We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class wedding venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gleneagles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Gleneagles to your Saves list
Hotel Gleneagles
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Asheldon Road | Wellswood, Torquay TQ1 2QS, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Gleneagles)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“First class wedding venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in July as part of a wedding party.
The hotel doesn't look much from the road but is very impressive once through reception.
We were there for a family wedding and everything went perfectly. The staff worked their butts off and nothing was too much trouble.
The rooms were all of good standard and the breakfasts were delicious.

My only criticism would be to put someone on reception full time, as we arrived late on the friday eve and could not get our key for quite some time as there was only one member of staff on and they were very busy serving behind the bar. The reception phone was also ringing constantly and no one there to answer it.

I am getting married soon and if this hotel were nearer to me i would not hesitate to have my reception here.

Room Tip: Have a room upstairs with a sea view, not facing out onto the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGleneagles, Manager at Hotel Gleneagles, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Gleneagles. We aim to give all our guests a friendly and welcoming stay and nothing to us is any problem. Please come again in the future may be to celebrate another occasion.
Trevor Cornish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    172
    111
    50
    27
See reviews for
72
262
32
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed overnight at the gleneagles hotel for a family visit. The hotel is in a nice part of Torquay we checked in and the girl on reception was very nice and helpful. We went to our room which with cases can be awkward as the lift goes to one area but then you go down a couple of stairs then up a couple to get to your room, depending on the room you are in check this out if less mobile as it would be a problem. The room we had was small and I would say needed updating. The bathroom in particular. We had a sea view which was lovely and there were tea and coffee making facilities. I did look in other rooms as the maids were cleaning and they all looked pretty much the same. I'm not sure if they have any superior rooms.
We were lucky with the weather and the pool was lovely to sit by which had loungers and tables and chairs. You can walk down to a beach ( we never) but it would be a steep walk looking at the view from the hotel. All in all we had a pleasant stay and if in Torquay again would stay there but definitely rooms needs updating.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGleneagles, Manager at Hotel Gleneagles, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Gleneagles. We will be updating the rooms in due course . Please come and visit us in the future.
Trevor Cornish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Went to Torquay for the first time, and chose this Hotel, because it was in the Best Western Marketing Group. Good looking Hotel with a lot of history, good inside profile, and a swimming pool, built on the side of the Hotel. Magnificent views from the dinning room, across the bay and out to sea, hotel placed quite well up the hill. Lounges several,furnished well, and comfortable to sit and rest in, large bar, outside the dinning room, and good service from the staff. Good dinner, and luncheon service, and of course breakfast. All the food served was very good, and served with a smile, from the excellent staff, that they have working here. Good luncheon food as well. The General Manager Trevor Cornish was very helpful, with a few problems we had with the Hotel, but not to dwell, as they were sorted to our complete satisfaction.
We took our two grand children with us, who were fifteen and eleven, and they both had a great time, and they were allowed to use the Hotel fully, including spending quite a time in the pool.
Good parking outside in the car park, and if full, parking is allowed in the road out front.
A lot of foreign visitors, and a German Coach Party came for two days.
Overall a good stay, and if we come back to Torquay, would we use the hotel again, Yes we would
Paul; and Joan Bennett.

Room Tip: Book a room with a balcony, and the great view out to sea if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGleneagles, Manager at Hotel Gleneagles, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Paul and Joan,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We very much appreciate all feedback, telling us our strengths and weakness' so that we can constructively build upon them.

We hope to welcome both of you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Mitchell Short
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Stayed at the glen eagles in torquay for two nights at a cost of £62 for both nights. We didn't have breakfast as we were going to see family. Lovely hotel room was superb large and airy with a balcony, there was a pathway at the back down to the beach. Staff nice and friendly. Only downside squeaky floors in corridor. Would stay again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGleneagles, Manager at Hotel Gleneagles, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Susan G,

Thank you for a great review of your stay here at Hotel Gleneagles. I'm glad to hear you had sucha great time.

