We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Rooms,Good attention to detail,highly recommend.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton Court

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Carlton Court to your Saves list
Carlton Court
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   18 Cleveland Road, Torquay TQ2 5BE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 154 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
shropshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful Rooms,Good attention to detail,highly recommend.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

Excellent comfortable room ,spoke to other guests who were also very pleased.
Would definately stay here again. The breakfast was superbly cooked to a high standard using only fresh locally purchased meat and veg.
Car parking was simple , the only thing that they had not organised was the weather which was wet.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
125
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

We found the Carlton Hotel on the internet and decided to stay 2 nights over Easter. The hotel was absolutely superb, room beautifully clean and a good size, breakfast was excellent. As for the proprietors well what can i say, they were just excellent hosts making you feel so welcome. It was also a good quitet location and only a 20 min walk from town. Would we go again - most definitely!!!!!!!!!!!!
We had a lovely Easter break in Torquay!

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

Stayed two nights at Carlton Court and the hotel was just as advertised. We were in room four, ground floor with big floor to ceiling double glazed bay window, comfy "queen sized" bed, fridge with water and fresh milk and a nice clean bathroom with separate shower. If anything the room was too warm, but easily rectified. Helen and Phil were pleasant hosts offering advice on local attractions and handing out books with nearby walks to try. Freshly cooked breakfast was super and the dining room immaculate.
Car parking on site and free wi-fi with excellent signal a plus.
Ate at nearby Bombay Express, nice Indian food if a little quiet. Avoid Bull and Bush pub, grim when we were in there with a handful of swearing and drunk locals at the bar. Also ate at Ocean Brasserie, young couple run this place, a lot of seafood although we also tried a steak. Service a little slow but very good quality food when it came. Scallops were perfectly cooked and caught-that-day fresh. If it's open - check website - worth a visit for somewhere within walking distance, as town centre a fifteen minute downhill walk away and a bit seedy in places.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hants
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

Beautiful Hotel furnished to a very high standard in every way. The owners Phil and Helen could not have looked after us better, The Breakfast was just wonderful. Our accommodation was superb and we cannot wait to visit again during the year.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

Cannot fault this place at all - huge, gorgeous, impeccable room, friendly hosts for whom nothing is too much trouble and who make a great breakfast, quiet location with off-street parking; free wifi and all kinds of thoughtful extras, and a fantastic price. One of the nicest places I've ever stayed and it could easily tempt me back to the area.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

Excellent Gem of a B&B. 5 star all the way. Would definitly recommend and would stay there again. Proprietors Helen and Phil are fantastic. Made you feel very welcome. On arrival we were met by Helen who showed us our room, No9. Great room, lots of windows over looking the garden, large room with lots of storage space also a safe. TV, DVD player with DVD's in room, magazines. Hair dryer, bath robes, fridge with milk and coffee, tea and hot chocolate with biscuits. Beautiful bathroom, with power shower, heated towel rail, lovely towels, lots of added extras in bathroom room, shampoo etc., Huge bed which was lovely to sleep in. Very comfortable. Lots of lovely pillows. The room and bathroom were very very clean. The house and the decor were beautiful. Breakfast was cooked by Phil and was lovely, lots of choice from different teas, fresh coffee, fresh fruit, yogurts, choice of cooked items, toast and jams. Helen was a wonderful host and made sure that you were kept 'topped' up on everything. No kids are allowed at the hotel, which is great, I do have children but it is nice to get away without them at times. We ate at the Bombay Express on the Friday night as recommended by Helen and Phil, 5 minute walk from Carlton Court and the food there was stunning. Also a great price, we had the set menu for 2 people at £26.95 - to much food we could not eat it all. Not to far from Torquay town, 25 minute walk or a few minutes drive. Lots of shops, bars and places to eat. Close to a nice beach as well. Would definitly recommend this hotel to stay at and we would stay there when visiting Torquay again. Thank you Helen and Phil for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

Returned today after a 2 night much needed break. We wanted a chilled weekend and we certainly got it. Quiet, peaceful and relaxing. The breakfast is first class. The room was a superior double( N0 8). It was spotless. The bed was really comfortable, so were the pillows. Quality tea, coffee and biscuits in the room. Also a fridge with fresh milk...not those nasty UHT pots that you cant open without it spurting everywhere! Luxury towels and even bath robes.
We ate in the Bombay Express indian restaurant which is 5 mins walk. This was recommended by Helen the owner ,and it was delicious. there was just 2 of us and our bill was £29,95. Cooked fresh, with good service and surroundings, very modern and clean. We had drinks in the Bull and Bush pub just down from the indian. Very friendly with a good atmosphere, but our meal there on the second night was pretty disgusting. £15 for 2 main meals and we were still hungry. Avoid that one! Overall we were very pleased with the Carton court, and satisfied that we had value for money. Helen and Phil work hard to please and we will definatley be back in the future.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carlton Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Court

Address: 18 Cleveland Road, Torquay TQ2 5BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Carlton Court 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We like to offer our guests the highest standards of quality and style when staying at The Carlton Court guest house in Torquay as reflected in our 5 star gold guest accommodation award. We are situated in a quiet location just a 10 minute walk from the main seafront and 15 minutes from the town centre with public transport facilities nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Carlton Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Court Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.