We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whitfields

Whitfields
30 Roundhill Road, Torquay Tq2 6th, England
01803 607232
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 255 Restaurants in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Torquay, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yummy.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

What a lovely evening I had with some friends at this restaurant. I heard a lot of good things about it, but had never been, well I can certainly recommend it, lovely food, I could not fault anything, nice decor, very clean toilets and best of all very good price.
I advise you to try it.
Very nice chef and waitress, they were very busy, but they coped very well and if you want a nice restaurant that is not loud and you want to be treated well, go for it. What a gem we have in Torquay. Well done Nick and Amy. 10 out of 10.
I will be back with some Spanish friends soon, I promise.
Maria spencer.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    3
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent..that is all!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Found this restaurant by trawling through trip advisor. Glad we were led by the views of previous diners as the food was superb. Excellent chef and nice guy too. In the minefield of trying to find a good restaurant in a popular tourist location it was a refreshing find.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Grateful for the recommendation !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We are eternally grateful to the friends who recommended us to Whitfields and are happy to have joined the Merry Band of Nick's Regulars. We visit both at lunchtimes and in the evenings and are always delighted with the "Specials" that are on offer. We have had the pleasure of taking several groups of friends, and after the initial shock of drawing up in front of a parade of small shops they have, without exception, been delighted with the experience. Whitfields offers very good food, wine and service at the most reasonable of prices !

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston, Lancashire, England
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Dont judge it from the outside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We selected a Restaurant from Trip Advisor for my Birthday Meal when staying in Torquay. Well upon arriving we were surprised, it is a small Bistro/cafe in a row of shops on an estate. We thought twice but knew it had good reviews so went it. Well ignore the outside, it was a nice Bistro inside, the staff were excellent, the food was excellent and it was obviously used by the locals. So use Trip Advisor, because this found us a really nice place to enjoy my Birthday. Not too many tables so book in advance and enjoy this hidden gem

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb meal enjoyed by all 6 of us - excellent chef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The six of us had a variety of meals with beautifully cooked fresh vegetables accompanying each meal. Four of the group were not local and had not been there for a meal before. The starters and desserts were also excellent. They were all impressed with the standard of cuisine.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whitfields also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Whitfields? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whitfields, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.