We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TLH Leisure Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added TLH Leisure Resort to your Saves list
TLH Leisure Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
wales
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We have just come back from Torquay where we stayed at the TLH resort. It consists of 4 hotels all linked internally covering approx 7 acres. We stayed at the Derwent which seems less formal than the other 3 hotels. The food was excellent and we got very good service. The reception staff are very obliging and nothing is too much trouble. The entertainment in the Starlight lounge was very professional and varied. We didn't realise we were on a tinsel and turkey break when we booked but the hotel being full with coach trips gave a marvellous festive atmosphere. The room was fine, very clean which is what you really need. Would definitely go again especially to one of their themed weekends. The Bistro is worth a visit, it overlooks the main pool, there was a lovely calm atmosphere there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    62
    46
    13
    12
See reviews for
101
53
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

As usual staff were very helpful and friendly. The weather was wet and windy however the lovely thing about tlh whatever the weather there is lots to do. Swimming, steam room and spa made for a lovely afternoon. Terrace rooms to be recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Leisure Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Me, my hubby & 2 teenagers stayed in the Victoria Hotel over Half Term...this was our 3rd stay in the Victoria.
We were happy about the location & cleanliness of our rooms but disappointed by the onsite restaurants ,.Especially the Aztec Bistro...Firstly we had to wait an hour for our food to arrive after ordering...& when it did eventually arrive it was cold & quite tasteless...!!!!...The Bisto was not that busy, so why the long wait & cold food...???...The breakfast was good with lots of choice.
The entertainment was o.k & my children enjoyed the games room.
The location was great for visiting local attractions & close to the beach.
We hope to stay again next year...Maybe in the Toorak Hotel for a change.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Leisure Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. The Bistro is a very successful part of the business and for the most part they get our food offering and service right. I am sorry that it would appear that we did not meet our usually high standard on this occasion. I have passed on your comments to the relevant people. We hope that you use this facility again and that you find the service and food as it should be. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed in the Derwent the place is in desperate need of a make over we were at a wedding so stayed 2 nights, the room had an extra bed in so we asked if our granddaughter could stay this was agreed for 1 night. When we checked out I had to pay £49.50 this would have been for breakfast as the bed was also used by us so would have had to be changed.I did tell the reception staff I was not happy and would not be staying again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Leisure Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. The Derwent is in the process of refurbishment at present. In the last 12 months over 60 of our 175 bedrooms have been fully refurbished. This will continue over the coming 12 months. The Derwent is currently a 2* hotel and this is reflected in our room tariff. The amount paid for your room would have included the use of our 5* leisure facilities and nightly entertainment as well as a whole host of other facilities available. We hope that our rooms offer value for money and that you find them clean and tidy. Approximately 70% of our bedrooms are of a 3 star standard. Our rates are per person per night, so the charge you refer to for your granddaughter sharing your room would seem to be correct. We currently have 3 three star hotels on our complex. For shorter stays were the room attribute are most important I would always recommend staying at those. The rooms at the Derwent will eventually all be of 3 star quality, when this is the case we will apply for our next star rating. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Used the swimming pool, jacuzzi & sauna last night. The floor in the changing rooms was dirty when we got there. The pool seemed clean enough, but again the floor leading up to the jacuzzi had lots of dirt. The top step coming back down from the jacuzzi was broken & the split tile could have caused someone an injury. Again, same level of hygiene in the sauna. The toilets in this area were disgusting & to be honest I have been in better facilities on the beach! the showers were appalling with rubbish strewn around & one corner had dirt just coming away from the floor, It has really put me off returning. All it takes is a little extra effort to keep things clean.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Leisure Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am pleased to announce that during the first few months of next year the Mediterranean pool, Jacuzzi and surrounding areas will see some major improvements with the inclusion of a new Jacuzzi. We are reviewing the frequency of cleaning within these areas in general. The truth is that these areas have become so popular that the footfall or amount of people using the area has increased dramatically during this year, especially during the half terms. I would like to assure you that this is an area of focus for us and we will address it moving forward. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Torquay is known for being a UK resort town and it is long in the tooth. TLH is a large complex in the middle of town, it is old and tired and not very clean. Looks like the last time it was decorated was many years ago. The best thing is the location is close to shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: I cannot recommend the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed at the Toorak which is part of the TLH resort for a Dance break. The hotel was fine as usual as we had attended this break many times before. We stayed in the same room as previously, it was ok except the shower and water pressure was hopeless, it could do with de-scaling or a new shower head. The food was excellent during our stay except the chefs could do with lesson in producing Eaton Mess, the meringue and fresh fruit was absent it was more like and was strawberry ice cream. It has a large swimming pool, sauna, steam room etc which is great but could do with a face lift as it is bit run down.
On the whole the hotel and facilities are worth a visit.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to TLH Leisure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Leisure Resort

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#19 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — TLH Leisure Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 431
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lively resort encompasses the Derwent, Victoria, Carlton & Toorak Hotels with on-site access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your TLH Leisure Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tlh Leisure Hotel Torquay
Tlh Leisure Torquay
TLH Leisure Resort Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TLH Leisure Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.