We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lunch for 10 people” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Devon Dumpling

Devon Dumpling
108 Shiplay Lane | Shiphay, Torquay, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #121 of 255 Restaurants in Torquay
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Worcester, UK.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Lunch for 10 people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We were attending a funeral and looked on the web for a pub to have lunch. Was made very welcome, drinks and food very reasonably priced, large portions.

The pub was very busy on a wednesday lunch time.

Hope to return - would recommend.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    25
    18
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paignton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Really lovely pub with lots of character. Busy on a Tuesday evening out of season so this says a lot. I had the homemade burger which was very good, should have asked for it a bit more well done, but that was my fault. Came with a good salad (in that I mean not just a few leaves) and chips. Food very reasonably priced. Big car park and the beer garden lovely with heaters.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Old style pub food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We sat on a large table of 8 people and ordered starters and main courses.The pub was very full and is obviously popular.The food portions were massive,but the food proved to be very average (a lot of stuff bought in guys) and the steaks in particular were a poor quality - but saying that is not an expensive menu.The service,although we had to wait 45 mins for our starter (we had been advised of this) was very helpful and pleasant.
From a real ale perspective all looks great when you get to the bar with 5 or 6 on the pump. But why oh why do they put the beer through the chiller!!!!"!!!! it kills the taste .Come on guys get your act together!
Overall a pleasant pub,pleasant evening but just need to have smaller portions and better quality of food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Always a good one!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Always pleased to visit here, good quality food, big portions, low price, good ales, cant beat it. It does get busy though!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“i've had better else where!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

i would like to say that i thought the food would have been a lot better than expected! But No i had chicken kiev....it came with salad, chips and peas. it turned up and i was very disappointed as it looked like shop bought one...I could of bought an nicer one from Marks & Spencers. It didn't even taste that nice, to be quite honest i could not finish all as thought was very greasy!! Also had garlic bread as a starter but find that soggy so could not finish it! I Also have room for pudding but not tonight...they had a good selection but mostly sold out...which could be a good sign. I thought the ice cream was pricey all you got was three scopes, did not come with cream or flake or even a wafer!! Not happy....but they had a good atmosphere and was busy. I don't think i will be returning for a meal again!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Devon Dumpling also viewed

Paignton, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Devon Dumpling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Devon Dumpling, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.