We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great modern hotel in a good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Haytor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Haytor Hotel to your Saves list
Haytor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Meadfoot Road, Torquay TQ12JP, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BOOK DIRECT 4 BEST PRICE
Ranked #5 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Lichfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great modern hotel in a good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

A great modern contemporary hotel (guest house) in a good location, you can walk into the centre of torquay and the marina etc in 5 minutes down the hill but it is far enough away to avoid the hustle and bustle of the centre and is on a nice road with ample off street parking.

Our room and bathroom were small-ish, which was to be expected for a central location, and what is effectively a converted bedroom (with added en-suite) however the decor is modern and clean.

Breakfast is great, a nice open, very modern and clean room with friendly and efficient service and nice food!

Friendly staff also, polite and pleasant without being intrusive and eager to help and suggest things to do and the best way to enjoy your stay.

Great value for money, we would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    99
    14
    1
    0
See reviews for
58
504
20
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

Good value for money. Superb hospitality/service, nothing too much trouble. Breakfast was excellent. Bedroom 6 was large and airy, bed very comfy. Very enjoyable stay, would highly recommend.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

Just back from a short break at Tthe Haytor and am already thinking about when I can book up to go again, that's how good it is. I stayed at the hotel for three nights with my eldest daughter at the end of July, and neither of us could fault the place or it's staff.

We travelled up by train and made our way from the station to the hotel by foot. The hotel is situated on the other side of the harbour from the station and is halfway up a hill. The hill looks worse than it is to be fair, but if you've lots of luggage I would recommend a taxi from the station. If you are travelling by car there is parking space for roughly ten cars at the entrance of the hotel.

We were greeted by Rob who showed us around and took our luggage up to our room. We stayed in a twin room on the first floor and had a view of the front of the hotel, but we experienced no noise at all at night even with the windows open. The bed is so comfortable you might not want to get up.There is a large floor to ceiling wardrobe for your clothes and a full length mirror too. There was a flat screen tv with all the usual digital channels, tea and coffee making facilities which are replenished every day, bottled water which is replenished when empty , a hairdryer and some lovely aromatherapy toiletries in the bathroom.

The hotel is tastefully decorated and is immaculately clean from the outside in. I think there is only one housekeeper there and she is a credit to the hotel. The garden is beautiful and is a real sun trap in the afternoon. There are tables and chairs outside where you can enjoy a drink in the afternoon while watching the resident ducks splash about in the garden pond.

Breakfast is served from 8.30 - 9.30 in the beautiful dining room which has lovely views out into the garden. I'm not sure of the name of the lady who served us each morning but she was incredibly efficient and professional in her apperance. The breakfast menu is adequate and was always well presented and tasty. We had the full english with toast every morning and we didn't need to eat anything until the evening.

There is also a bar/lounge area which you'll see on arrival and this never seems to get busy, so it's quite nice to enjoy a quite half hour or enjoy a nightcap before bed. The staff are all so friendly and welcoming without being intrusive and are all a credit to the hospitality industry. Can't wait to go again!!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisnRob, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2010
I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay here at The Haytor and look forward to welcoming you again later in the year. The only minor thing I would like to mention to anyone reading this review is regarding the parking spaces, we actually have 15 parking spaces which works out to 1 space for every room in the Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

This hotel ticked all the boxes in terms of style and comfort.. Breakfasts were always delightful as the dining room was light airy and staff cheerful. Our rooms were all well presented and clean. The Manager was chatty to all members of our party and very helpful with local information. All in all a lovely stay and I thoroughly recommend The Haytor to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

My sister and I stayed for a weekend at this hotel, having stayed in recent years at several other hotels in Torquay that we would NOT go to again. We are so glad we found this one and will definitely go again. The decor was tasteful and fashionable. Fantastic organic breakfast - the bacon was not swimming in water like at some hotels! The owner was available for queries but not intrusive - we were able to come and go as we wished. Great location, very close to harbour and shops but still in a quiet residential street so, thank goodness, no noisy hen nights etc. The room and ensuite were modern and very clean and we were impressed by the bottles of water put in our room that were even replenished when we had drunk them. Excellent value for money. Quite large car park but we found out only when we got there that there was only one parking space per guest so this is worth noting if you are sharing a room with someone else who has driven there, as I was - in our case there was sufficient space by chance but it might be worth the hotel pointing this out to guests when they book.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

We stayed here for two nights and had a lovely stay. The location is perfect, you're only a five min walk downhill into the harbour and a ten min walk the other way to my favourite beach...Meadfoot Bay.
We stayed in a superior room which was gorgeous, with a big kingsize bed and plush furnishings. We had a large tv on the wall which makes a change to most hotels which squeeze a tiny tv onto the wall. The bathroom was really nice with modern decor and a large walk in shower.
It was really warm when we went to Torquay but luckily our room stayed lovely and cool.
Breakfast was lovely and the waitress was so friendly.
We walked into the harbour both evenings, we ate at the harvester one night (cheap and cheerful) and then on the second night we ate at Man Fridays fish and seafood restaurant....thoroughly recommend. We had a fantastic evening here, the food was fantastic and so much of it....after dinner we finished the evening with a few drinks at one of the harbour bars.
I will definitly stay here again the next time i'm in Torquay as everything was perfect.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

We stayted at this hotel for a few days to relax on a recent trip to Torquay. This hotel has excellent parking facilities, unlike most hotels/b&b's in Torquay. It is about 5 mins walk to the harbour area, but there are bars and restaurans about 2-3 mins away, so perfect location. Everything is within walking distance, so you don't need to take the car out.

Breakfast was lovely, not buffet, but cooked to order, so all fresh and very good quality.

Once thing to be aware of is the steep hill to get back to the hotel from town, so would not be suitable for anyone with walking difficulties.

Overall, excellent stay and would certainly return if going back to Torquay in the future.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Haytor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haytor Hotel

Address: Meadfoot Road, Torquay TQ12JP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#3 Business Hotel in Torquay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#5 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Haytor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Award Winning Torquay Accommodation. The Haytor Hotel is an elegant detached Victorian Villa built in 1853 and set in beautiful gardens. It is located in a conservation area on leafy and peaceful Meadfoot Road just 400 metres from central Torquay and the harbour with its many bars, restaurants and shops. A short walk the other way takes you to the award-winning Meadfoot Beach and coastal paths with stunning bay views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Haytor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haytor Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haytor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.