We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms Hotel

The Palms Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Palms Hotel to your Saves list
The Palms Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   537 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Home from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This attractive hotel is only 5 minutes walk from Torquay shops and harbour. The 2 ownners Judith and Graham were very welcoming and made us feel at home. Our room though small had everything we needed including a little fridge. The power shower was fantastic!! Breakfast was well presented and was delicious. The hotel was very homely and comfortable and we didnt want to go home! We shall go again.

Room Tip: The front bedrooms have a good view of the gardens but a bit noisy from the road at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    24
    7
    0
    5
See reviews for
19
55
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Placed within a two min walk from Torquay centre, this family hotel is packed with charm. You step into another decade. Nice, friendly staff. Breakfast served in a small room - with radio BBC2 ("only ch that doesn't offend anyone":) on..

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

we just come back from there we had a good time .it was raining but then the sun come out .it we lush and your not far from the shops beach ect I would say its one of the best places we stayed .and we would go back again the room was very nice .too and the food was cooked nice and hot and as for Judith oh my good she nice lady and her hubby is to all ways had time to chat .and give you help were to go .thank you guys hope to see you again xxxxx

Room Tip: abit of hill bit keeps you fit ;]
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I think that anyone giving this hotel a bad review must have something clearly wrong with them. My wife, Kimberly and I were greeted by our lovely hosts after a long drive from Scotland. We originally tried to book through laterooms.com but that proved more trouble than it was worth so we phoned the palms directly and were given £20 off straight away. As we were honeymooners our lovely hosts said that they would give us the 4 poster bedroom but it was booked on our first night but we could have it on nights 2 and 3. We were going to wait for the other guests to check out to move our bags but the owners wouldn't hear of it and said that our day should not be put on hold and to go out and enjoy ourselves and they would have the room ready and move our bags for when we return :-)
The breakfasts could beat any 5 star hotel I've stayed in and there is a huge choice on offer :-)
The bedrooms were outstanding and we stayed in 2 different rooms. The location of the hotel perfect only 2 minutes walk from the harbour/marina.
In short, The Palms Hotel is the ONLY place to stay in Torquay.
The owners even left a wee wedding card for us in our room one day :-)
Thank you for a lovely honeymoon

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

me and my boyfriend stayed here over the Easter holidays for a week and we received excellent service from the owners. they were always friendly and helpful and chatted to us about our day when we saw them. the only thing i would say it that our bedroom which was on the top floor got a bit cold and we had the radiator on full all the time we were in our room, it was due to the single glazing windows, which we heard another family talking to the owners of the hotel and they said that there was nothing they could do about the windows as they were not granted planning permission for the change of windows. everything else about the hotel was fab and if i was planning to go back to torquay i would definitely stay there againn

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Have just returned from a weekend at The Palms which we found to be very comfortable and friendly. We were greeted by Judy who took us to our twin room just at the top of the landing. A nice size with ensuite, tea/coffee making facilities and small fridge( can squeeze in a few cans and bottles ). Beds nicely presented and comfortable. Would definitely recommend this hotel to others. We will be back :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We recently stayed for two nights and found The Palms to be well maintained, clean and comfortable. Any issues were addressed promptly and the owners were very accommodating. It is well located for central Torquay and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Hotel

Address: 537 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Torquay
#20 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Palms Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Palms Hotel Torquay in South Devon - truly a "once discovered, never forgotten" place to stay. A delightful retreat where the warmth and friendliness of hosts Graham and Judith is always apparent.Here the guest really does come first and there is no time you will not be made to feel welcome. The Palms Hotel is one of Torquay's top Guest Houses in the heart of Torquay we give the Service of a Small Hotel and the intimacy of a Bed & Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palms Hotel Torquay
The Palms Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.