We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect and very accommodating..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haytor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Haytor Hotel to your Saves list
Haytor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Meadfoot Road, Torquay TQ12JP, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT 4 BEST PRICE
Ranked #4 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Biddenden, Kent
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Perfect and very accommodating..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed here for two very relaxing nights whilst our bathroom was being remodelled. We had to change our booking very suddenly as the builders turned up a week early (I know...unheard of!) and this was handled brilliantly. An alternative room was found for us quickly and without drama and we were able to tell the builders they could start work. So thank you so much Peter and Roger. The hotel is in a very quiet location but an easy walk from the town with plenty of restaurants and the marina within reach. We sat in the sunshine for hours watching the boats and enjoying the views. Our room was spotless and the bed was so comfortable that we commented on it. As others have mentioned, the breakfasts were fantastic. I particularly recommend the perfectly boiled egg.. We have another bathroom in need of remodelling and will definitely be returning

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterandRoger, Manager at Haytor Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for your kind comments.
We were glad to be able to assist with your change of plan and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    93
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
54
471
19
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights on a last minute break and it was fantastic!

We arrived an hour early and it was no problem! The hosts provided us with a lovely warm welcome and we're given loads of info on the area, what to do and where to eat, brilliant for us as we hadn't been to Torquay before!

No need to worry about parking as they have plenty of spaces and it's safe too!

The hotel is a couple of minutes walk to the town centre and all the restaurants!

Make sure you have the full English breakfast as it's amazing!

The bed was sooo comfy and the shower facilities were brilliant!

Everyone was lovely and friendly and we'll defo be returning soon!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for your kind comments and helpful advice for future guests, which is, after all, the real purpose of Trip Advisor, as whilst we can say these things on our own hotel website, we know from when we've looked at Trip Advisor for our own holidays, it's reassuring to hear good stuff from previous guests.
Hope to see you again before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

For us this is the best B&B in Torquay, great hosts, nice decor, good location, no parking issues, stylish rooms; we wish we'd stayed longer, especially for the breakfasts! We'd not planned our stay properly but Roger and Peter provided us with plenty of options on restaurants and local attractions. All round a great stay! Definitely recommended!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for your kind comments, and we hope you will be able to visit the area for a bit longer next time as (we think) its a beautiful part of the world, from the beaches and coast walks, the the historic buildings, prehistoric caverns and many tourist attractions, to the wild beauty of the moors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We found the reviews on trip advisor very helpful when looking to book our recent break to Torquay. We booked a small double room at the Haytor and the room was well equipped with everything you need for a comfortable stay. Tea and Coffee making facilities, complimentary toiletries and a comfy bed and lovely pillows.

On our arrival Peter greeted us and provided us with information on the area and quality restaurants well worth a visit. Both Roger and Peter were great hosts and the breakfast room and lounge/bar area were tastefully decorated nothing short of first rate.

Speaking of first rate the breakfasts were full of quality ingredients and were well cooked just what you need to start the day, choice of juices, cerals and yoghurts.

I would most definately recommend the Haytor Hotel to friends and colleagues the property is sitatued on a quiet road and short distance from the main streets and parking was just outside the front door, we will return.....

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for your kind comments, and great useful points for future guests. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Great location, can do coast walks and seafront walks all from the front door of the haytor. Really good location for food and socialising, the helpful hosts recommended some, we tried jingles and the elephant -two good meals for different reasons.
The hotel was exceptionally well kept and homely without being intrusive, breakfast great quality and rooms really nice . It was a nice touch to let us leave the car whilst we made the most of the last day and not have to worry about putting in public car park with all our gear in it,

Thoroughly recommend this for a break, something special.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for your kind comments.
Hope to see you again before long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I stayed here on my own whilst in the area on business. What a great find!

A beautiful building, plenty of free parking and a warm welcome. It has a nice bar/lounge with a selection of local bottled beers and the public areas are beautifully furnished.

The room was spacious with a good ensuite. The whole place is immaculate.

Breakfast was extremely tasty and served quickly.

A great hotel which I will definitely return to with my family when it warms up!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, and for your kind comments and helpful points for future travellers.
We look for to seeing you again later in the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

I have just spent a great night at the Haytor. Roger was very hospitable and made the stay very enjoyable. I arrived a little early and the room was available straight away. The room was excellent and I had a good night's sleep followed by a very well cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave your review and for your kind comments.
We can't always have rooms ready before normal check-in, but if they are, guests are always welcome to check-in early and can always leave their cars and luggage and explore the town until their room is sorted.
We're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Haytor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haytor Hotel

Address: Meadfoot Road, Torquay TQ12JP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Torquay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#4 Family Hotel in Torquay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Haytor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Award Winning Torquay Accommodation. The Haytor Hotel is an elegant detached Victorian Villa built in 1853 and set in beautiful gardens. It is located in a conservation area on leafy and peaceful Meadfoot Road just 400 metres from central Torquay and the harbour with its many bars, restaurants and shops. A short walk the other way takes you to the award-winning Meadfoot Beach and coastal paths with stunning bay views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Haytor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haytor Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haytor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.