We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay to your Saves list
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Croft Rd, Torquay TQ2 5UE, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
7 Night Special
Ranked #6 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Short break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Lovely hotel very clean and helpful staff very enjoyable break. You may need to upgrade to slightly bigger room. Very quiet area lovely pool and breakfast was excellent.
The town centre is within walking distance but slight hill on the return journey.

Room Tip: Upgrade gives you slightly more room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    44
    8
    0
    5
See reviews for
41
291
15
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
suffolk
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed here for a few nights for conference recently and found it to be generally of good standard. Owners very helpful and friendly - happy to let me leave my car in the car park for whole day even after i had checked out.
Rooms are ok, bit small but reasonably kitted out with nice shower etc. breakfast very nice and chef makes excellent scrambled eggs, as good as i have ever had in a hotel. Overall very handy for the conference centre or sea front and marina.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcestershire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

The Riviera Lodge is neither great nor bad and normally I wouldn't bother to write a review. But seeing the glowing reviews here I felt a bit of balance might be useful.
I stayed with a group and should admit I didn't pay the bill. Nevertheless I know Torquay hotels well and how much was paid. The hotel is very clean, freshly decorated and reasonably friendly. It is well located on a quiet back street near the town centre with on or off street parking. The decor is very traditional Torquay, albeit modernised in some areas - don't expect a bijou boutique experience. My room was very very small with a tiny bathroom and shower. Linen was good quality and clean. The hot water takes absolutely ages to reach the shower or tap - several minutes, almost to the point of not bothering to shower.
The breakfast was ok, not exceptional - the ingredients didn't really shine. Considering how competitive Torquay is in this price range this was surprising. I was told they 'don't do' poached eggs, which was a bit suprising. But service was prompt and the coffee good. Breakfast is served 8.15-9.15 which is a bit limiting. One of our party arrived 3 mins late and was refused breakfast.
Overall the Riviera Lodge is efficiently run and an acceptable place to rest and sleep. It's better than a lot of the rather average alternatives locally. The trouble is, in Torquay where there are loads of choices. Given the competition and tough time for hotels, I expected a bit more. A more friendly, personable approach would be a start.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carsten F, Owner at Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
We are so sorry that you only found your stay with us ‘Acceptable’ as we do try our best to exceed guest’s expectations in any way we can. In the interest of truthfulness and for the benefit of other readers we feel we must comment on one or two of your criticisms.

While we appreciate you did not make this booking yourself, your office did book different room types for different members of your group, ranging from our large Premium Plus rooms to our compact Standard Doubles and sent us a list of names for each room type, your office did allocate you our smallest room type.

I’m sorry our décor was not to your taste as many guest comment on how much they like the choice of colours, styles etc. As you say we are not a Bijou boutique hotel and certainly do not market ourselves as such.

Our breakfast service was indeed from 8.15am to 9.15am, this was made clear both at the time of booking and on check-in. We did start our breakfast service at 8.00am on the morning of your stay at the request of a number of your group. One of your party did arrive for breakfast just before 9.30am and was advised that while we could not offer a full cooked breakfast at that time, they we welcome to have our continental option (croissant’s, bread, cheese, cold meats, yoghurt, cereals, juices, tea or coffee etc.) an offer they very abruptly declined. Therefore your statement that one of your part arrived just 3 minutes after breakfast service had ended and was refused breakfast, is a little disingenuous to say the least.

Nevertheless, again we are sorry that we were unable to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

It's all about the people who run hotels like this: and these guys really care about giving a great experience to their guests. Nothing too much trouble, friendly without ever being overbearing, and we had some great chats in the bar. All the other guests seemed to be really interesting!

A lovely laid back vibe, great breakfast, and it's almost impossible to write more without sounding like I own the place. Highly recommended - I'd need some persuasion to go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Wifi not brilliant in rooms at the back, apparently so be clear when booking if this might be an iss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carsten F, Owner at Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words we have enjoyed your company very much. We are also in the process to install another router to enable all gusts to have WiFi in there rooms. This has not been easy as this old Victorian building has such thick walls but it should be completed by June 2013. Thanks again Carsten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Superb stay in this friendly yet professional hotel. Room and all communal areas were spotless. Food was lovingly prepared. Owners were very friendly and accommodating. I'm coming back with my wife! Excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We were in town for a weekend conference and had decided to make a week of it to spend time and enjoy what Torquay had to offer.
We were made very welcome and our room was clean and tidy with bath/shower. If we were staying for any length of time in our room we would have found it to be on the small side but there was ideal sitting areas and a well stocked bar.
Once the weather improves there will be nice areas to sit beside a lovely pool but this was not to be as the sun had only just come out and the breeze was this on the cool side.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We were very warmly welcomed by the hosts Franz and Lee at this jem of a wee unpretentious hotel in Torquay. Our rooms were well appointed and very comfortable, the breakfasts were well presented and excellently cooked. The bar is well stocked and with comfortable seats to lounge in whilst having ones nightcap. I would certainly recommend it to all and sundry.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay

Address: 26 Croft Rd, Torquay TQ2 5UE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#6 Business Hotel in Torquay
#26 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish Hotel in Torquay, the Riviera Lodge offers a range of facilities & services to make your stay both pleasant & relaxing.• Located Close to the Seafront, Harbour & Shops• Stylish Restaurant, Bar & Sun Terrace• Heated Swimming Pool & Hot Tub Spa• Free Guest Parking• Premium & Standard Accommodation• Free WiFi and Fixed Internet Access• Bed & Breakfast & Half Board Packages Available• Discounted Rates Available for Longer Stays• No Surcharges for Credit or Debit Card Payment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Torquay
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.