We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Gleneagles

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Gleneagles to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Gleneagles
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Asheldon Road | Wellswood, Torquay TQ1 2QS, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #47 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

i stayed here for 1 night, great room for the price, clean and tidy. staff were friendly and helpful. surely would stay again, only next time i will be staying longer :)
really enjoyed my stay. thank you and keep up the good work.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gleneaglestorquay, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Gleneagles, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Shaza Woo

Wow thank you so much for a great review. I would be more than happy to welcome you back to the hotel. Please do go on to our website direct and check out our summer deals.

Best Wishes
Thomas Monnington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    170
    111
    49
    27
See reviews for
72
259
32
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

On arrival at the hotel, we were greeted by a very pleasant man, who got us checked in quickly. Our room was spacious and clean, with a fab view of the sea. It's not the most modern hotel however for what is there, they work it well. I wouldn't say it was worth quite what we paid but we were happy enough. Main issues were around noise. The walls are very very thin, I could hear my neighbours snoring and every time they walked to the bathroom, my husband and I knew about it! Unfortunately there was also someone bouncing a tennis ball on their floor at 6am but the hotel can't help their guests! The restaurant was cute, service was pretty slow considering it was quiet but we were in no major rush other than being a little tired.
We also had to be up early the next day, unfortunately breakfast wasn't due until 730 however the chap serving offered us continental with tea/coffee to which we were very grateful. Customer service goes a long way for me these days, and overall everyone we came in contact with were very helpful and polite. Would recommend for sure if you're a heavy sleeper and don't mind a bit of retro fitting!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gleneaglestorquay, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Gleneagles, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Sophie
Thank you very much for your recent review. I am very pleased to read that you commented highly on our customer service it really does mean so much to myself and all my staff at Best Western Hotel Gleneagles when we see good reviews we hope very much to see you in the future.

Best Wishes
Thomas Monnington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Thankyou for making our holiday a delight.Your staff were helpful, polite and curtious towards us and made our 9th wedding Anniversary so special.The food which we enjoyed so much is a credit to your chef,and this is the best that we have experienced in the United Kingdom.We would most certainly book again for this delightful hotel that has beautiful views across the bay.
A compliment to the manager who spoke to us regularly each day to ensure that our stay was fine ... and yes it was ....Once again thankyou so much.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Gleneagles, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for Review
Your Business is very important to us and we value your feedback.
By telling us what you think about your stay and how we can improve.
you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.
we hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Trevor Cornish
Opps Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights last week.
Don't be put off with the 'Butlins' look of the hotel, it is better than it looks.
We had a room at the back, which had a small balcony, with a view out to the sea.
I must say I did enjoy sitting out there in the early morning when the 'Sun' was coming up.
The room was overall a bit on the small size, but average for the UK.
The only thing to whinge about the room was, a) the squeaky floor boards and, b) the thin walls, you could hear the peeps next door showering !!!!
Breakfast was good and plentiful with all you want, with a good selection of items and a few pastry's. Lovely calm atmosphere, well laid out.
We had a an evening meal in the restaurant twice during our stay and I must say that, this is what let the hotel down. the first night of our stay, we arrived late and were happy it was still open. The combination of fish and spices in the Fish cakes did not work my wife, my fish pie was good, but not with the boiled egg, that did not work.
We decided to give it another chance on our last night, I was really up for the listed Rib-eye steak.
I was told that was off, so I asked for the Sirloin, that was off as well, but they did have a Rump, (you could say that the menu is miss-leading), so I opted for the Pork Chop. Error, error, this was very small and tough, the selection of vegetables was red cabbage and parsnips, not bad in themselves, but did not work for me.
I really wanted to give this hotel a higher rating, but the restaurant let it down.
Otherwise, all the staff were attentive and friendly, the manager was real star and had time for conversation and even carried our bags up to the room.



.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel, you may even see the local Woodpecker flitting about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gleneaglestorquay, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Gleneagles, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Pete-on-7

Thank you very much for your recent review. May i start by saying Best Western Hotel Gleneagles does not have the Butlins factor. Understandably the Hotel does need a lick of paint but im sure there of thousand of Hotels in the same position around the country. I do 100% agree the views from the rear of the Hotel are truly breathtaking and im very pleased that you and your wife had the weather to absorb the fantastic views from your balcony. With reference to the fish pie i will have to put this down to taste. I really am sorry you did not get to recieve the Steak you wanted we had a slight issue with quality over the long bank holiday weekend so i made the decisssion not to serve them. I really do hope you will return i will personally cook you a fantastic steak.

