We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haytor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Haytor Hotel to your Saves list
Haytor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Meadfoot Road, Torquay TQ12JP, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BOOK DIRECT 4 BEST PRICE
Ranked #5 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Bushey, England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

I stayed here over the Easter weekend with my parents. From the hotel's own website and reviews on Tripadvisor, I was very pleased to find the Haytor exactly as I expected. The boutique style, along with a very warm welcome, plus the excellent breakfast, made the weekend in Torquay very enjoyable. The hotel does not serve evening meals but there's a large selection of restaurants nearby so there was no issue there. The rooms were very well presented, clean and tastefully decorated. The standard rooms are arguably slightly small but for the price and quality I found this more than acceptable.

Free wifi was also very useful.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    99
    14
    1
    0
See reviews for
58
504
20
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
penarth
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

On arrival we were greeted by Chris, who gave us a warm welcome. We were very pleased with the high standard of the room. The following morning we were greeted by Jean who was warm, welcoming and above all efficient but not intusive. Jean took an interest in what we were looking for on our break and nothing was too much trouble.

We would most definately use this hotel if we were in the area again. Chris definately has an eye for detail in this wonderful hotel, and most importantly his clientel.

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

Really nice hotel. Quiet road not far from the Quay and close to a great restaurant too - The Orange tree. Breakfast excellent, and room really lovely.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

Superb hosts, greeted on arrival and hot drinks provided. Wonderful breakfasts served by lovely lady. Room was superb with enormous bed, really comfy. Only criticism was there was no bath in bathroom, only a shower. This did not spoil our stay in any way. Would certainly recommend the Haytor to family and friends and we will certainly go back if we visit Torquay in the future.

Room Tip: We chose a superior room which had the larger bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

We stayed 5 nights in April and really enjoyed our stay. The room was clean and the decor was modern/tasteful. The staff were friendly and helpful. The location is handy for the town centre/marina and also Meadfoot beach. The hotel has a bar and beautiful garden.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

we stayed in this hotel for my husbands 50th birthday. It was excellent!. The bedroom had a super king sized bed and was very tastefully decorated - some lovely local art pieces. The service was also excellent and everyone was very friendly. It was definately worth paying a bit more for the premier bedroom - go on spoil yourself! restaurants and harbour within walking distance ( although quite a steep hill coming back to hotel ).

Room Tip: go for the premier king size
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

This Hotel is immaculately presented and has clearly had some serious money spent on it. With a friendly welcome, quality breakfast and convenient location it was ideal for our trip to Torquay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Haytor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haytor Hotel

Address: Meadfoot Road, Torquay TQ12JP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#3 Business Hotel in Torquay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#5 Family Hotel in Torquay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Haytor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Award Winning Torquay Accommodation. The Haytor Hotel is an elegant detached Victorian Villa built in 1853 and set in beautiful gardens. It is located in a conservation area on leafy and peaceful Meadfoot Road just 400 metres from central Torquay and the harbour with its many bars, restaurants and shops. A short walk the other way takes you to the award-winning Meadfoot Beach and coastal paths with stunning bay views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Haytor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haytor Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haytor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.