We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fair review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay to your Saves list
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Croft Rd, Torquay TQ2 5UE, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
7 Night Special
Ranked #6 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“fair review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

just got back after spending 3 nights , arrived to a warm welcome , our room was on the top floor ,we had a premium + room , it was very nice room , except for the water pressure , the shower was a trickle and took ages for it to warm up , the same with the sink , apart from that the room was great , mini bar ,flat screen tv plenty of room . the breakfast was cooked fresh , but you only have 1 hour for breakfast 8.15 to 9.15 , and it was on the small side , it was very nice tho , if you can get a parking place your very lucky at this hotel , we went out everyday and got back to find all the spaces had gone everyday . you can have a evening meal but you have to book it .and its pricey , cant comment on this we did,nt try it , we ate out everyday , ,just the one lager on tap [ carslsberg ]all other drinks cans or bottles , would I go back , I don't think so , a average hotel in my opinion , the owners are very warm and welcoming tho

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    43
    8
    0
    5
See reviews for
41
290
15
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My husband and myself had booked in to stay for one night, on arrival there were no parking spaces and no parking on the road anywhere, went to ask advice where to park? Not helpful at all was told as it was a bank holiday and basically it was tough. We have never experienced such rudeness we both were taken back, and expressed how we didn't like the way we were spoken to, we were then asked to leave as we were only staying for one night! It is obvious that they don't appreciate customers who want to stay for one night. So warning before you even think about booking this hotel! unless you want to be insulted and embarrassed in front of other customers, not a nice experience when you have just driven over 200 miles!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carsten F, Owner at Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
As most TripAdvisor users will know, hotels do not refuse admission without very good reasons. Our decision not to admit these people to the hotel was, categorically, the right one, as was confirmed by other guests who were at reception at the time, one elderly couple actually gave us a round of applause!

We do welcome guest looking for just a one night stay whenever availability permits, just not the rude, arrogant and aggressive ones!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Arrived to receive a warm welcome off Carsten, who even offered us to help us carry our bags up to our rooms. Met Lee several times who was also very helpful. We dined with them one evening and this was excellent. Breakfast was very good every morning which had a great selection to choose from. Great location and they have a free of charge carpark. Staying in the standard compact rooms, they are compact but all you could need for a great nights sleep. Although we had two rooms the end bill was still small which was fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Lovely hotel, Carsten and Lee great hosts, very friendly and cannot do enough to make you welcome and comfortable. Hotel, garden and pool .exceptionally clean and well maintained. We stayed in a compact double, which was small but spotless and had all you needed. We ate in the restaurant twice and the food was amazing, and the bar was well stocked and reasonably priced. We would definitely stay at the Riviera Lodge next time we visit Torquay

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We had been to Torquay in December and stayed at the Imperial Hotel who had no booking this trip. I was a bit skeptical at first as I generally prefer to stay at hotels where I know what to expect.

I arrived late on Friday, and was checked in by Carsten who was the friendliest person ever. I don't think I've received such genuine assistance when staying at the W or Marriott. Carsten was more than happy to assist. He even carried my bag upstairs which gave the place an extra star in my book!

The room was nice, I couldn't find any fault in it! The bathroom was small, but again really hard to find a fault. Overall the place was very welcoming.

Over the course of the weekend, my partner kept saying how nice everything was. The bar was reasonably priced. Breakfast was good.... again no faults.

Only thing I can complain about was not receiving extra soap, however I am sure if I had asked, I would have received it... so my fault!

Totally recommend this place and will likely return!

Room Tip: You wont regret choosing this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We returned to the Riviera Lodge for the second year running after having a wonderful time last year. We were not disappointed! We were a party of five with one single, a premier and a premier plus - an upgrade from last year. The beds are so comfortable, rooms are spacious with sofas to relax on. The only criticism would be that the shower in the premier plus room was not that powerful, but this could be due to the location of the room and the water pressure. Breakfast is wonderful and beautifully presented. We dined in the hotel on our first night and would have liked to dine there again on the Sunday, but due to Bank holiday they were not opening the restaurant. Dinner is situated in a very pleasant conservatory. We enjoyed drinks in the bar in the evenings, seeing some familiar faces from the previous year. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone reading the reviews. Well done Lee and Carsten (although we didn't see much of Carsten this year) you have a wonderful establishment. See you next year. The "Happy" family.

Room Tip: Room 10 excellent, wifi not as responsive in higher rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent united kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

we stayed here for a 2 night short break . excellent little hotel and ideally located . the hotel is spotlessly clean, the food and service are excellent . lovely pool area and garden and the hotel proprieters Carston & Lee were really friendly and helpful . we would recommend this lovely place and would not hesitate to stay there again . brilliant !!!!!

Room Tip: we had a premier plus room but believe they are all very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay

Address: 26 Croft Rd, Torquay TQ2 5UE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#6 Business Hotel in Torquay
#26 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish Hotel in Torquay, the Riviera Lodge offers a range of facilities & services to make your stay both pleasant & relaxing.• Located Close to the Seafront, Harbour & Shops• Stylish Restaurant, Bar & Sun Terrace• Heated Swimming Pool & Hot Tub Spa• Free Guest Parking• Premium & Standard Accommodation• Free WiFi and Fixed Internet Access• Bed & Breakfast & Half Board Packages Available• Discounted Rates Available for Longer Stays• No Surcharges for Credit or Debit Card Payment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Torquay
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.