Best wishes
Thomas Monnington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We booked this hotel as a short break deal, for a friends special birthday, we arrived on Tuesday 28th May. I had researched as always using in particular, Trip Advisor. We were expecting a fairly nice hotel, what we got was a really nice hotel.
Yes the bedrooms could do with an update, the showers could do with being a little bigger, the hallways and rooms a little less squeaky. But, the rooms were spotless, plenty of very hot water, teabags, pillows. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and attentive. The breakfast was plentiful, the pool was spotless although under used due to our normal English weather. The main areas were lovely to look at and comfortable to use. Alltogether we thoroughly enjoyed being there and can't wait to return. A Faulty Towers no! A very nice English Hotel, thank you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Gleneagles, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for Review
Your Business is very important to us and we value your feedback.
By telling us what you think about your stay and how we can improve.
you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.
we hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Trevor Cornish
Opps Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

A few people had sort of turned up their noses when we'd said we planned to honeymoon in Torquay. But for us this was a trip we'd planned to make for some time. Both avid Fawlty Towers fans to the point that we can recite entire episodes, the heritage of the town and particular of the Gleneagles wasn't lost on us. There are nods to this here - signed memorabilia in the lobby, "Basil's Bar" and so on - but that's where the similarity ends. The service couldn't be more different in fact - and the absolute stand-out feature of our stay was how friendly, attentive and approachable all of the staff were.

The hotel is in a wonderful setting in the Wellswood Village area of town. This is a five-minute bus or taxi ride away from most of the main attractions, and is in a quiet residential area looking down on Anstey's Cove. The views are simply wonderful, and it's certainly worth paying a little extra for a sea view here because it really is something special. Inside, the hotel's common areas are well appointed in a sort of inter-war glamour - lots of mirrors and metal, and plenty of big couches to snuggle on. It was during a spell of this that the hotel manager came over to chat which resulted in a complimentary bottle of champagne! The rooms themselves are looking a little dated, but are clean and serviceable and feature almost everything you'd expect from a modern mid-priced hotel stay. You're going to spend most of your time on the balcony here, so don't worry too much about the slightly tiny bed either.

"Basil's Bar" certainly doesn't take it's cues from the hapless hotelier himself either. The food is very good, and very keenly priced too. The restaurant shares the same views of the private walkway down to the beach which the rooms offer, and is a wonderful setting in which to linger over a meal. Breakfast is served in the adjoining Anstey's Restaurant - and can get a little chaotic at peak times - however the quality and quantity of produce available at the buffet bar is great - though the toaster took forever to produce mildly warm bread - so plan ahead!

Overall we had a perfect honeymoon weekend - and a good deal of that came down to the wonderful setting and attentive staff at the Gleneagles. We're hoping to be back for some special anniversary, or maybe just for one of the between-Christmas-and-New-Year packages the hotel offers. Thanks again to everyone at the Gleneagles.

Room Tip: The Balcony Rooms on the seaward side have superb views over Lyme Bay. You can select these when boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Gleneagles, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for Review
Your Business is very important to us and we value your feedback.
By telling us what you think about your stay and how we can improve.
you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.
we hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Trevor Cornish
Opps Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

had a great couple of days there staff very helpful had a very good evening meal yes the rooms are starting to look a little tired but for what I paid well worth it. parking no problem either in the hotel or on the road outside

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Gleneagles, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for Review
Your Business is very important to us and we value your feedback.
By telling us what you think about your stay and how we can improve.
you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.
we hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Trevor Cornish
Opps Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Gleneagles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Gleneagles

Address: Asheldon Road | Wellswood, Torquay TQ1 2QS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#18 Business Hotel in Torquay
#34 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Gleneagles 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique Boutique style hotel in the fashionable neighbourhood of Weswood Torquay. A short stroll to the harbourside or minutes from Babbacombe downs and St Marychurch village, this hotel offers the ultimate in personal service and superb dining. Almost all 42 rooms have balconies, many with stunning sea views. The Hotel even has a dedicated path to the beaches below. Rooms are modern 3 star whilst service and food far exceed its 3 star rating which is the highest in Torquay. Car parking is plentifull and the outdoor pool area is a beautiful tree surrounded haven of tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Gleneagles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gleneagles
Best Western Torquay
Torquay Best Western
BEST WESTERN Hotel Gleneagles Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Gleneagles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.