We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely welcoming atmosphere, you won't be disappointed.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Meadfoot Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Meadfoot Bay to your Saves list
The Meadfoot Bay
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Meadfoot Sea Road, Torquay TQ1 2LQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely welcoming atmosphere, you won't be disappointed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I picked this hotel after reading all the great reviews as somewhere special to enjoy our minimoon....and we were not disappointed.
From arrival, we felt welcome.
A lovely smiley gent opened the door to us (Gary). Once inside, a quick chat n show around. He could not have been more helpful.
First impressions are everything. The hotel was immaculate and well decorated. Potpourri dotted around and well lit.
Our room was on the second floor; no lift but not a problem. Nice and open planned with lots of natural light. Bathroom was beautiful; bathtub was my highlight. Lovely terrace through the patio doors with lots of room for us to enjoy the view and the sun. Also a lovely water feature. A welcome drink of sherry in a personalised decanter with mini glasses is a lovely touch. We even had rose petals scattered on our bed with little hearts, as well as dotted around the apartment. Attention to detail was amazing.
Hotel is a lovely 5min walk from the beach. Bit of a hill, so maybe not an ideal heel-wearing situation. 10mins in the other direction to town and lots of restaurants. If you love steak, try Cottoneyed Joe's!!! Another lovely sandy beach lies just round the corner from town which is absolutely beautiful also.
Hospitality is impeccable, always service with a smile. Chris is an absolute delight with his broad welcoming smile in a morning.
LOVELY hotel and already looking forward to our next stay. Not even 24hrs since we left and missing it.
Lovely family run hotel with the added personality and personal touch. Absolute gem :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    23
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
192
10
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for our anniversary week-end having looked at the good reviews on tripadvisor. Having found the hotel were shown into the lounge by Gary one of the owners who offered us tea/coffee which I thought was a nice touch. Our bed-room and on-suite were compact but the decor was lovely with every-thing we needed. The quality of the breakfasts were great and they catered for every-one with cooked and continental. The hotel is in a quiet area but close enough to the centre of Torquay that you can walk there if you don't mind going up-hill on the way back. The propietors were helpful and welcoming and I can't wait to stay again when next in Torquay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dreamsy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

A first class stay in a marvelous Hotel. Thank you Garry for your sincere welcome. Bedroom was modern comfortable and clean. Breakfast was superb. Enjoyed everything about our stay and will be returning in the near future.

Room Tip: Book early or you will be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

This is the 3 rd time we have stayed at the meadfort bay and I must say its just getting better and better .We stayed in one of the new suites this time and from decor ,quality of finishes and the size is excellent and even better it as its own outdoor terrace which is a little peace of heaven so you can sit or lie down on the sunbeds provided .
The excellent breakfast is served between 08.30 - 09.30 am.This was fine for us but may be a little restricted for others , there is a large choice to satisfy all diets and the full English breakfast is superb and we must thank Chris and Caroline for the wonderful service nothing is too much for them.
I would highly recommend the meadfort and must say a big Thankyou to Gary who is always helpful and left us a lovely welcome drink for our anniversary. , and of course to Cris, Caroline, Natalie on a SUPERB family run hotel.
Sylvie &,Terry D

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

A superb family run hotel, made to feel extremely welcome. Stayed 3 nights wish it could have been more. Chris is a fabulous host and very helpful in all aspects. Would recommend this hotel to anyone who appreciates quality....excellent rooms , superb breakfast and a great location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

My Wife and I stayed at the Meadfoot Bay Hotel in April, after I had found out that I had beaten terminal cancer, "Get in". Great family run hotel in a great location, excellent room, excellent breakfast, perfect in every way. Chris and family were the perfect hosts. We will be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the suite with the Terrace, great room, comfy bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for two nights after a short break travelling around Devon. We arrived at the Meadfoot Bay hotel after a stay in a five star hotel and spa in Salcombe for two nights and were knocked out at how much better EVERYTHING at the Meadfoot was!
We received an extremely warm welcome from owner Chris and were offered tea and coffee before we went up to our room. We stayed in suite 22 which was absolutely spotlessly clean and we couldn't believe just how big our suite was. The outside decked area was also large and felt very private with lovely views and was also very peaceful. We had paid well over £500 for our stay in Salcombe and at the Meadfoot, for half the price, our room,
welcome, breakfast and service were far, far better and totally beyond our expectations!
Gary, Chris's son was an absolute delight and was friendly and extremely helpful to us throughout our stay (as was everyone).
The selection available at breakfast was superb and there was something for everyone and it would be impossible for anybody to find something not to like.
Overall, everything about The Meadfoot Bay Hotel was exceptional. We will definitely be back and would like to thank all the staff for making us feel so welcome. Book direct for the best deal and a genuine warm welcome.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Meadfoot Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meadfoot Bay

Address: Meadfoot Sea Road, Torquay TQ1 2LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#1 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#14 Business Hotel in Torquay
#15 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Meadfoot Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meadfoot Bay is an award-winning family run Bed & Breakfast situated in the stunning conservation area of Meadfoot, just a stroll from Meadfoot Beach and a short walk from Torquay harbour. There is a large selection of different room types available including our Classic Rooms, Premier Rooms, Deluxe Rooms and our 3 gorgeous Suites. We have just won the AA Breakfast Award for our breakfast which is prepared using all local produce and everything cooked to order to guarantee freshness. After 8 years constant refurbishment and hard work The Meadfoot Bay has been awarded the Highly Commended Award by The AA. As a result we have proudly achieved a place in the top 10% of our 4 star guest accommodation rating. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you to The Meadfoot Bay in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Meadfoot Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meadfoot Bay Hotel Torquay
Meadfoot Bay Torquay
Meadfoot Bay Hotel Torquay
The Meadfoot Bay Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Meadfoot Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.