We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“biz and her 40th” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Braddon Hall Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Braddon Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Braddon Hall Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   70 Braddons Hill Road East, Torquay TQ1 1HF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Dorchester
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“biz and her 40th”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

we stayed her for a 40th birthday treat, and then on to the theatre for the evening. We had the room with the 4 poster bed. It was very clean and tidy with a cosy feel. There was plenty of space with tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen TV and a very comfortable bed. The service was warm and friendly with a great breakfast in the morning, just watch out for the parrot ! caged but we were told not too friendly. We would stay here again without doubt and will book in next time we are down for Agatha Christie week. It's a short walk from the town and only a few steps from the museum.

Room Tip: try the 4 poster room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    33
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
20
88
13
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My husband and I only stayed for one night but we found the welcome to be very helpful - especially with our encounter of the very steep driveway with the owner coming to our rescue and parking the car for us - THANK YOU. We had a lovely room with everything on offer that we would have wanted. Breakfast was lovely - we didn't go for the cooked breakfast due to our time limits - but there was a good choice of cereals along with fresh fruit, croissants, toast, tea, coffee, apple juice and orange juice. It set us up well for the busy day ahead of us. Would definitely consider another stay here should we be in this part of the country again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowen Island, Canada
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

A wonderful location, as has been pointed out... only a short 3-4 block walk down the hill to the town centre. The room was nice and large...the bathroom???..well small but aren't most B&B's bathrooms? Don't know why they can't have at least one useable shelf and hook to hang a toiletry bag.
Breakfasts were excellent. Nice to have a choice! Good coffee! Wonderful service!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here last week , very nice Hotel , spotlessly clean and very comfortable , breakfast was excellent , and the owners and staff were very friendly and helpful, not to far from town only a short walk down the hill, to the marina and town center , would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed here overnight with my partner whilst visiting my sister. Lovely place to stay and the hosts were fantastic. Our room was right at the top of the property with a nice little balcony. The room was tastefully decorated and the bathroom had a lovely hot shower. Although my review is excellant, the only comments I would make are that I really think the wardrobe should be swapped round with the chest of drawers as I think this would make the room look even larger (not that it was small!!), and also we couldn't shut the doors to the balcony totally, so there was a slight road noise - but nothing that stopped us from having a fantastic night's sleep. The breakfast menu was fantastic and the food well served. The property is on a steep hill, but then Torquay is on seven hills so what else would you expect!! Any competent driver would be able to enter the property grounds and park.

Room Tip: I think we stayed in room number 8. I'd recommend this because of the lovely balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stayed for one night recently and found this a most warm and welcoming venue. Debbie was more than helpful with local information and nothing was too much trouble. Room was just right and yes, the en-suite was on the small side, but it had a great shower and was spotless. Braddon is literally a 5 or 6 minute walk (downhill, but not too steep) to the town centre/harbour/marina and there are lots of pubs and restaurants to choose from. Made such a pig of myself that night, I reluctantly had to decline breakfast next morning, but am sure the other reviewers have said all the right things. Thank you for your hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The hotel was everything we needed and wanted it to be. It's just a few minutes walk from the centre of Torquay, and it's also within walking distance of some pretty decent beaches too. Our room was perfect for us - it was very light and airy, with a view over the town. The bathroom was clean and the bed was extremely comfortable - I don't think I've ever slept in such a comfortable bed away from home.
The breakfast was very good - I always had a cooked breakfast, which was excellent, and there was a good selection of fruit, juices and cereals too.
I'd definitely recommend this place, it was perfectly placed for exploring Torquay and its surroundings, and it was a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Braddon Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braddon Hall Hotel

Address: 70 Braddons Hill Road East, Torquay TQ1 1HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#16 Family Hotel in Torquay
#24 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Braddon Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Braddon Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braddon Hall Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Braddon Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.