Its great for our staff to see feedback direct from our guests as to how well they are doing, I will have a look at the floorboards and our team will do our best to rectify that.

Kind Regards,

Mitchell Short
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

top hotel great staff great food great room well recommended will visit again little out off town center but on a main bus route buffet breakfast a real treat freshly cooked pool area was very good all in all a real pleasure to stay there

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGleneagles, Manager at Hotel Gleneagles, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Gary S,

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review for your stay here at BEST WESTERN Hotel Gleneagles. It was a pleasure to have you as a guest.

Its great for our staff to be able to read such nice feedback with all the work the put into their roles.

We hope to be welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Mitchell Short
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Arrived at 1 30 asked was our room ready as knew we were early which it was. While we was checkin in wasn't told any information apart from breakfast and where our room was. Paid extra for sea view couldn't hardly see the sea. Followed sign for beach was no beach just a cove not sure how u got to the beach. Went in the pool at 6pm not very clean was the only 1 in there and it definitely wasn't heated it was freezing. Had shower to warm my self up my partner went to front desk to ask for extra towels as we used some at pool side he was told there might be a charge not impressed as there was no towels by pool to use. Found staff not very helpful.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGleneagles, Manager at Hotel Gleneagles, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Laura22 R,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here at BEST WESTERN Hotel Gleneagles.

I do apologize that you weren't satisfied with the check in experience, Our normal procedure does cover all areas giving out lots of information for your stay, we have investigated as to why this was not done for yourselves and made correction for that.

Our pool isn't heated and I do apologise if you felt it wasn't clean enough at the time, we do clean it every day but due to the forage surrounding the area leaves typically are constantly blowing off into it so it is an ongoing thing but it certainly is clean. Also there is no charge for the use of towels, I apologise again that this information was given out wrong again, as above we have dealt with this and it will not happen again.

Our staff being helpful is the biggest compliment we get normally, if you do wish to come and stay with us again please contact myself direct when booking and we will provide you with a stay where your experience should match up to your expectations.

Kind Regards,

Mitchell Short
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

After travelling overnight and arriving early we popped into the hotel to ask if there was a possibility to get into our room early. The staff were more than accommodating and said that we could come back in a couple of hours when the room would be available. When we turned up they staff let us have coffee whilst the room was just being finished off. The room was beautiful with all the facilities that we needed. Light and airy and really clean. The bed was kingsize and with an en-suite with loads of hot water.
The breakfast was second to none and the staff were really lovely, nothing was too much trouble.There was an outdoor swimming pool which was spotless and Mike worked really had to keep it that way and gave us loads of tips abot the area and which places were good to visit and which coves to see. We met some lovely people and had a fantastic holiday. Thank-you so much for all your hard work , you have a fantastic team of people at the hotel. My husband and I will definately be back next year with the rest of the family. Liz and Richard Thurley x

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny with a balconey
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGleneagles, Manager at Hotel Gleneagles, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Liz and Richard,

Wow! what a lovely review to hear. Our team here are so please with your review and thank you for taking the time to write it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind Regards,

Mitchell Short
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Gleneagles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gleneagles

Address: Asheldon Road | Wellswood, Torquay TQ1 2QS, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Gleneagles)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gleneagles 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique Boutique style hotel in the fashionable neighbourhood of Weswood Torquay. A short stroll to the harbourside or minutes from Babbacombe downs and St Marychurch village, this hotel offers the ultimate in personal service and superb dining. Almost all 42 rooms have balconies, many with stunning sea views. The Hotel even has a dedicated path to the beaches below. Rooms are modern 3 star whilst service and food far exceed its 3 star rating which is the highest in Torquay. Car parking is plentifull and the outdoor pool area is a beautiful tree surrounded haven of tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Gleneagles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gleneagles
Best Western Torquay
Torquay Best Western
Hotel Gleneagles Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gleneagles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.