We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic little hotel with amazing service and care.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Robin Hill Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Robin Hill Hotel to your Saves list
The Robin Hill Hotel
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   74 Braddons Hill Road East, Torquay TQ1 1HF, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
whangarei
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic little hotel with amazing service and care.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Unfortunately are unable to stay more than the one night. . hotel is tastefully renovated and is immaculate inside. Service is friendly , helpful and most welcoming. with a lovely reception. And lounge area. Breakfast was delicious and well presented.
Handy location to harbour, and all the restaurants and shops.
Can't recommend this hotel enough.

Room Tip: All rooms perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewMead, Owner at The Robin Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Very many thanks for your kind words. Even though it's the 'quiet' season we do hope to offer at least the same level of service whether you're staying for a day or a week.

We've always felt that our location, even on the hill side, is marvellous for being close enough to walk to a great selection of restaurants yet far enough away from some of the noisier sea front venues not to be disturbed.

Our refurbishments will continue over the winter with another two bedrooms scheduled for completion before Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    9
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
17
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel nice and clean with welcoming owners. Breakfast was superb. Rooms and bathrooms lovely and clean. Would recommend to anyone. The hotel is as a short walk from the town centre, the hotel has ample parking. Looking forward to stopping again.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

Stayed for a weekend away. The rooms was very clean but a little dated in decor. One of the curtains were not attached properly, couple of curtain hooks missing. The breakfasts were awesome, Andrew was very attentive. Only minor complaint the wi fi signal did not reach the room. Other wise a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewMead, Owner at The Robin Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Smartnail
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I'm sorry you had problems with the wifi.
In the hope that you'll read the response I'd be grateful for a call from you to tell me what room you were in. We do have 3 separate signal boosters and it would be useful to know whether your difficulty was a temporary issue or if we need to make any changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

We booked accommodation for 9 people. We arranged in advance for extras and Andrew and Angie were accommodating of our request. All our party were extremely happy with their rooms, and any issues that arose were dealt with immediately and the issues were resolved to our complete satisfaction (2 issues only - and these were not due to anything that could have been prevented) Rooms were cleaned daily and our tea/coffee items were replenished. All rooms had en suite with electric showers in them. A hair dryer in each room was an added bonus. The quality of the rooms were in the superior range.

The hotel is on a hill and there is an excellent bus service passing so easy to get to the town and other places of interest in the area. It is about a ten minute walk downhill to the shopping area and marina. The torquay museum and 10 pin bowling are approx 5 minute walk -downhill.

The team at this hotel were very friendly, thoughtful and kind and were able to accommodate for our needs, and going the extra mile to ensure our stay was enjoyable. I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Torquay, and I hope to return there myself next year.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

We were in Torquay and as we were there for a week to see family we thought we would stay at a local hotel close by and we came across the Robin Hill Hotel online. What a find, we booked a room which was nice and comfortable with big bathroom, clean and a fan available if the nights were warm. Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice as well as accommodating if you needed to leave early for a days event. They have a nice comfortable bar where we quaffed Devon Beer and Red Wine and caught up with the owner Andrew on a number of occasions. He was an affable host and couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable. The hotel also has a nice garden for those late afternoon drinks in the sunshine planning for the next days events. Highly recommended and we will stay there next time we visit. Thanks Andrew for a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Just come back from a lovely stay at the Robin Hill hotel for three nights with my family. We booked two rooms, both of which were lovely, cosy and clean rooms. Both Andrew and Angela were very friendly and had worked very hard to make our stay comfortable. Including going to pick up some take away we had ordered as my sister was not up to going out to diner on the first night. The breakfast we received each morning was spectacular, a wonderful full English that was cooked to order. Nothing was too much trouble the customer service we received was brilliant. I honestly didn’t want to leave. Will definitely be staying at the Robin hill again next time in Torquay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

We were in Torquay for sailing and brought Hetty, too. The hotel is a short walk to the marina, although like pretty much everywhere in Torquay it's an uphill walk on the way there.
I did take a taxi up the hill and it was £3.60.

The main attraction for me was taking my dog and that was very easy. There is a grassy lawn just next to the building. There were other dogs there, but we hardly saw them.

The pub The Hole In The Wall takes dogs, and it's just down the hill.

The service at The a Robin Hill was excellent and friendly. Breakfast was delicious. The room was spotlessly clean and the shower new and powerful.

All in all, for the star class it's in, I give it two thumbs up!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewMead, Owner at The Robin Hill Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Hetty
We're very glad that you and your owners enjoyed your stay with us. As you now know we only allow well-behaved dogs in certain rooms and you were certainly one of the quietest and best behaved dogs we've had to visit. We only allow a few dogs at a time so as not to interfere with the other guests and luckily for us, all of the dog owners we've had to stay have been well behaved as well. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Robin Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Robin Hill Hotel

Address: 74 Braddons Hill Road East, Torquay TQ1 1HF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Robin Hill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA 4 star Guest Accommodation with free on-site parking, free breakfast, free wifi. The closest guest house to the harbour with a decent car park!. Short walk to harbour, shops & restaurants. Standard and Superior rooms available with all bedrooms having en-suite shower room and toiletries. Delicious breakfast selections including a full English. Double, twin and family rooms available on 1st & 2nd floor, sorry no lift. Daily housekeeping. Conservatory/Lounge/Bar are separate from the dining room and open to guests all day. A range of modestly priced wines and local beers are available as well as the usual range of spirits. As the name suggests we are located on a hill hence quite a steep driveway. Quiet and relaxed house to stay in. Open early in January until the end of November. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Robin Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Robin Hill Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Robin Hill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.