel is one of Torquay's top Guest Houses in the heart of Torquay we give the Service of a Small Hotel and the intimacy of a Bed & Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palms Hotel Torquay
The Palms Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.