We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 Night Mini Break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Gleneagles

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Gleneagles to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Gleneagles
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Asheldon Road | Wellswood, Torquay TQ1 2QS, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #47 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“2 Night Mini Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at The Gleneagles Hotel in Torquay which was a special offer of a glass of Bucks Fiz on arrival then 2 nights Bed, Breakfast & Evening Meal. The staff were all very friendly and the food was great with a superb choice for breakfast, are room had a small balcony and a lovely view to the sea. We would deffinately go again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Gleneagles, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank You for your Review
Your Business is very important to us and we value your feedback.
By telling us what you think about your stay and how we can improve.
You are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.
we hope you come back and see us again soon.
Trevor Cornish
Opps Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    171
    111
    50
    27
See reviews for
72
261
32
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

A surprisingly nice hotel. Managed to get a room rate of £31 from hotels.com on the lastminute, so at this price I have no qualms at all.
The hotel was pretty nicely decorated, the lobby rooms particularly were impressive. Our room was a standard double, but had a balcony which was a good touch (though it was freezing so didn't spend much time out there!). Big bath, hot water, comfy bed. The odd little touch in the room is a little on the tired side.
The biggest problem was it was quite noisy. The rooms have very thing walls and the floorboards are incredibly creaky. Really, really loud. The room next door spend the whole night from 2am-5am talking constantly (I really don't know how someone could talk constantly for that long). They weren't being partiuclarly noisy, but you could hear everything, and every creak in the floorboards. I can't particularly blame the hotel for this, but I would say MAKE SURE you bring earplugs and you won't be disappointed with this hotel.
Staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gleneaglestorquay, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Gleneagles, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review. I am very pleased to see that the staff at the Hotel achieved a good score from yourself however disappointed by the title of your review. The Hotel is a old building but as you can see we are constantly updating and the floorboards are being taken care of little buy little.
I hope to see you again in the future
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croyde, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We found the hotel staff very friendly and helpful and overall the hotel was very good value. It was convenient for what we wanted and was close to the beautiful Meadfoot beach. The only downside was the room we were given (Lime) was the only one with the boiler room against the outside wall. We were woken to the boiler starting up at 6.30am !

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gleneaglestorquay, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Gleneagles, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review. Best Western Hotel Gleneagles are very proud of all there staff and we try very hard to make sure all customers leave The Hotel nice and happy. I truly am very sorry for the boiler waking you up early in the morning i have had maintenance look into the problem and it is now fixed. I hope to see you again in the summer when Meadfoot beach and the views from the Hotel are truly breathtaking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torpoint, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The hotel is stylishly decorated, has fantastic sea views, really helpful and friendly staff throughout the hotel,with a special mention for Jo and Tom, who can't do enough to make your stay perfect. The breakfast is the best we have had in any hotel, we loved the afternoon tea, and the food in the Brasserie was excellent. Hotel is in a good location too, all in all it was a fantastic stay and we hope to stay here again.

Room Tip: sea views at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gleneaglestorquay, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Gleneagles, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review. It is a job well done for myself and staff when they get appreciated for all there hard work. Look forward to seing you again very soon.

Best wishes
Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The hotel itself overall is fabulous from the warm welcome off manager Thomas who went out of his way to make sure everything was perfect - to the delicious buffet breakfast in the morning. Night Porter David also extended his welcome to push the boundries and serve us welcomingly early hours in the morning!
Also a mention to Thomas's P.A who is - in thomas's words "Okay" haha !!
All the best will definately be returning in the future ,
Paula and Paul King

Room Tip: facing the road and there was no noise disturbance at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Gleneagles, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank You for your Review
Your Business is very important to us and we value your feedback.
By telling us what you think about your stay and how we can improve.
You are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.
we hope you come back and see us again soon.
Trevor Cornish
Opps Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Just returned from a weekend celebration at this hotel and would like to thank Tom t he manager for his hospitality and sorting us out with a buffet so late at night (as we were to late to eat at the local public house which was the plan) Sorry you lost your bet on the ruby
Breakfast was brilliant set you up for the day
Staff great nothing was too much trouble
Just a quick note we have stayed here previously but some of our party were unhappy with the bathroom facilities I.e showers running cold and baths taking about half hour to empty but apart from that the stay was great thanks

Room Tip: Go for a sea view or corner room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Gleneagles, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for Review
Your Business is very important to us and we value your feedback.
By telling us what you think about your stay and how we can improve.
you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.
we hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Trevor Cornish
Opps Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

just come back from a last minute 2night stay here with friends it was excellant value for money and the new manager thomas couldnt do enough for us will soon be making another trip down there. The rooms were lovely and clean with nice white bedding and the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Gleneagles, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for Review
Your Business is very important to us and we value your feedback.
By telling us what you think about your stay and how we can improve.
you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.
we hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Trevor Cornish
Opps Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Gleneagles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Gleneagles

Address: Asheldon Road | Wellswood, Torquay TQ1 2QS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#18 Business Hotel in Torquay
#34 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Gleneagles 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique Boutique style hotel in the fashionable neighbourhood of Weswood Torquay. A short stroll to the harbourside or minutes from Babbacombe downs and St Marychurch village, this hotel offers the ultimate in personal service and superb dining. Almost all 42 rooms have balconies, many with stunning sea views. The Hotel even has a dedicated path to the beaches below. Rooms are modern 3 star whilst service and food far exceed its 3 star rating which is the highest in Torquay. Car parking is plentifull and the outdoor pool area is a beautiful tree surrounded haven of tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Gleneagles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gleneagles
Best Western Torquay
Torquay Best Western
BEST WESTERN Hotel Gleneagles Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Gleneagles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.