We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haytor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Haytor Hotel to your Saves list
Haytor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Meadfoot Road, Torquay TQ12JP, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT 4 BEST PRICE
Ranked #4 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed for just one night, the welcome was warm & friendly.
Beautiful room....very clean. a wonderful breakfast followed the
following morning when sadly we had to leave. would not hesitate
to stay again. Thank you Mark & staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    93
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
54
470
19
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is a lovely hotel in a great position, close to town and the harbour but in a quiet spot. We were looked after very well and would recommend for a short break in Torquay or as a base for exploring the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thanks for your review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay.
We'll try to go the extra mile next time and get that fifth (dot / blob?) on your next stay.
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Looked on the web and struck by the reviews. Then looked at the hotel on the web and liked pictures of quality of decor. Now we returned home happy to let other visitors know we will return anytime we go back to Torquay. Rooms very modern,tastefully decorated and clean. Hotel breakfast cannot be beaten so explains while hotel was full. Confident in recommending to other visitors to Torquay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I have just returned from a one night business trip. I stayed at The Haytor Hotel as the price of the room was good and the website looked lovely. I wasn't disappointed.
The moment of arrival I felt comfortable, being greeted by Mark and shown to my lovely room. Everywhere is decorated and styled to a high standard. It is immaculately clean and very cosy.
Breakfast was relaxed and the service was friendly and very prompt. I had a full English which was very tasty.
The important factor for me is that I am a lone female worker, which means I can feel quite vulnerable in certain places. I felt really safe and secure here.
I will definitely stay here again when I am working in this area.
Good Luck Mark & Peter and keep on doing what you are doing.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

When we stayed at the Haytor hotel some time ago we said we would like to return. We previously stayed for just a few nights but this time booked for a week. We were not disappointed. The room was spacious and clean and breakfast was still very good. The staff were very friendly from the moment we arrived and helpful in recommending places to visit and dine in the evenings. Would choose this hotel again next time we visit the area. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran. South Wales
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Just returned from a fab stay at the haytor. We had two rooms, a standard double on the ground floor for my grandmother and a small double on the second floor for myself. Both rooms were very clean and perfect for two nights. The staff were very friendly and helpful with great tips on where to go and where to eat in Torquay. The breakfasts were great, yummy with plenty of choice. We will use this hotel again.

Room Tip: If a guest has mobility issues contact the hotel for a ground floor room. They also have walk in sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We have just spent 4 nights at this hotel, which is ideally located close to Torquay town centre. The owners were very welcoming, taking time upon arrival, to advise on the area and recommending restaurants for evening meals. The hotel was very clean and well decorated.
Breakfasts were well cooked with excellent service. This is one of the best hotels we've stayed in.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Haytor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haytor Hotel

Address: Meadfoot Road, Torquay TQ12JP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Torquay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#4 Family Hotel in Torquay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Haytor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Award Winning Torquay Accommodation. The Haytor Hotel is an elegant detached Victorian Villa built in 1853 and set in beautiful gardens. It is located in a conservation area on leafy and peaceful Meadfoot Road just 400 metres from central Torquay and the harbour with its many bars, restaurants and shops. A short walk the other way takes you to the award-winning Meadfoot Beach and coastal paths with stunning bay views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Haytor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haytor Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haytor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.