We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing cream tea” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Burridge's Cafe Tearooms

Burridge's Cafe Tearooms
8 Victoria Parade, Torquay TQ1 2BB, England
01803213964
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 17 Coffee & Tea in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Disappointing cream tea”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

My husband and I stopped and shared a cream tea. Shop was very cute, great location and delicious tea but the the scones and clotted cream were not good and I have had several at different locations during my holiday. Maybe we got an off day?

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieSweet, Owner at Burridge's Cafe Tearooms, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Firstly I would like to thank all of our positive reviewers and apologise for not having the time to reply to all. With regard to this review I can only say how shocked I am, our scones I think are delicious and are handmade by a local bakery and as for our beautiful Devon clotted cream which comes from Langage Farm and is traditionally made, I don't think you can find better it's won many awards as has our fabulous local strawberry jam. As the saying goes though, you can't please all of the people all of the time and if the best that Devon has to offer doesn't please you, then I don't know what will. Good luck in your quest for perfection Julie Sweet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    32
    13
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Absolutely spot on”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We visited this beautiful little tea room with our son who is five years old and we loved it. Firstly I just wanted to pick up on something someone else had said on here about the layout; the layout is perfect! There is not a long narrow space before you get to the till. The till is at the back of the tea room nearest the kitchen. There are tables either side of an area you can walk in but it is a logical layout! Anyhoo, we had a savoury and a sweet cream tea and they were lovely, and the cost was very reasonable for them, there was loads and we really did make piggies of ourselves. The staff were friendly and made sure we had everything we needed. My son felt entertained and very welcome throughout. The toilets were clean as was the tea room itself. My little boy had a strawberry lemonade and a chocolate brownie and they were lovely! We would most definitely recommend this little gem to anyone.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We shared a crab sandwich and cream tea between two people. Was a lovely place to just sit and enjoy the tea.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Crab sandwich was great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Very nice little place with all food being very tasty and very fresh. Sandwiches come either with salad and crisps or fruit and crisps. Scones were lovely too and no one seemed to mind our slightly too curious toddler daughter. We asked for recommendation from local and it was a great one, just what we needed for quick lunch. However, it would be nice to spend there an hour or two for full afternoon tea as it is such a pretty cafe.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Scrumptious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

Had afternoon tea here. Scones were served warm along with pot of jam and a pot of clotted cream. The scones melted in your mouth. Cafe was lovely and clean and the staff were very welcoming and pleasant. The view of the harbour is gorgeous and makes this a great place to people watch whilst enjoying Torquay's finest afternoon tea.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burridge's Cafe Tearooms also viewed

 
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Burridge's Cafe Tearooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burridge's Cafe Tearooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.