We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome, great view, small room with the magic Fawlty factor!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gleneagles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Gleneagles to your Saves list
Hotel Gleneagles
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Asheldon Road | Wellswood, Torquay TQ1 2QS, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Gleneagles)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A warm welcome, great view, small room with the magic Fawlty factor!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our night here. The staff were friendly, the Hotel was in a peaceful location compared to just other hotels in Torquay. Our room was small and old fashioned but comfortable with a fanatic sea view from the balcony. Even though a bus tour was staying the same night as us, we still enjoyed dinner and breakfast. It's not a luxury hotel, but it's good.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gleneaglestorquay, General Manager at Hotel Gleneagles, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review. I very much hope that i have the pleasure of your custom again in the future. We have lots of different room types in the Hotel may i suggest a delux sea view next time.

Thomas Monnington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    172
    111
    50
    27
See reviews for
72
262
32
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We booked this hotel through lateroom.com .. we arrived early and our room was ready.. we were give a room with a seaview which was stunning .. superb room with excellent view .. the room was clearn and tidy .. anything you needed .. breakfast was help yourself .. will definetely stay again x

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gleneaglestorquay, General Manager at Hotel Gleneagles, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Cindy R

Fantasic review thank you so much. It really is such a pleasure for myself and all the team to have such positive feedback
I look forward to seing you again the future.

Best wishes
Thomas Monnington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed for a week in July, on arrival I realised that I forgot my wife's Insulin. The manager Thomas took it in his stride to ensure us that all will be well and did so, problem solved. Days later Mobility scooter broke down again Hotel were more than helpful, problem solved. Staff, Food, cleanliness of hotel very high standard. Would recommend to anyone and will be returning next year. Thank U.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gleneaglestorquay, General Manager at Hotel Gleneagles, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank You Terry
Really was a pleasure having you and your lovely wife staying at the Hotel. Myself and all the staff look forward to having you back next year.

Thomas Monnington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights from Saturday 6th to Monday 8th July, 2013 with my husband.

We are a middle aged couple and wanted a break near the sea and requested a room with a nice view of the sea. I had read the reviews so rang ahead to ask the hotel to give us a more 'modern' room as in the advertising pics they looked nice but reviewers were complaining that some of the rooms were dated.

The reviewer who said the walls are quite thin and that the floorboards in the hall between rooms creaks was spot on. Our room - ALPINE - smelt anything but and we put this down to the room not being sufficiently aired. We finally worked out that it was the bathroom that emanated the persistent musty odor and requested another room because of this.

We were 'upgraded' to a larger room with an even better sea view (the CARIBBEAN) than the first and although the decor was still quite dated (I worked out that the pics show feature walls that add a modern touch although the furnishings are quite tired aside from this) there was no funny smell. There was a small balcony, as was the case in the first room, and a larger en suite bathroom with bath and overhead shower with decent enough pressure. Again not ultra modern fittings but we didn't intend spending most of our days gazing at the furnishings and fittings in the room. We did have a massive double bed in the new room - which was very welcome after spending most days exploring on foot the undulating roads around Torquay.

The management was nice enough and acted fairly promptly when we requested another room (we spent the first night in the not so fresh one). The serving staff for breakfast were extremely attentive and I could not fault the traditional English Breakfast that was served up and included in the room price. We had dinner once in the brasserie; I had the sea bass and my husband had a burger. Nothing to write home about and the chunky chips that my husband had were cold and had no crisp to them unfortunately.

Would we go to Torquay again? Possibly, but would probably like to try another nearby hotel just for comparison on facilities, service and price. But really, not bad value for money for this part of the UK.

Room Tip: I paid over the odds for my sea view room and noticed it was cheaper if I had travelled a bit later...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gleneaglestorquay, General Manager at Hotel Gleneagles, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Debbie
Thank you for your recent review
However i think at this point would like to add it is not a fair one. Room Alphine is a standard double sea view a room which does get requested by alot of our regular guests. The musk smell you discribe in your review was down to hot air and no breeze what so ever due to the current heat wave surrounding 90% of the country.
I can confirm we moved you to a second floor sea facing room which was much larger i would not say any of our rooms are out of date they all provide individual character with fantastic views all with there very own private balcony.
My management team hear delt with your problem with in minutes and found the best possible solution we could for you considering we was fully booked on a very busy weekend. I only hoped you would of brought the food complaint of cold to chips to the restaurant manager attention this would have been dealt with immediatly.
If there is anything more i can do for you please contact me directly at the Hotel

Best Wishes
Thomas Monnington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I recently stayed at the Hotel Gleneagles with my wife and can say after staying at other hotels in Torquay that in my opinion this is the best of the lot. Lovely food (I highly recommend the steak on the menu), friendly service, the manager couldnt do enough to make our stay a memorable one, and to top it off we had amazing sea views from our room. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gleneaglestorquay, General Manager at Hotel Gleneagles, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Alex W

May i take this time to say it really was a pleasure to meet with you and your wife and i am so pleased you took the time to publish a review on your recent stay at the hotel. Bassils Brasserie is a growing product and i really do hope to make it one of the best restaurants in Torquay with fantastic food great service and amazing views which you experienced first hand. I hope very much to see you again very soon and please make sure you spread the word.

Best Wishes
Thomas Monnington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic staff, beautiful food, great views and really good location. My only criticism (and comparatively small) is that our room was a bit dated. Bt that doesn't make that much difference...because we had a fantastic time and we wish that we had booked in for longer.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gleneaglestorquay, General Manager at Hotel Gleneagles, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Andi F

Thank you so much for your recent review i am glad you where able to appreciate the hotels truly fantastic views.
All the staff really were so frilled to see they are making customers happy when they come and visit the hotel. Reference to the rooms we are always making changes hear and we hope to see you again in the future.

Best Wishes
Thomas Monnington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

i stayed here for 1 night, great room for the price, clean and tidy. staff were friendly and helpful. surely would stay again, only next time i will be staying longer :)
really enjoyed my stay. thank you and keep up the good work.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gleneaglestorquay, General Manager at Hotel Gleneagles, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Shaza Woo

Wow thank you so much for a great review. I would be more than happy to welcome you back to the hotel. Please do go on to our website direct and check out our summer deals.

Best Wishes
Thomas Monnington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gleneagles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gleneagles

Address: Asheldon Road | Wellswood, Torquay TQ1 2QS, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Gleneagles)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gleneagles 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique Boutique style hotel in the fashionable neighbourhood of Weswood Torquay. A short stroll to the harbourside or minutes from Babbacombe downs and St Marychurch village, this hotel offers the ultimate in personal service and superb dining. Almost all 42 rooms have balconies, many with stunning sea views. The Hotel even has a dedicated path to the beaches below. Rooms are modern 3 star whilst service and food far exceed its 3 star rating which is the highest in Torquay. Car parking is plentifull and the outdoor pool area is a beautiful tree surrounded haven of tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Gleneagles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gleneagles
Best Western Torquay
Torquay Best Western
Hotel Gleneagles Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gleneagles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.